Software Alternatives & Reviews

TiddlyWiki Reviews

a non-linear personal web notebook

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    A great app yet a bit complicated

    Not too far ago, I invested several days into "mastering" and tuning TiddlyWiki. It was an interesting experience. I loved it on the whole and felt very enthusiastic about using it store all my knowledge. It's super flexible and use of tags, filters and macros make it unique. However, it's a bit complicated for mass adoption. Also, the extended use of its powerful features may make your computer tangibly slow.

    That's why I found "Obsidian", that's what I'm using today to store my knowledge.

    🏁 Competitors: Obsidian.md
    👍 Pros:    Very flexible|Browser based
    👎 Cons:    High learning curve|Could be slow

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about TiddlyWiki and what they use it for.
  • improving cheat sheets design, 9/14/2021
    Improved design of cheat sheets at https://blog.kowalczyk.info/cheatsheets/. Inspired by https://tiddlywiki.com/. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • porting cheat sheets to Go, 9/13/2021
    Navigation is inspired by https://tiddlywiki.com/, check it out at https://blog.kowalczyk.info/cheatsheets/ and click around. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • RIP Jekyll (The Genesis of the Jamstack)
    Good technology alone isn't enough to lead to adoption. Tiddlywiki, imo, is the best personal blogging tools. It is a static site, it got an embedded editor, it got cool concepts realised like transclusion, among many others. Go ask around, I bet hardly anyone talks about it. If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound? https://tiddlywiki.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 7 days ago
  • BOS Style?
    Mine is a TiddlyWiki that has grown huge. I keep it on my dedicated magick laptop. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • College student, novice Zettelkastmensch, looking for advice based on expierence
    Https://tiddlywiki.com and https://tiddlyroam.org single-page html+js local/web app with an optional Electron-based desktop UI :: they have the best transclusion support I know, give it a try, I do not like them but they have very nice points, a guide is here https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzZCajspPU_UjFn0uy-J9URz0LP4zhxRK. - Source: Reddit / 22 days ago
  • I can’t organize my DM notes… any help?
    I use a tiddlywiki for NPCs, locations, items, &c. Because it is non-linear and I can have all of, and only the information I want in front of me. - Source: Reddit / 24 days ago
  • Self hosting D&D campaign notes
    TiddlyWiki. Stupid name, but it's the most powerful knowledge engine I'm aware of. Give in a spin and you won't regret it. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Software to make interactive eBooks/Alternatives to Kotobee Author
    Most LMS are overkill; I just want to make very simple "digital textbooks". BookStack and mdBook are nice but lack quizing and annotations. In worst case, I can make my own solution with TiddlyWiki I guess, but I wonder if someone knows about relevant software or good search terms?:) Perhaps some blogging platforms are as good as wikis? - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Introducing the Eberron Tiddlywiki, an extensive database, map, and notebook for all things Eberron
    Hello! For the last year and a half or so, I have been working on creating an all-inclusive Tiddlywiki for Eberron, and I think it's finally ready to be shared! - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Finished Stand Alone WiFi Plex Server for the Mountains. Messy, but works from any web browser connected to the WiFi network. One Pi is the router, one is a Kodi media center and one is a Plex server.
    I recommend tiddlywiki for that. Self hosted, no database wiki site. The nodejs version is trivial to install. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of TiddlyWiki

11 Best Note-Taking Apps to Help You Stay Organized at Productive in 2021
TiddlyWiki is like your own personal Wikipedia, a digital knowledge base where you can keep a journal, manage to-do lists and organize documentation. It’s a large HTML file that you save locally and can access from any web browser. To allow for further customization, TiddlyWiki offers a library of plugins, created by users.
17 open source wiki engine/software
TiddlyWiki is a single HTML file which has all the characteristics of a wiki. It contains the entire text of the wiki, and all the ~JavaScript, CSS and HTML goodness to be able to display it, and let you edit it or search it – without needing a server. Although, having said that, there are some fine ServerSide adaptations out there. it’s very portable – you can email it, put it on a web server or share it via a...

Do you know an article comparing TiddlyWiki to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.