Software Alternatives & Reviews

Visual Studio Code Reviews

Build and debug modern web and cloud applications, by Microsoft

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Visual Studio Code and what they use it for.
  • Can't companies that sponsore there software / service as open source lie about this?
    If you don't go to their GitHub page, and instead go to https://code.visualstudio.com, there is no mention of this. Instead you have this reference to open source:. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • i made a program to display how much money you've spent/received in the steam marketplace
    This comes with an IDLE, which is what I used to make this. However if you do wanna get into programming in the future, I'd recommend using pycharm or vscode. - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • help, how do i make the page longer with the background image. so the background image dosnt move but the page its self does video text ect?
    It looks like you've got an extra closing bracket for the * rule, also. Code formatters may not work if you have invalid structure. I'd recommend trying VSCode (free), also. Tons of plugins available that can help simplify things for you. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Can't build even an example project in VS Code anymore while using vcpkg, CMake and MSVC compiler on Windows
    VS Code 1.68.1 with the following extensions: CMake Tools v1.11.26 CMake (extension) v0.0.17 C/C++ v1.10.7. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Should I buy the Air M2 for Web Developing?
    Your current laptop is enough for Web Development... Do you already know what will your tools be? - Sublime Text or VSCode for the IDE - One or two DBMS (DataBase Management System) like PostgreSQL - Docker - Some Web Browsers And... That's it I guess... So yeah, with that, your 2017 MacBook Pro is enough 👍. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • 10 Best Code Editors in 2022: The Guide to the Top Options
    Visual Studio Code permits changing the code page in which the active document is saved, the character that identifies line break, and the programming language of the active document. This tool is free and open-source, although the official download is under a proprietary license. - Source: dev.to / 6 days ago
  • Doing the tutorial and I'm stuck :(
    I'd recommend an IDE such as VSCode, especially if you're new to programming. This will give you more useful errors and can make running your code more stable. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • API implementation questions
    VSCode is a very popular IDE these days. I don't believe Postman is useful for automation, unless it's functionality has expanded a lot since I last checked. It's quite likely you'll need to write a custom program to automate this task. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Essential windows apps.
    Visual Studio Code: a bit slower than Notepad++, especially startup. But more/better features for developers. Like Git integration, debugger, etc. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • This VS Code customs combo is lit! 🔥
    When it comes to coding straight for hours, you might get it somehow boring too for sitting for a long period of time in front of a monitor. And you will wish for customizability within VS Code. - Source: dev.to / 7 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Visual Studio Code

Top 4 Python and Data Science IDEs for 2021 and Beyond
Having a bullet-proof solution like VSCode is wonderful, but sometimes you want a specialized solution. PyCharm is an IDE built exclusively for Python. As you would imagine, this means it is the most feature-rich.
The Top 7 Notepad++ Alternatives for You
If you are looking for a text editor that will assist you to edit and debug your code then Visual Studio Code is a good Notepad++ alternative. When I first used Visual Studio Code I found the really minimal interface quite surprising. If you want even less then you can go into “Zen” mode that hides almost everything.
DBeaver v. MySQL Workbench v. POPSQL v. Visual Studio Code.
Visual Studio Code is a lightweight but powerful source code editor which runs on your desktop and is available for Windows, macOS and Linux. It comes with built-in support for JavaScript, TypeScript and Node.js and has a rich ecosystem of extensions for other languages (such as C++, C#, Java, Python, PHP, Go) and runtimes (such as .NET and Unity).
Top 5 IDEs for Go
VS Code offers smart completion with IntelliSense, built-in Git integration, the ability to debug code straight from the editor, and more. VS Code is highly extensible with a number of customization options through its many extensions. It also offers support in dozens of languages, making it understandable why it was ranked the most popular developer tool for Stack Overflow’s 2018 Developer Survey.
10 Best Sublime Text Alternatives in 2019
Visual Studio Code is an open source code editor software developed by Microsoft. It offers built-in support for TypeScript, JavaScript, and Node.js. It's autocompleted with IntelliSense features provides smart completions based on variable types, essential modules, and function definitions.
Top 8 Sublime Text Alternatives You Can Use in 2019
Visual Studio Code supports a number of programming languages, including, but not limited to C, C#, C++, HTML, JSON, Objective-C, Objective-C++, PHP and more. Like Sublime Text, VS Code also supports a wide array of plugins, which enhance the functionality of the editor and add language support. The extension management is built-in, and a few important ones are part of the default download package. A notable...
The Rise of Microsoft Visual Studio Code
Another finding from this chart is the difference between VS Code and Sublime. VS Code is primarily used for JavaScript development (61%) but less frequently for Python development (22%). With Sublime, the numbers are basically reversed (51% Python and 30% JavaScript). It's interesting that VS Code users pass interviews at a higher rate than Sublime engineers, even though they predominately use a language with a...
Exploring Ruby IDE Options - DEV Community 👩‍💻👨‍💻
Careful, this is how it starts ;-) I was a very heavy Emacs user for a long time using it for mail, as a Twitter client etc. At one point I started using VS Code on the side for JS, but made the full switch sometime last year. There are some things I miss (org-mode 😭), but the monthly VS Code releases do bridge the gap fast and overall it's a great editor for web developers.
Ruby IDE: The 9 Best IDEs for Ruby on Rails Development
Visual Studio code is another solid IDE for programming and many Rubyists are using mvsc for Ruby development. All you need is to install the extension vscode-ruby that provides full Ruby language and debugging support.
What Are the Best Golang IDEs?
Visual Studio Code is an extensible open-source code editor developed primarily by Microsoft (with lots of contributions from the community). It is based on Electron, which is in turn based on Chromium. Visual Studio Code supports many languages and originally focused on web development. It has strong support for Go development, including integration of all the Go tools and the Delve debugger via a dedicated...

Do you know an article comparing Visual Studio Code to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.