Software Alternatives & Reviews

TalkJS Reviews

TalkJS is a messaging API enabling users to add buyer-seller chat to their online marketplace or platform.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about TalkJS and what they use it for.
  • Integrating Django channels in my chat application
    Hello guys, I have just implemented a chat application between users in my Django project (just using HTTP requests). I am trying to deploy the project asap, do you think I should use Django channels? How hard is it to convert my already working application? I have also found this service on the internet (https://talkjs.com/). Do you think it could be a great idea to launch the website as it is now, and later on,... - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • How do you implement internal user messaging in your app?
    I'm one of the founders of https://talkjs.com, a chat SDK with a pre-built UI. Obviously my position is extremely biased. Users have come to expect a chat experience that Just Works, and has all the basics covered. Those basics, however, go a lot longer than just the websocket/firebase "hello world" chat app and it's a lot of work to cover them sufficiently well. Typing indicators, online status, sharing photos... - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • Reporting messages in TalkJS
    TalkJS now supports adding custom actions to chat messages. This opens up possibilities to add support for actions like reporting, deleting, or liking a message. In this how-to, we’ll set up a custom action to report a message in TalkJS using this new feature. Note that the feature by itself does not report a message but provides you with the custom action and its handler. You must invoke a service in the backend... - Source: dev.to / 5 months ago
  • Ask HN: Who is hiring? (April 2022)
    Our stack is mainly React, TypeScript, Elixir and PostgreSQL. Nearly the whole company is product people, founders are a designer and a programmer. TalkJS touches millions of people and is growing quickly. We want to be the tool that every developer thinks of for building communication features, a bit like what Stripe is for payments. To accomplish this, we give great engineers the maximum amount of freedom to... - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • Ask HN: What is your recommended stack for real time chat?
    Shameless plug, I'm co-founder and CTO of https://talkjs.com, a chat API with pre-built UIs and notifications. Our product is designed for exactly this sort of stuff. Let me know if you want a tour! - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • How to add chat into a NodeJS app with TalkJS
    This article is another entry in our series about integrating the TalkJS chat API with different backends. Today, it is all about shipping a full-fledged chat feature for any NodeJS app. Similar to the previous articles you can find here, we set up a NodeJS server that consists of specific endpoints to get user data as well as store user data and then use this to initialize a chat. The chat uses the same data as... - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • How to build chat into a Flask App with a chat API
    Last time, we took a look at adding chat to a Spring Boot app with the help of the TalkJS Chat API. This time, we will be reusing the same frontend code to add chat to a Flask app written in Python. This app is more or less similar to the previous one in terms of experience, but it uses Python. The same rules apply to this one as well. Ensure that you don’t replicate a similar setup for production since we are not... - Source: dev.to / 10 months ago
  • How to customize email notifications in TalkJS
    TalkJS is a chat API that supports all types of notifications, including email, desktop, SMS, and push notifications. In this guide, we will look into customizing the email body of the TalkJS email notifications. - Source: dev.to / 11 months ago
  • Launch HN: Stipop (YC S21) – Improving user engagement with stickers
    Check out TalkJS: https://talkjs.com Disclosure: I'm one of the founders. Compared to alternatives, our main differentiator is pre-built chat UIs (that are still deeply customizable) and a fully integrated notification system. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • Ask HN: Who is hiring? (December 2021)
    Our stack is mainly React, TypeScript, Elixir and PostgreSQL. Nearly the whole company is product people, founders are a designer and a programmer. TalkJS touches millions of people and is growing quickly. We want to be the tool that every developer thinks of for building communication features, a bit like what Stripe is for payments. To accomplish this, we give great engineers the maximum amount of freedom to... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago

Do you know an article comparing TalkJS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.