Software Alternatives & Reviews

VyOS Reviews

VyOS in an open source Linux-based operating system sold and distributed by Sentrium corporations. It is geared toward IT specialists and network administrators for the purpose of securing network and company data... read more.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about VyOS and what they use it for.
  • Pfsense vs routerOS
    Ahoi, I was trying to get familiar with pfSense but it was to mich to configure for my purposes of temporary replacing an USG until I get a replacement. Hence pfSense was way to much of a configuration and a bit to complex I found https://vyos.io/ It’s much simpler and very similar to configuring a Cisco device. As a hyper-V vm the Ressource management is very sufficient. I recommend to read about it, maybe it’s... - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Looking for a Switch OS to act as a dumb switch, any suggestions?
    Https://vyos.io/ is something that may answer your question as posed, but you may be looking at it backwards. What Hypervisor are you running? They should all have the ability to create vSwitches at the Hypervisor level, and you add physical ports to them as uplinks. Internally you add vNICS to the vSwitch which will run at the max speed of your uplinks (according to your Hypervisor QoS and uplink settings,... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Open Source Alternatives
    VyOS is what I use now. CLI only, but is based off Cisco CLI and is generally more performant compared to pfSENSE/opnSENSE. It is a fork of AT&T Vyatta since ~2014. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • MSPs using Ubiquiti UniFi - Headaches/caveats/gotchas?
    I think they forked Vyetta back in the day now https://vyos.io/. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • 25 GBit router build
    VyOS is an actual fork of Vyatta from right before it was sold off in 2013 to Brocade and went closed-source (and subsequently butchered and sold on to AT&T and later on to Ciena). Ubiquity forked it as well at the same time. Not sure what DANOS/LFP's goal is, but it seems like contributing to the already existing projects would be much more helpful than creating yet another Vyatta fork, adding to the already... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Looking for some easy way to exposure my services over VPS
    I have used both Vyos and OpenWRT for the OS on the VPS, both have very simple NAT commands. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Switch Suggestions
    If you already have an Edgerouter X, that configuration knowledge can be reused with https://vyos.io. You can copy paste most of your configuration into a vyos router (there will be no switch0 interface). - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • PF Sense alternatives
    Check out vyos. I have been using it for years. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Please tell us about your White Box setups
    Curious if anyone actually deploys https://vyos.io/. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Mikrotik on x86 sees only 1920Mb of RAM
    Probably not giving any solutions but have a look vyos for your BGP edge routers. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of VyOS

5 Router OS Turns Old PC Into High Performance Router And Enterprise Network Switch
VyOS runs on a wide range of hardware from small office routers to large servers, as well as virtual machines and multiple cloud providers. VyOS is not just a router, it’s an open, customizable platform for network devices. Fully Open Source: Its entire codebase and build toolchain are available to everyone for auditing, building customized images, and contributing.
The Hunt For the Ultimate Free Open Source Firewall Distro
Thank you for the post! I would like to add a point if possible. As far as i know VyOS has dmvpn functionality available, which is a thing to consider for large-scale and rapidly growing companies. Other software routers do not have such thing as far as know.

Do you know an article comparing VyOS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.