Software Alternatives & Reviews

TiddlyWiki

a non-linear personal web notebook

TiddlyWiki Reviews and details

Screenshots and images

  • TiddlyWiki Landing page
    Landing page //
    2023-07-23

Badges

Promote TiddlyWiki. You can add any of these badges on your website.
SaaSHub badge
Show embed code

Videos

TIddlyWiki Tutorial 01 - Installing Tiddlywiki and Creating Your First Tiddler

Intro to TiddlyWiki

TiddlyWiki: Non Linear Note Taking Platform

Reviews

  1. Stan Bright avatar
     
    A great app yet a bit complicated

    Not too far ago, I invested several days into "mastering" and tuning TiddlyWiki. It was an interesting experience. I loved it on the whole and felt very enthusiastic about using it store all my knowledge. It's super flexible and use of tags, filters and macros make it unique. However, it's a bit complicated for mass adoption. Also, the extended use of its powerful features may make your computer tangibly slow.

    That's why I found "Obsidian", that's what I'm using today to store my knowledge.

    🏁 Competitors: Obsidian.md
    👍 Pros:    Very flexible|Browser based
    👎 Cons:    High learning curve|Could be slow

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about TiddlyWiki and what they use it for.
  • Ask HN: Looking for lightweight personal blogging platform
    Tiddlywiki might be interesting. https://tiddlywiki.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • Software suggestions
    I use TiddlyWiki. It's a portable editable wiki that doesn't require a web server or web hosting. You open it from your computer, edit it, and save it. You get all of the linking that you'd expect to see in a wiki, and it's super readable and easy to use. Source: 4 months ago
  • PWAs can now access the file system on desktop and both Android and iOS
    Hopefully, this will make it much easier for software like tiddlywiki [1] where the idea is to be as self-contained as possible. It has depended on various mechanisms to save changes to disk, but this may lower the threshold to use it and feel more streamlined [1] https://tiddlywiki.com. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • BASIC Anywhere Machine
    It is a single-HTML-file TiddlyWiki instance that runs in a web browser (offline as well as online), meant to be downloaded and stored wherever suits you best. Everything that you see when working in BASIC Anywhere Machine (everything that makes "BAM" work as an IDE and all BASIC programs) exist in the one HTML file. Source: 7 months ago
  • TiddlyPWA: putting TiddlyWiki on modern web app steroids
    TiddlyWiki still works as intended: https://tiddlywiki.com/#GettingStarted but there are so many different clients to run on. Mobile or Desktop ? What OS? What Browser? This effort https://val.packett.cool/blog/tiddlypwa/ is remarkable as the mobile side of saving is not as robust as on the desktop side of things and there is a scaling limit on performance as the number of tiddlers grows. Also the syncing between... - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • Effect of Perceptual Load on Performance Within IDE in People with ADHD Symptoms
    You should check out TiddlyWiki as it’s designed around the concept that small linkable notes are the best way to organize. https://tiddlywiki.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • Does anyone do a digital journal?
    It’s html based so you can access it in the same way you would access a website but it can be locally stored. Saving is a bit tricky but there are multiple solutions detailed on their site. https://tiddlywiki.com/. Source: 9 months ago
  • Why is Trilium so unknown?
    Wow...this is nice. I use https://tiddlywiki.com/ and it's great, but there's way more functionality in Trilium. Source: 10 months ago
  • Seeing so many many dots get connected
    Np. I'll add that you may wish to consider plaintext files or something like tiddlywiki. Organizing and searching your thoughts may benefit from powertooling. Feel free to HMU if you want someone to think or talk with, and I'm fan of your name. If I had a longer name, I'd hope my name were h0p3 the Honest Heretic. Source: 10 months ago
  • Ask HN: What's a good, privacy focused bookmark manager?
    I would also offer to use a single file wiki such as tiddly wiki. It’s more than a bookmark manager, but it can be edited on the web and even stored in a git forge (like GitHub page). https://tiddlywiki.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Upcoming Reddit API Changes and the Future of r/leagueoflinux - Looking for Feedback
    I think the biggest issue I have with with the alternatives I've looked at so far have been the lack of built-in wiki tools. I currently heavily rely upon the built-in reddit wiki for collecting and documenting everything here, which further complicates the situation. To be fully transparent, my plan was already for the next major iteration of the wiki to be off-site, something akin to a TiddlyWiki or DokuWiki;... Source: 10 months ago
  • Notebook in html format
    TiddlyWiki is along that same idea but with a wiki setup. You just download a template html and then its yours to do with as you wish. I used it for note taking in school, worked reasonably well. Source: 11 months ago
  • Creating an RPG System - Help request
    You could take a look at TiddlyWiki. It's a self-contained editable wiki in a single html file, and there are specific hosting services if you want it to be available online. Source: 11 months ago
  • Is the Zettelkasten method right for me?
    And although I have used OneNote at work, I actually prefer using TiddlyWiki, which is a great tool for adopting the Zettelkasten method (and see an associated video). Source: 11 months ago
  • Need Help To Find A Free Worldbuilding Site
    TiddlyWiki. Possibly in the same vein as Obsidian, OneNote, Roam, or any other zettelkasten or wiki software. It may be a bit more technically-inclined than most since by default changes made are saved into a new complete HTML file you can share. Source: 11 months ago
  • Come back, c2.com, we still need you
    IMO TiddlyWiki[1] is a much better implementation of this UI idea of bite-sized, heavily linked text (card catalog?) with multiple simultaneously visible entries. (No federation and a bizarre storage approach though.) [1] https://tiddlywiki.com/ (haven’t looked at the homepage in years, the current one seems kind of awful and not really bite-sized unfortunately). - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • Is there a "perfect" GTD app?
    I've personally gone through the entire process to its inevitable conclusion, starting with plain reminders on my phone, moving to text files (infinite customizability! But also very little functionality!), then 2Do and GoodTask for iOS which both had tons of customization options, and finally culminating in basically making my own todo app in TiddlyWiki. I've got an advantage in that I'm a software engineer... Source: 11 months ago
  • Hunting for a product: A knowledge base with offline working
    Have you looked at NotePlan. You can publish notes using a unique link. Craft Craft is also a possibility. The web notes app Tiddlywiki is also very useful for creating static web sites. Source: 11 months ago
  • I'm looking for the right note taking app for me
    Instead, here's some actual inspiration for you - a D&D website built using TiddlyWiki. Source: 11 months ago
  • Zettelkasten to understand my Self?
    Soren Bjornstad’s public Zettelkasten is an inspiring work of genius, but it’s probably closer to a wiki or a digital garden than to Niklas Luhmann’s card-based system, after which it’s named. It’s also a showcase for what TiddlyWiki can achieve, though I’m sure Obsidian or LogSeq would be effective tools for something similar. The question of the ‘system boundary’ is an interesting one, and Niklas Luhmann would... Source: 12 months ago
  • obsidian alternative? zettelkasten
    I’ve looked at TiddlyWiki https://tiddlywiki.com/ but haven’t found the time to do more than an overview. Source: 12 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of TiddlyWiki

The 10 Best Self-hosted Wiki Software for Linux System
TiddlyWiki is one of the many Wiki Software for Linux. But it is unique because it is a non-linear notebook. So you can use it to create your regular notes, organizing your task, even for brainstorming. Individual pages in TiddlyWiki are known as a tiddler. It has options to create and customize your tiddlers with dropdown menus.
Best 11 Open-source Free Wiki Engines for teams and enterprise in 2022
TiddlyWiki has been my favorite wiki on this list, It is an open-source portal one-file wiki that does not even require install. Despite its simple use and look, it has a rich list of features, plugins, and themes.
The Best 20 Wiki Software For Your Business& Internal Knowledge for 2022
A non-linear notebook for collecting, structuring, organizing, and sharing complex information, TiddlyWiki is the brainchild of software developer Jeremy Rustom. This wiki software is ideal for recording information and keeping it organized so that it’s easily accessible even after years. Want to take notes, keep a journal, or manage tasks? Whatever it is, TiddlyWiki helps you with anything you need.
11 Best Note-Taking Apps to Help You Stay Organized at Productive in 2021
TiddlyWiki is like your own personal Wikipedia, a digital knowledge base where you can keep a journal, manage to-do lists and organize documentation. It’s a large HTML file that you save locally and can access from any web browser. To allow for further customization, TiddlyWiki offers a library of plugins, created by users.
17 open source wiki engine/software
TiddlyWiki is a single HTML file which has all the characteristics of a wiki. It contains the entire text of the wiki, and all the ~JavaScript, CSS and HTML goodness to be able to display it, and let you edit it or search it – without needing a server. Although, having said that, there are some fine ServerSide adaptations out there. it’s very portable – you can email it, put it on a web server or share it via a...

Do you know an article comparing TiddlyWiki to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Suggest an article

Generic TiddlyWiki discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about TiddlyWiki. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.