Software Alternatives & Reviews

TiddlyWiki Reviews

a non-linear personal web notebook

Latest User Reviews

  1. Stan Bright avatar
     
    A great app yet a bit complicated

    Not too far ago, I invested several days into "mastering" and tuning TiddlyWiki. It was an interesting experience. I loved it on the whole and felt very enthusiastic about using it store all my knowledge. It's super flexible and use of tags, filters and macros make it unique. However, it's a bit complicated for mass adoption. Also, the extended use of its powerful features may make your computer tangibly slow.

    That's why I found "Obsidian", that's what I'm using today to store my knowledge.

    🏁 Competitors: Obsidian.md
    👍 Pros:    Very flexible|Browser based
    👎 Cons:    High learning curve|Could be slow

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about TiddlyWiki and what they use it for.
  • Your thoughts on yearly diaries and planners.. yay or nay?
    OR if you do want to switch to digital, there are any number of free, open source templates and tools like Tiddlywiki you can use to configure and host your own data, without having some big corporation combing through it all for marketing intelligence. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • How do you "keep track" of everything?
    I suggest Tiddlywiki. This one is mine. Happy to think about it long-term with you, if you want. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • A good website/ Wiki that I can put all my story in
    TiddlyWiki if the complexity doesn't put you off. - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • Ask HN: Looking for a program to write down ideas
    I’ve been using tiddylwiki for decades. It’s easy of use diminished a bit during the time of enhanced browser security (self saving single file html page), though modern browsers are beginning to provide this feature safely, as well as there being a number of alternative ways to run things (desktop app, iOS/android, service, browser plugins, etc.) No bloat! https://tiddlywiki.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 18 days ago
  • When your GTD gets stale
    Prior tool was mGSD which is a heavily modified, old version Tiddlywiki. Tiddlywiki is also a great tool in it's own right. Mgsd saved my butt numerous times, but the current browser security lockdown makes it harder to use.. I recommend TiddlyDesktop. If you want to see this in action, go to the demo raw github page and save the file off to your hard drive, then open in any browser. You should be able to click... - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • I can't take the dumb emails anymore
    The absolute best thing you can do is keep a file of your best responses as form replies, that you always have access to when checking emails. It could be https://www.notion.so/, could be https://tiddlywiki.com/, but I recommend using something outside your email program. - Source: Reddit / 26 days ago
  • Can this sub have a wiki bot
    Wiki for people who want a self contained blob: Tiddlywiki. - Source: Reddit / 27 days ago
  • App for zettelkasten stored on Nextcloud and multiplatform?
    I do this with https://tiddlywiki.com which is a simple html file holding all your notes. Quite interoperable! - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • How do you personally record/archive all of the perks, items, companions, and anything else your Jumper finds?
    I use personal wiki software, namely tiddlywiki. It's basically a superpowered pile of text files stored in a single html file, so I can interlink articles and make it pretty easy to understand how everything fits together. Since it's a single html it's easy to back up and is just about future-proof (it will remain readable forever and writeable so long as tiddlywiki has a way to save). Every jump I do I create an... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • what should I use?
    Me never having used TiddlyWiki on mobile, you might need to refer to the TiddlyWiki website and poke around the TiddlyWiki forum for help. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of TiddlyWiki

The 10 Best Self-hosted Wiki Software for Linux System
TiddlyWiki is one of the many Wiki Software for Linux. But it is unique because it is a non-linear notebook. So you can use it to create your regular notes, organizing your task, even for brainstorming. Individual pages in TiddlyWiki are known as a tiddler. It has options to create and customize your tiddlers with dropdown menus.
Best 11 Open-source Free Wiki Engines for teams and enterprise in 2022
TiddlyWiki has been my favorite wiki on this list, It is an open-source portal one-file wiki that does not even require install. Despite its simple use and look, it has a rich list of features, plugins, and themes.
The Best 20 Wiki Software For Your Business& Internal Knowledge for 2022
A non-linear notebook for collecting, structuring, organizing, and sharing complex information, TiddlyWiki is the brainchild of software developer Jeremy Rustom. This wiki software is ideal for recording information and keeping it organized so that it’s easily accessible even after years. Want to take notes, keep a journal, or manage tasks? Whatever it is, TiddlyWiki helps you with anything you need.
11 Best Note-Taking Apps to Help You Stay Organized at Productive in 2021
TiddlyWiki is like your own personal Wikipedia, a digital knowledge base where you can keep a journal, manage to-do lists and organize documentation. It’s a large HTML file that you save locally and can access from any web browser. To allow for further customization, TiddlyWiki offers a library of plugins, created by users.
17 open source wiki engine/software
TiddlyWiki is a single HTML file which has all the characteristics of a wiki. It contains the entire text of the wiki, and all the ~JavaScript, CSS and HTML goodness to be able to display it, and let you edit it or search it – without needing a server. Although, having said that, there are some fine ServerSide adaptations out there. it’s very portable – you can email it, put it on a web server or share it via a...

Do you know an article comparing TiddlyWiki to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.