Software Alternatives & Reviews

Visual Studio Code

Build and debug modern web and cloud applications, by Microsoft

As Visual Studio Code is an open source project, you can find more open source alternatives and stats on LibHunt.
Pricing:
  • Open Source

Visual Studio Code Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • Visual Studio Code Landing page
    Landing page //
    2023-09-16

Trophies

Videos

My New Favorite Text Editor - Visual Studio Code

7 reasons why I switched to Visual Studio Code from Sublime Text

Reviews

  1. User avatar
     

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Visual Studio Code and what they use it for.
  • Preventing SQL injection attacks in Node.js
    Snyk not only identifies vulnerabilities but also provides automated fix pull requests, facilitating easy remediation and prevention of potential security issues. It's capable of integrating with various development platforms like GitHub, GitLab, and Bitbucket, and it offers a dedicated extension for Visual Studio Code, providing real-time feedback during the coding process. - Source: dev.to / 1 day ago
  • Write a schema only absolutely no code backend server with Node.js and Teo!
    We highly recommand you to use VSCode as we created a plugin for syntax highlight, code diagnostics, auto completion and jump to definition. Download our plugin from VSCode marketplace. - Source: dev.to / 2 days ago
  • Top 7 C++ Tools to explore in 2024 if it's not already the case.
    Visual Studio Code (VSCode) become a popular choice for C++ development. While it's not a full-fledged IDE like Visual Studio, it provides robust features and extensions that make it a versatile and efficient tool for C++ programmers. Here are some reasons why VSCode is considered good for C++ development:. - Source: dev.to / 3 days ago
  • Introduction to Visual Studio Code GitHub Copilot Using GitHub Education
    Visual Studio Code or VSCode for short is a code editor created by Microsoft optimized for building and debugging modern web and cloud applications. It is a free open source integrated development environment (IDE) that can code in multiple programming languages. Known for its efficiency and resourcefulness, it's no surprise that VSCode is the most popular code editor amongst programmers. You can find almost... - Source: dev.to / 4 days ago
  • Secure Browser Access to code-server VSCode
    Code-server is an open-source tool that allows you to run VSCode, a popular integrated development environment (IDE), on a remote server through the browser. This setup essentially turns VSCode into a cloud-based IDE, providing flexibility and accessibility advantages. - Source: dev.to / 7 days ago
  • Implementing and Working With Kubernetes Services
    An installation of a terminal software. On Linux and MacOS, you’ll find these out of the box; for Windows, you can use PowerShell or the Terminal feature in VSCode, which we will be using here. - Source: dev.to / 7 days ago
  • How to Handle File Uploads with Node.js and Express
    A text editor or lightweight IDE such as Visual Studio Code. - Source: dev.to / 16 days ago
  • A list of SaaS, PaaS and IaaS offerings that have free tiers of interest to devops and infradev
    Visual Studio Code - Code editor redefined and optimized for building and debugging modern web and cloud applications. Developed by Microsoft. Desktop - (Windows, macOS and Linux). Online - (Browser). - Source: dev.to / 17 days ago
  • Discord Clone Using Next.js and Tailwind - Part 1: Project setup
    With that, the project is configured for us, and we can open up our editor (in our case VSCode). - Source: dev.to / 28 days ago
  • Build an Android & iOS Video Calling App With React Native
    To complete this tutorial successfully, you must install VS Code, Xcode, and Android Studio as development tools. Additionally, you must install React Native and configure it for iOS and Android using the React Native Command Line Interface (CLI) quickstart. If you need a step-by-step guide on how to set up the React Native CLI for iOS and Android, check out our article, Configuring React Native Without Expo.... - Source: dev.to / 29 days ago
  • Embarking on a Flutter CustomPaint adventure: Part 1; Unveiling the Canvas with Custom Paint Basics 🎨
    Open the project in your favourite IDE. If you do it exactly as I did and you have VSCode installed, it will launch the project on VSCode. You may be wondering why I had to open it from the terminal; short answer: Makes me look more like a BADASS developer 😎. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Tic Tac Toe Using HTML, CSS and JS With Confetti animation
    First of all create a folder in which you are going to put this project. Let us name that folder project. Open that folder in VS Code(A code editor). - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Building a web server: Installing the right software
    On the topic of directory structure we've kept our server very basic. To keep with Mac conventions we decided to keep all our files in the ~/Documents folder. For my son's projects we're going to be running the infrastructure with Kubernetes, so we named the directory for all his code phippy. With code cloned to our machine we wanted to have just a single GUI-based code editor. We chose VS Code. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Supercharge Your Mobile Dev Skills: 10 Essential Tools for Max Efficiency
    Visual Studio Code: A lightweight yet powerful editor that supports multiple languages and frameworks, with a wide selection of plugins. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Setting up React your React App
    Download a Code Editor: Choose a code editor and download it from the official website. Visual Studio Code (https://code.visualstudio.com) is highly recommended for its extensive features and extensions. - Source: dev.to / 2 months ago
  • My MacBook Setup For Development 2024
    Visual Studio Code (VS Code): No developer's toolkit is complete without a powerful Integrated Development Environment (IDE). VS Code continues to be my top pick. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • How to add Astro social share to your Astro application
    Code Editor - Preferably VS Code or another code editor. # Bootstrapping Astro application. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Introduction to VS Code
    Download: Visit the official Visual Studio Code website and download the installer for your operating system (Windows, macOS, or Linux). - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • How to create a discord bot with javascript
    First of all, we need to install Node.js and an IDE or text editor, I like Visual Studio Code. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Comparing CodiumAI PR-Agent to GitHub Copilot's solution for pull request
    CodiumAI PR can be integrated into your IDE such as (Vs Code, JetBrains IDE's, etc). In contrast, GitHub Copilot PR can be integrated into Vs Code, Visual Studio, Neovim, and JetBrains IDEs. - Source: dev.to / 2 months ago
  • Devlog Week 3: 4 - 10 December 2023
    First of all, install VSCode and Postman. VSCode (Visual Studio Code) is a code editor made by Microsoft, which you'll use to write code, having got helpful features such auto-completion with the TAB key and colour-coding of commands. Postman) is an API (application programming interface; allows 2 apps to talk to each other) platform for developers, which you'll use to send HTTP requests to your local server. Source: 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Visual Studio Code

Jupyter Notebook & 10 Alternatives: Data Notebook Review [2023]
Previously, VS Code was more suited to developers or engineers due to its lack of data analysis capabilities, but since 2020, the VS Code team has collaborated with the Jupyter team to create an integrated notebook within VS Code. The end result is a fantastic IDE workbook for data analysis.
20 Best Diff Tools to Compare File Contents on Linux
Visual studio code is a code editor made by Microsoft. It supports several development operations like debugging, task running, and version control. It works on Linux, macOS and Windows operating systems.
Top 4 Python and Data Science IDEs for 2021 and Beyond
Having a bullet-proof solution like VSCode is wonderful, but sometimes you want a specialized solution. PyCharm is an IDE built exclusively for Python. As you would imagine, this means it is the most feature-rich.
The Top 7 Notepad++ Alternatives for You
If you are looking for a text editor that will assist you to edit and debug your code then Visual Studio Code is a good Notepad++ alternative. When I first used Visual Studio Code I found the really minimal interface quite surprising. If you want even less then you can go into “Zen” mode that hides almost everything.
DBeaver v. MySQL Workbench v. POPSQL v. Visual Studio Code.
Visual Studio Code is a lightweight but powerful source code editor which runs on your desktop and is available for Windows, macOS and Linux. It comes with built-in support for JavaScript, TypeScript and Node.js and has a rich ecosystem of extensions for other languages (such as C++, C#, Java, Python, PHP, Go) and runtimes (such as .NET and Unity).
Top 5 IDEs for Go
VS Code offers smart completion with IntelliSense, built-in Git integration, the ability to debug code straight from the editor, and more. VS Code is highly extensible with a number of customization options through its many extensions. It also offers support in dozens of languages, making it understandable why it was ranked the most popular developer tool for Stack Overflow’s 2018 Developer Survey.
10 Best Sublime Text Alternatives in 2019
Visual Studio Code is an open source code editor software developed by Microsoft. It offers built-in support for TypeScript, JavaScript, and Node.js. It's autocompleted with IntelliSense features provides smart completions based on variable types, essential modules, and function definitions.
Top 8 Sublime Text Alternatives You Can Use in 2019
Visual Studio Code supports a number of programming languages, including, but not limited to C, C#, C++, HTML, JSON, Objective-C, Objective-C++, PHP and more. Like Sublime Text, VS Code also supports a wide array of plugins, which enhance the functionality of the editor and add language support. The extension management is built-in, and a few important ones are part of the default download package. A notable...
The Rise of Microsoft Visual Studio Code
Another finding from this chart is the difference between VS Code and Sublime. VS Code is primarily used for JavaScript development (61%) but less frequently for Python development (22%). With Sublime, the numbers are basically reversed (51% Python and 30% JavaScript). It's interesting that VS Code users pass interviews at a higher rate than Sublime engineers, even though they predominately use a language with a...
Exploring Ruby IDE Options - DEV Community 👩‍💻👨‍💻
Careful, this is how it starts ;-) I was a very heavy Emacs user for a long time using it for mail, as a Twitter client etc. At one point I started using VS Code on the side for JS, but made the full switch sometime last year. There are some things I miss (org-mode 😭), but the monthly VS Code releases do bridge the gap fast and overall it's a great editor for web developers.
Ruby IDE: The 9 Best IDEs for Ruby on Rails Development
Visual Studio code is another solid IDE for programming and many Rubyists are using mvsc for Ruby development. All you need is to install the extension vscode-ruby that provides full Ruby language and debugging support.
What Are the Best Golang IDEs?
Visual Studio Code is an extensible open-source code editor developed primarily by Microsoft (with lots of contributions from the community). It is based on Electron, which is in turn based on Chromium. Visual Studio Code supports many languages and originally focused on web development. It has strong support for Go development, including integration of all the Go tools and the Delve debugger via a dedicated...

Do you know an article comparing Visual Studio Code to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Generic Visual Studio Code discussion

Log in or Post with
  1. User avatar
    Dream100-AI
    · 3 months ago
    · Reply

    Top IDE for developers

This is an informative page about Visual Studio Code. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.