Software Alternatives & Reviews

VirtualBox Reviews

VirtualBox is a powerful x86 and AMD64/Intel64 virtualization product for enterprise as well as...

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about VirtualBox and what they use it for.
  • Regretfully, I have run into too many problems with the latest upgrade of PopOS and am going to switch back to vanilla Ubuntu
    Did they fix the Virtualbox issue? Even after two weeks I wasn't getting a new version so had to download the deb file from virtualbox.org. I've been having non-stop issues with updates lately though anyway. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Favourite Hypervisor for a macOS Host?
    Dear fellow Mac users, What’s your favourite hypervisor for a macOS host? I’m currently pondering what hypervisor to use and would appreciate some input from other Mac users. What has worked well for you folks, what hasn’t worked well? See below for some options that I have found. Would love to hear from you regarding this matter. PARALLELS Good performance. Support is included in the subscription. Works... - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • No shit, Sherlock
    If you have at least 16 Gb RAM (preferably more), you can experiment yourself with VMs. (You can experiment if you have less than 16 Gb, but you might find the experience frustrating.) The easiest virtual machine manager to use is probably VirtualBox. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Is there anywhere i could fix this?
    Assuming you use Windows, the best and easiest way would probably be to use VirtualBox. It's really straightforward to use, but plenty of tutorials are available if you need help. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • virtualbox.org down?
    I can't be the only one who finds that virtualbox.org is inaccessible today. Does anyone know what is going on? - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • hi total noob here 👋. i want to download virtual box and am confused as to which version to get. should i get the latest debian release or the latest ubuntu release? or should i get a different version all together. thanks
    I had no problem downloading the latest version from virtual box.org. Dont forget to install extension pack also. There s a ton of videos about virtual box on youtube. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Frustration to the max!
    I'm not installing virtualbox from debian repos though... I'm using virtualbox.org repo. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Dual boot or not?
    See if you can get Linux running in under 10minutes, totally safe, without disturbing M$Win10. Install http://virtualbox.org Download & un-7z http://OSboxes.org/ubuntu "Use existing vHD" the .vdi for your New VM. https://brb.nci.nih.gov/seqtools/installUbuntu.html (pre-installed .vdi skips install from .iso). - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Just a bit of frustration with the VB user forum.
    I joined the virtualbox.org end user forum in 15 March 2020, 15:48. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Website down!?
    PS: When I delete all cookies and cache of virtualbox.org then the website appears (with logo etc) but still showing alot of weird errors. After refreshing the same error as above mentions shows again then. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of VirtualBox

Best Alternatives of VirtualBox for Windows
I’m sure you can appreciate the irony in the name of this program, but this is also a very accurate description of what Portable-VirtualBox is. In essence, this free and open source program is VirtualBox and does not need to be installed, making it useful even if it is contained on a USB drive. Portable-VirtualBox works by virtually downloading and installing VirtualBox on the fly, allowing you to run a virtual...
10 Best VMware Alternatives and Similar Software
VirtualBox now supports a broad number of guest operating systems and operates on Windows, Linux, Macintosh, and Solaris hosts. VirtualBox is constantly evolving, with regular patches and an ever-growing list of features, and it supports various OSs and platforms.
12 Best FREE Virtual Machine (VM) Software in 2020
VirtualBox is an open-source hypervisor for x86 computers. This tool supports the creation and management of virtual machines. It runs on Windows, Linux, BSD, and others.
What are the Top Most Open Source Virtualization Software?
VirtualBox provides full virtualization for any operating system to run in a virtual environment with all the software installed within, abstracted from the existing operating system.
7 VirtualBox Alternatives You Can Consider
There are lots of virtualization software out there that let you run multiple applications from different platforms in the same hardware. One of them is VirtualBox by Oracle Corporation. VirtualBox is an open source and freeware that lets users create a virtual environment to run a different operating system on the same machine. It runs on Windows, Linux, macOS, and Solaris. Also, provides support for various...
The 5 Best VirtualBox Alternatives for Windows in 2019
VirtualBox is a great piece of virtualization software from Oracle. It is free, easy to use and brings the potential of virtual machines to the home. It is used in enterprise but the free version is most often used at home to host different operating systems within your Windows installation. VirtualBox isn’t the only show in town though. Here are what I think are the best VirtualBox alternatives for Windows in 2019.
Best VirtualBox Alternatives & Competitors [Top 7 2019]
VirtualBox is an Oracle virtualisation program designed to allow users to install and run different operating systems from a single source which may be PC or laptop, without worries. Make everything possible with this dynamic tool and start integrating. Run your Linux on Windows 7, Windows on Mac and vice-versa. Every PC system is unique, so, if you prefer to go bold, you can integrate all these into one!...
5 Best VirtualBox Alternatives On Linux
This program isn’t free, and to use it you’ll need to pay a pretty penny. However, if free virtualization tools like VirtualBox aren’t enough for you, VirtualBox may be the answer.
IT support: Seven alternatives to VirtualBox
Virtualization is a very common way for businesses to save money on server hardware or for home users to run alternative operating systems on a single computer. One of the more popular programs is VirtualBox. It is free for home use and very good at what it does but it isn’t the only kid on the block. Today’s IT support post will explore seven alternative to VirtualBox just in case you feel like a change.
7 Best VirtualBox Alternatives You Can Use
I’m sure you can appreciate the irony in the name of this program, but this is also a very apt description of what Portable-VirtualBox is. In essence, this free and open source program is VirtualBox that you don’t need to essentially install, thereby making it useful even if it’s contained in a USB drive. Portable-VirtualBox works by downloading and virtually installing VirtualBox on the go, enabling you to run a...
Introduction to Top Open Source Virtualization Tools
VirtualBox is an open source cross-platform product that is currently under the stewardship of Oracle. VirtualBox is one of the veterans of the virtualization scene, and remains a lightweight and reliable virtualization tool that is easy to install and use.

Do you know an article comparing VirtualBox to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.