Software Alternatives & Reviews
Register   |   Login

Typora Reviews

A minimal Markdown reading & writing app.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
    Simplicity and elegance

    It is very well built with simplicity in mind. There are several themes and all of them look amazing. I love the "typewriter" and "focus" mode. In contrast with other apps that focus the current window and remove all visibility options, Typora goes one step ahead and fades down all other paragraphs as well.

    🏁 Competitors: ghostwriter, iA Writer, MonsterWriter
    👍 Pros:    Beautiful themes|Typewriter mode|Focus mode

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Typora and what they use it for.
  • One Year of TILs
    > I really miss a program that is very good for both editing and viewing Markdown! I like Typora for this, because by default it's WYSIWYG but you can switch to Markdown whenever you need to. https://typora.io/. - Source: Hacker News / 9 days ago
  • Help pick a Markdown writing app?
    I think Typora is what you're looking for. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Creating a minimalist blog with Jekyll Now
    The combination of [Typora](https://typora.io/) for writing markdown + `mkdocs serve` or `hugo serve` is pretty neat. Set up a gitlab-ci.yml that builds and pushes the final site to your hosted destination. - Source: Hacker News / 30 days ago
  • What free software should everyone have?
    Typora. Honestly a nice, minimalistic markdown editor. On that note, more people should learn/use markdown. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • I just write a WYSIWYG markdown editor, inspired by Typora.
    Typora’s website says it’s ‘free during beta’ (at least for the macOS version), so that seems to imply to me that it won’t be free when it goes out of beta. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • How do I make a good "organized" compilation of notes in Math?
    If you don't know Markdown, it's the simplest markup language you can imagine. You can (learn it)[https://www.markdownguide.org/basic-syntax/] in 10 minutes. With a lightweight editor like (Typora)[https://typora.io/], you can easily insert mathematical expressions (both inline and blocks) with LaTeX code. If you don't know LaTeX, just start with a software that can (generate the LaTeX code)[https://mathpix.com/]... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Sublime Writer
    I recommend Typora [1] as an alternative writer. It's a WYSIWYG Markdown editor available on Win/Linux/macOS with the focus mode and other nice features. It has themes [2] too and you can easily create yours to match your blog design. That way, as you write, you have a live preview of your article. [1]: https://typora.io. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • [question] Text editor for iPad 1 on iOS 5.1 with markdown support?
    I am looking for a good text editor for iPad 1, ideally with markdown support, like [Typora](https://typora.io/) on PC/Mac. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Notepad++ but with Bold and Italics?
    Maybe check out Typora it's a hybrid between a plaintext editor and something like MS Word, it uses markdown for syntax, but it also has shortcuts if you don't want to learn the syntax. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Notepad++ but with Bold and Italics?
    I guess the OP wants real-time markdown, for which I would recommend Typora, it has nice styles, side panel with files, or outline of your document and it can convert from word and other formats using pandoc. Link to their web-site. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Typora

10 Best Note Taking Apps for Windows in 2020
If you are a visual person like me, you respond to titles, headings, and specific formatting of text. This is what landed Typora on this list. Typora is extremely customizable. You can make any note in any format you choose. The markdown editor formats text as you type, making note-taking quicker and more effective. You can even create a table of contents to look at specific headers, titles, and outlines.

Do you know an article comparing Typora to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.