Software Alternatives & Reviews
Register   |   Login

Visual Studio Code Reviews

Build and debug modern web and cloud applications, by Microsoft

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Visual Studio Code and what they use it for.
  • What is the future of Atom?
    Technically speaking, VS Code is "Free. Built on open source. Runs everywhere." (source: https://code.visualstudio.com). Otherwise, you can use Vi or Emacs, although they are less intuitive. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • Guide for BFPTouch on Ender 3 v2
    Download VSCode in order to modify and compile the firmware. https://code.visualstudio.com/. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • Reading tiddlywiki files on kobo
    Then you have VSCode. It is not an e-reader, it is a text editor. But you can read, write and preview tiddlers installing these extensions with support and highlight for tiddlywiki syntax. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Need help deciding on a text editor
    For html/css/js, I personally have enjoyed using atom, brackets and vscode. I've used all three as my primary at different points and each has it's advantages/disadvantages, I recommend giving them a try! Obviously all three of these will work just fine for python too, but sometimes it's nice to just use a real IDE. - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • Best Online Code Editors For Web Developers
    It is built on Monaco editor, the same beast that powers the favorite VSCode editor. This brings powerful features like “Go To,” “Find References,” and necessary refactoring to your fingertips! - Source: dev.to / 11 days ago
  • Creating/Securing a Remote Dev Environment
    Using the Remote-SSH extension on Visual Studio Code, you can develop on a remote machine while maintaining the feel and responsiveness of developing on your local machine. - Source: dev.to / 8 days ago
  • 6 HTML tags you might not know
    A few days ago I was working on my desk and next to me was my lovely girlfriend who was interested in what I really do for a living. She already knows I am doing IT and she also knows I write some code sometimes. She asked me how she can understand if she likes writing code. I did what I had to do. I explained to her how I believe a website code is working, showed her a couple of videos, and opened w3schools for... - Source: dev.to / 7 days ago
  • [NeedAdvice] Way too focused on having "as much fun as possible"
    Html and css are very easy to learn for a first time learner, especially for someone with a programming background. Javascript would be next up, but you only really need the basics of javascript for front end web development (the visual side, no servers and stuff). Those three languages are the most important for web development and are what I would recommend for someone starting out. Eventually you would move on... - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Programming help resources
    He's starting with Atom (an IDE), you can literally (this one is dying on support though, thanks Adobe) use anything else if Atom doesn't work for you. Visual Studio by Microsoft themselves is a popular one. Go with whatever you feel comfortable with. (Though Visual Studio gives a ton of "extensions" you can customize with if you feel like browsing that). - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • Developer story: Getting used to macOS as long time Windows’s user
    Commonly used by developers, Visual Studio Code is an excellent replacement for notepad++; with extensions and a bunch of other unique capabilities, this is a productivity boost for sure. - Source: dev.to / 9 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Visual Studio Code

The Top 7 Notepad++ Alternatives for You
If you are looking for a text editor that will assist you to edit and debug your code then Visual Studio Code is a good Notepad++ alternative. When I first used Visual Studio Code I found the really minimal interface quite surprising. If you want even less then you can go into “Zen” mode that hides almost everything.
DBeaver v. MySQL Workbench v. POPSQL v. Visual Studio Code.
Visual Studio Code is a lightweight but powerful source code editor which runs on your desktop and is available for Windows, macOS and Linux. It comes with built-in support for JavaScript, TypeScript and Node.js and has a rich ecosystem of extensions for other languages (such as C++, C#, Java, Python, PHP, Go) and runtimes (such as .NET and Unity).
Top 5 IDEs for Go
VS Code offers smart completion with IntelliSense, built-in Git integration, the ability to debug code straight from the editor, and more. VS Code is highly extensible with a number of customization options through its many extensions. It also offers support in dozens of languages, making it understandable why it was ranked the most popular developer tool for Stack Overflow’s 2018 Developer Survey.
10 Best Sublime Text Alternatives in 2019
Visual Studio Code is an open source code editor software developed by Microsoft. It offers built-in support for TypeScript, JavaScript, and Node.js. It's autocompleted with IntelliSense features provides smart completions based on variable types, essential modules, and function definitions.
Top 8 Sublime Text Alternatives You Can Use in 2019
Visual Studio Code supports a number of programming languages, including, but not limited to C, C#, C++, HTML, JSON, Objective-C, Objective-C++, PHP and more. Like Sublime Text, VS Code also supports a wide array of plugins, which enhance the functionality of the editor and add language support. The extension management is built-in, and a few important ones are part of the default download package. A notable...
The Rise of Microsoft Visual Studio Code
Another finding from this chart is the difference between VS Code and Sublime. VS Code is primarily used for JavaScript development (61%) but less frequently for Python development (22%). With Sublime, the numbers are basically reversed (51% Python and 30% JavaScript). It's interesting that VS Code users pass interviews at a higher rate than Sublime engineers, even though they predominately use a language with a...
Exploring Ruby IDE Options - DEV Community 👩‍💻👨‍💻
Careful, this is how it starts ;-) I was a very heavy Emacs user for a long time using it for mail, as a Twitter client etc. At one point I started using VS Code on the side for JS, but made the full switch sometime last year. There are some things I miss (org-mode 😭), but the monthly VS Code releases do bridge the gap fast and overall it's a great editor for web developers.
Ruby IDE: The 9 Best IDEs for Ruby on Rails Development
Visual Studio code is another solid IDE for programming and many Rubyists are using mvsc for Ruby development. All you need is to install the extension vscode-ruby that provides full Ruby language and debugging support.
What Are the Best Golang IDEs?
Visual Studio Code is an extensible open-source code editor developed primarily by Microsoft (with lots of contributions from the community). It is based on Electron, which is in turn based on Chromium. Visual Studio Code supports many languages and originally focused on web development. It has strong support for Go development, including integration of all the Go tools and the Delve debugger via a dedicated...

Do you know an article comparing Visual Studio Code to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.