Software Alternatives & Reviews

Terraform Reviews

Tool for building, changing, and versioning infrastructure safely and efficiently.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Terraform and what they use it for.
  • Three Terraform Mistakes, and How to Avoid Them
    In my last blog post, I talked about how Ana Margarita Medina and I used Terraform to show off Observability-Landscape-as-Code in practice, leveraging the OpenTelemetry Demo App to do so. The Demo App showcases instrumentation of Traces and Metrics of different services written in different languages using OpenTelemetry (OTel). Our Terraform code did the following:. - Source: dev.to / 10 days ago
  • Observability-Landscape-as-Code in Practice
    We wanted to showcase OLaC principles with a real-life example using modern cloud-native tooling...Which means using Kubernetes for our cloud infrastructure with Google Cloud’s Kubernetes offering, GKE. Now, since we are good practitioners of OLaC and SRE, we won’t just be setting things up through the clickity click of a UI. No sirreee. Instead, we’ll be #automatingAllTheThings using HashiCorp Terraform.... - Source: dev.to / 11 days ago
  • 5 reasons to automate your data infrastructure
    Terraform is an open-source IaC tool that helps you automate the provisioning of application and data infrastructure in a multi-cloud deployment model. While there are many choices when it comes to automation tools, Terraform has been battle-tested in production by a number of customers. Terraform uses providers to work with virtually any platform or service with an accessible API. - Source: dev.to / 23 days ago
  • OVHCloud Bare Metal Cloud
    Did you search terraform.io for any guide to OVHCloud?? - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • A full-stack serverless application with AssemblyLift and Next.js
    AssemblyLift is an open platform for cloud-native application development. AssemblyLift provides a portable, function-oriented framework and WebAssembly-based runtime which can be deployed to AWS Lambda or Kubernetes. The AssemblyLift CLI generates HashiCorp Terraform infrastructure code from simple TOML definitions, and takes care of compiling and packaging functions and services for deployment. To make a clichéd... - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Deploying a simple portable Web App in any cloud using Terraform and Multy
    In this tutorial, we'll deploy a simple web app to the cloud of your choice - composed of a database and a virtual machine where the frontend code will run. So that the configuration is reusable and consistent, we'll write it in Terraform. - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • Observability Mythbusters: Yes, Observability-Landscape-as-Code is a Thing
    *Codifying the deployment of the OTel Collector *(to Nomad, Kubernetes, or a VM) using tools such as Terraform, Pulumi, or Ansible. The Collector funnels your OTel data to your Observability back-end. ✅. - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • hugo new site
    I started by dogfooding1 my template repository. It allows me to use terraform to manage GitHub repository declaratively. If you're not familiar with "Infrastructure as Code" I highly recommend giving it a try, the declarative approach to configuration management and resource provisioning makes repetitive tasks so much easier. Also, it already has editorconfig and pre-commit configuration. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • What options are best for auto deployment of web servers (Not docker)
    Seconding Ansible, but you may also be interested in https://terraform.io which can deploy virtual machine images to your cloud platform. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • With the latest news about VMWare, I guess it's time to be testing alternatives.
    For me it’s more clear to read a terraform file than a Manual for a GUI and people forget things in a GUI to setup than you do with code. In my experience. For terraform you find more https://terraform.io. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Terraform

Do not use AWS CloudFormation
Terraform, on the other hand, will occupy your shell until the directly-involved AWS service coughs up an error. No additional tooling is required. Terraform will just relay the error message from the affected service indicating what you’ve done wrong.
Top 5 Ansible Alternatives in 2022: Server Automation Solutions by Alexander Fashakin on the 19th Aug 2021 facebook Linked In Twitter
Although Terraform and Ansible are both server automation tools, there are still a few significant differences between the two. For example, Terraform is declarative while Ansible allows for both procedural configurations and declarative configurations. Also, Ansible works best as a configuration management tool while Terraform leans towards cloud orchestration.
35+ Of The Best CI/CD Tools: Organized By Category
Terraform is compatible with a wide range of Cloud providers, including Azure, VMWare, and AWS. If you’re subscribed to multiple cloud providers, Terraform is a great way to ensure that they have consistent configurations.
Why we use Terraform and not Chef, Puppet, Ansible, SaltStack, or CloudFormation
Example: Terraform and Ansible. You use Terraform to deploy all the underlying infrastructure, including the network topology (i.e., VPCs, subnets, route tables), data stores (e.g., MySQL, Redis), load balancers, and servers. You then use Ansible to deploy your apps on top of those servers.This is an easy approach to start with, as there is no extra infrastructure to run (Terraform and Ansible are both client-only...
Ansible overtakes Chef and Puppet as the top cloud configuration management tool
Breaking these results down year-over-year, use of Ansible grew from 36% in 2018 to 41% in 2019--surpassing Chef, which grew from 36% to 37%, as well as Puppet, which grew from 34% to 37%. Rounding out the list is Terraform, which experienced a jump from 20% to 31%, and Salt, which increased in usage from 13% to 18%.
Terraform vs. Ansible vs. Puppet
Terraform is the service provisioner and infrastructure orchestrator in the suite of offerings by Hashicorp. Terraform is cloud-agnostic and supports a multitude of providers, giving you efficiency in managing your multi-cloud, multi-offering environment using the same configuration construct and language. It is written in the Hashicorp Language (HCL) and is very easy to get up and running quickly.
Ansible vs. Terraform: Fight!
Most definitely, MacKenzie! Take a look at our Deploying to AWS with Ansible and Terraform course to learn the basics of Terraform and Ansible! There’s also a hands-on lab where you’ll be able to walk through an actual Terraform Apply and build a real WordPress website in AWS using Terraform and Ansible.

Do you know an article comparing Terraform to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.