Software Alternatives & Reviews

Typora Reviews

A minimal Markdown reading & writing app.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Simplicity and elegance

    It is very well built with simplicity in mind. There are several themes and all of them look amazing. I love the "typewriter" and "focus" mode. In contrast with other apps that focus the current window and remove all visibility options, Typora goes one step ahead and fades down all other paragraphs as well.

    ๐Ÿ Competitors: ghostwriter, iA Writer, MonsterWriter
    ๐Ÿ‘ Pros:    Beautiful themes|Typewriter mode|Focus mode

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Typora and what they use it for.
  • Which open source software makes your daily professional life easy?
    I'm in love with Typora as it is easy to use and you can easily add code snippets for day to day notes taking and you can use your favorite markdown and latex syntax what else you can ask for. - Source: dev.to / 8 days ago
  • Test Data Factories in Javascript
    Friday the 13th was a quiet evening and when the rest of the family were in bed or watching TV I chose to play around with a bit of the thought experiment. This time unlike others I wrote up what I was doing as I went along, what follows is a tidied up and expanded version of the notes that I took. While I was doing this I was primarily using two tools - RunJS for my javascript REPL playground and Typora for my... - Source: dev.to / 10 days ago
  • Looking for something more than Wordgrinder, but less than Abiword.
    Typora is a WYSIWYG Markdown editor. You use it like a word processor and under the hood it's Markdown. It will export to all of your target formats by leveraging Pandoc. Alas it is proprietary and will cost you $15 for three seats. It runs on macOS, Windows and Linux, including a version for ARM-based Linux like Raspberry Pi. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • Bear & Craft Alternatives?
    You might also want to look at Typora. It is a WYSIWYG markdown editor, but is pretty minimal and does the job for basic markdown notes. It has a 15 day trial and is then a $10USD one-time purchase. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • VS Code keyboard-fu: custom keyboard shortcuts that will boost your productivity
    I also use Typora for writing in markdown, I based some of these shortcuts on what Typora uses. Otherwise, I tried to pick something that I found memorable. It can be arbitrary picking a combination of keys sometimes! - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • Best Mac apps for professional and aspiring writers
    Typora ($14.99): my markdown editor of choice across all platforms. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Am I an idiot?
    I do use a Markdown editor that does syntax highlighting. Something like iA Writer, Apostrophe, Typora, or MarkText make Markdown a lot easier to read without having to process/render the file. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Well i dont think Gura is an It Girl/Programmer but i think this catches her perfectly. BTW who is a programmer her let me know in the comments
    I should be specific when I say people don't think HTML is a development or programming language because you can code programs that automatically give you the Markup, an example of this is Typora, Typora makes HTML skill and knowledge basically useless. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • What text editor do you use for rough drafts?
    I was going to recommend Typora, which is a minimalist markdown text editor which I've been using for last couple years. It auto generates the outline and is a pleasure to work in... however, it seems that since I jumped onto it it became a paid software :/. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Academic Formatting w/ Markdown
    LaTeX is definitely the go-to tool for research papers, but if you must use Markdown, the paper theme of Typora editor works well. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Typora

10 Best Note Taking Apps for Windows in 2020
If you are a visual person like me, you respond to titles, headings, and specific formatting of text. This is what landed Typora on this list. Typora is extremely customizable. You can make any note in any format you choose. The markdown editor formats text as you type, making note-taking quicker and more effective. You can even create a table of contents to look at specific headers, titles, and outlines.

Do you know an article comparing Typora to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.