Software Alternatives & Reviews

VyOS Reviews

VyOS in an open source Linux-based operating system sold and distributed by Sentrium corporations. It is geared toward IT specialists and network administrators for the purpose of securing network and company data... read more.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about VyOS and what they use it for.
  • PfSense CE 2.5.2 Released
    Try VyOS. It's based on Vyatta, which is also what Ubiquiti's EdgeOS is based on. It's all CLI-only, but it's pretty powerful. https://vyos.io/. - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • Qotom or Protectli
    Pfsense has basically been abandoned by netgate, you should look into VyOS, the superior solution. https://vyos.io/. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • PfSense – WireGuard Returns as Experimental Package
    Not me personally, but I have a couple friends that have started using VyOS and they seem pretty satisfied. https://vyos.io/. - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • Regretting UDM, what else?
    Then install something like pfsense or opnsense or even vyos (if you enjoy cli). - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • OPNsense vs Something else as a router
    If you are looking for a router, check out VyOS. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Need recommendations on creating my first Prosumer home network
    For firewall/router, check out OPNsense and if you are CLI person, check out VyOS. However, OPNsense offers more firewalling features than VyOS. VyOS is a router with firewall capabilities. If you are familiar with Ubiquiti Edge routers, it is similar, but without UI. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Running AdGuard Home on an EdgeRouter 6P
    I've recently switched from running vyos on a custom-built router to edgeos on an EdgeRouter 6P. - Source: dev.to / 6 months ago
  • Ubiquiti is just awful.
    You mentioned Juniper. Is there another hardware vendor based on Vyatta? I have spent time with VyOS and found it much more stable than UBNT. The project is limited to a router appliance at this time. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of VyOS

5 Router OS Turns Old PC Into High Performance Router And Enterprise Network Switch
VyOS runs on a wide range of hardware from small office routers to large servers, as well as virtual machines and multiple cloud providers. VyOS is not just a router, it’s an open, customizable platform for network devices. Fully Open Source: Its entire codebase and build toolchain are available to everyone for auditing, building customized images, and contributing.
The Hunt For the Ultimate Free Open Source Firewall Distro
Thank you for the post! I would like to add a point if possible. As far as i know VyOS has dmvpn functionality available, which is a thing to consider for large-scale and rapidly growing companies. Other software routers do not have such thing as far as know.

Do you know an article comparing VyOS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.