Software Alternatives & Reviews

Squoosh Reviews

Compress and compare images with different codecs, right in your browser

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Best tool to make images smaller or to figure out the right setting for batch work

    The only negative thing about this web app, is that it's not clear which formats are supported in which browsers.

    πŸ‘ Pros:    Intuitive|Easy user interface|User-friendly|Great user experience|Web app|Offline mode|Fast ui|Fast

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Squoosh and what they use it for.
  • I'm looking for feedback and criticism on this site that I just completed.
    Keep an eye with the file size, like marilyn2.png (1.8mb) You can use a service like https://squoosh.app/ to reduce it, example (122kb). - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Help needed, very bad loading time on my ecom store
    What ever I'm working on in Photoshop, I export as PNG, and then use squoosh.app as it can encode jpg using MozJPEG, as well as many different formats like Webp, and even AVIF! - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Cat Goric: Escape from the Warp Chamber - Post-Mortem
    So I started reducing their sizes. I've used Piskel to extract only the frames I needed from the sprite sheets. Then sent them through Squoosh to convert to WEBP with the smallest possible size (it's equivalent to the reduction from TinyPNG, with the difference that WEBP is smaller than PNG). - Source: dev.to / 6 days ago
  • How Do You Make Images SEO-Friendly and Get More Traffic to Your Website?
    With the WebP format, you get better lossless and lossy compression for images on the web. Squoosh is a tool you can use to convert your images to WebP. WebP is the only image format supported by both Mozilla and Chrome. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Beginners Guide to Web Performance: Optimizing Images
    I use Squoosh to convert individual images to WEBP. I haven't found a good free bulk tool yet, and I still find I have to mess with the settings to make sure the image still looks good after being compressed. - Source: dev.to / 19 days ago
  • What is best AVIF compression settings without losing quality for 8000x6000 and 4000x3000?
    For experiments you can use Squoosh. Otherwise there is a Gimp plugin, I'm a Linux command line dude and prefer to use cjxl. - Source: Reddit / 24 days ago
  • Ask HN: Can AVIFs replace JPEGs inside PDF files?
    They could have been using webp and had the same benefits but they haven't. Like you said they could have been using jpeg 2000 correctly but they haven't. I doubt we will see avif be used this way correctly especially considering how in flux it is right now. I've messed around with avif on https://squoosh.app/ and it's not really as easy as just picking a number between 0 and 100 universally for every image and... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • A question, could someone tell me how I can reduce in some way the lag that the application has or how to eliminate it (the application only gives that lag when it loads all the images, without images the app runs fine)
    Take a look at https://squoosh.app for image resizing. It’s the πŸ’£. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Firefox 92 to Try Again with AVIF Image Support by Default
    On one hand, there is more bloat. Browsers are the single biggest culprit of security vulnerabilities, and they increase their attack surface every day. On the other hand, I see it's much better than even mozJPG, in this WASM implementation: https://squoosh.app/. - Source: Hacker News / about 2 months ago
  • Web Performance Optimization- II
    Squoosh uses various compression algorithms to optimize images. And it has an experimental CLI you can use to automate that process. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago

Do you know an article comparing Squoosh to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.