Software Alternatives & Reviews

VirtualBox Reviews

VirtualBox is a powerful x86 and AMD64/Intel64 virtualization product for enterprise as well as...

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about VirtualBox and what they use it for.
  • i have windows 10 on my laptop and i will need to install debian 10 on it. i need this for school. so how do i do it?
    Virtual machines are likely to give you less headache than dual booting. Windows updates sometimes (often?) borks dual boots. You could look into installing VirtualBox in win10 and then installing Debian as a guest OS in VirtualBox. Then Debian lives as a file on your Win10, do you don't even need to reboot the physical PC to use Debian. Windows updates are also unlikely to break it. - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • Work from home preparedness
    Virtualbox.org is your friend here. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • how to install virtualbox on Debian 11
    Unnoficial virtualbox.org repo don't work right ? When I go here https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux\_Downloads But if I use buster repo I can found it but missing dependencies virtualbox-6.1 : Depends: libvpx5 (>= 1.6.0) but it is not installable So no solutions ? What is the best alternative to virtualbox now ? - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Software Update whitescreened my Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon Virtual Machine
    I have checked the virtualbox.org forums to see if someone else has the same issues and has the answer to no avail. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • pc emulator for pc
    Yep, as u/micklep2012 says, virtualbox is the way to go. Free, easy and super good! Although, you will need the specs for it. I'd recommend atleast 8gb ram, so you can half that to 4gb for the vm. Also, a 4 core cpu is required - although my friend got a single core vm on his macbook air working pretty nice. You can download it here. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Quickbooks Desktop via Wine?
    I won't say it's impossible to run your secondary Windows install from its native partition inside a VM... It probably is. But the most elegant solution would be to use a tool such as VirtualBox and just do a fresh Windows install in a VM. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Good news about my bot service
    And if you decide to buy and run this anyways, please do so within VirtualBox and use an alt account that has no value whatsoever (just in case it is compromised). - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Will Virtual Box mess up my Laptop?
    If you get the installer from a disreputable source, they might package some malware along with VirtualBox itself, or just give you some malware and label it as VirtualBox. This can, of couse, badly mess up your computer. Be sure to get it directly from virtualbox.org or another source you know to be trustworthy. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Fedora 34 (Beta) and VirtualBox?
    I don't miss anything important so far, aside from VirtualBox. This keeps me from also going to F34 beta on my main desktop work machine. I tried to install the latest rpm from virtualbox.org, this doesn't work for me (missing dependency) and there isn't a matching repo for F34 either (not even for F33, as far as I just saw ...). - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • I'm trying to download ubuntu by Musical tutorial
    Download it from virtualbox.org and install. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of VirtualBox

12 Best FREE Virtual Machine (VM) Software in 2020
VirtualBox is an open-source hypervisor for x86 computers. This tool supports the creation and management of virtual machines. It runs on Windows, Linux, BSD, and others.
What are the Top Most Open Source Virtualization Software?
VirtualBox provides full virtualization for any operating system to run in a virtual environment with all the software installed within, abstracted from the existing operating system.
7 VirtualBox Alternatives You Can Consider
There are lots of virtualization software out there that let you run multiple applications from different platforms in the same hardware. One of them is VirtualBox by Oracle Corporation. VirtualBox is an open source and freeware that lets users create a virtual environment to run a different operating system on the same machine. It runs on Windows, Linux, macOS, and Solaris. Also, provides support for various...
The 5 Best VirtualBox Alternatives for Windows in 2019
VirtualBox is a great piece of virtualization software from Oracle. It is free, easy to use and brings the potential of virtual machines to the home. It is used in enterprise but the free version is most often used at home to host different operating systems within your Windows installation. VirtualBox isn’t the only show in town though. Here are what I think are the best VirtualBox alternatives for Windows in 2019.
Best VirtualBox Alternatives & Competitors [Top 7 2019]
VirtualBox is an Oracle virtualisation program designed to allow users to install and run different operating systems from a single source which may be PC or laptop, without worries. Make everything possible with this dynamic tool and start integrating. Run your Linux on Windows 7, Windows on Mac and vice-versa. Every PC system is unique, so, if you prefer to go bold, you can integrate all these into one!...
5 Best VirtualBox Alternatives On Linux
This program isn’t free, and to use it you’ll need to pay a pretty penny. However, if free virtualization tools like VirtualBox aren’t enough for you, VirtualBox may be the answer.
IT support: Seven alternatives to VirtualBox
Virtualization is a very common way for businesses to save money on server hardware or for home users to run alternative operating systems on a single computer. One of the more popular programs is VirtualBox. It is free for home use and very good at what it does but it isn’t the only kid on the block. Today’s IT support post will explore seven alternative to VirtualBox just in case you feel like a change.
7 Best VirtualBox Alternatives You Can Use
I’m sure you can appreciate the irony in the name of this program, but this is also a very apt description of what Portable-VirtualBox is. In essence, this free and open source program is VirtualBox that you don’t need to essentially install, thereby making it useful even if it’s contained in a USB drive. Portable-VirtualBox works by downloading and virtually installing VirtualBox on the go, enabling you to run a...
Introduction to Top Open Source Virtualization Tools
VirtualBox is an open source cross-platform product that is currently under the stewardship of Oracle. VirtualBox is one of the veterans of the virtualization scene, and remains a lightweight and reliable virtualization tool that is easy to install and use.

Do you know an article comparing VirtualBox to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.