Software Alternatives & Reviews
PDF Tools PDF Readers And Editors PDF Editor

Skim Reviews and details

Skim Landing Page
Skim Landing Page

Videos

SKIMS REVIEW: SO MANY DISAPPOINTMENTS...

SOOO... I tried SKIMS SHAPEWEAR & WE NEED TO CHAT

Is SKIMS Worth It? | SKIMS Review + Try-On Haul | Curvy Girl Edition

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Skim and what they use it for.
  • Question about transcript proofreading
    Well. I have a 55 pages with three remaining parts of a transcript I should probably be working on ... But I haven't proofed in a while, so I had to remember how to use the (Mac only) program I use to mark up PDFs worked, only to find there was a new version waiting to be downloaded and installed ... and, of course, re-learned. Source: 7 days ago
  • Create link from bibliographic reference/quote in an Obsidian document to the page of the book/article PDF in my Zotero library?
    If you’re on Mac you can use the free app Skim, which has ‘deep links’ that take you to a specific PDF page. If you want a link to take you to a specific sentence, then you can use Hookmark and Skim to get links that take you to a specific part of a PDF page. Source: 2 months ago
  • Adobe now requires you to purchase a subscription to rotate PDF pages
    Preview is great. I can also recommend Skim (free and open source) for macOS for some additional functionality [1]. [1]: https://skim-app.sourceforge.io/. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Would you prefer a hard copy of a reference manual over a PDF?
    For MacOS I searched around and found Skim which seems to be especially geared towards reading and annotating scientific and technical documents, so might work well for manuals and reference guides. Source: 8 months ago
  • What are lightweight but capable alternatives to Preview?
    There might be a few free, or even open source alternatives, like Foxit reader, or Skim, and probably more. Source: 8 months ago
  • How do I offset the PDFs by one page so that two proper pages appear side by side?
    I started using Skim for my pdf needs on Mac OS. I find it very fast (even loading huge pdfs with a lot of art quickly), and it can do what you want by supporting "Book mode" (that setting is available under the menu bar: "PDF" -> "PDF Display" -> "Book mode"). Source: 9 months ago
  • Looking for a pdf annotator and I'm stuck here
    I’ve used Skim https://skim-app.sourceforge.io/. Source: 9 months ago
  • Best PDF app for academics?
    I used Skim when I was annotating/reviewing scientific papers in undergrad. Source: 10 months ago
  • Tips – Preview the Mac app people forget about
    I mostly use Skim for doc viewing but I have used Preview for merging PDFs. https://skim-app.sourceforge.io. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 year ago
  • Need a cheapish Laptop (less than the M1 MacBook Air) for remotely accessing a Mac while away from home
    I have a lot of LaTeX and PDFs that are continuously updated, and because I don't want to sync them between devices or take them with me in physical media (and also because I'm using Skim for PDF annotation, and I like how it works [saving my annotations to extended attributes and a separate backup file instead of directly saving it to PDF]). I'm looking for a cheapish laptop so I can use it while away from home. Source: about 1 year ago
  • What's the Problem with Old but Excellent Mac Apps?
    For pdf reader, Skim is a nice light weight app for macOS. https://skim-app.sourceforge.io/. - Source: Hacker News / over 1 year ago
  • M1 Pro ram suddenly spiked while I was reading a textbook PDF. What can I do about this :(
    I recommend Skim for textbook reading: https://skim-app.sourceforge.io/. Source: over 1 year ago
  • two instance of same pdf document (non-adobe)
    Skim (https://skim-app.sourceforge.io/) has support for a similar feature which should do what you need. It is called "Split PDF" and is found under the View menu. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Pdf reading application for research purposes
    This one? Https://skim-app.sourceforge.io. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Free PDF editor recommendations?
    I recommend Skim. It's free and open source! Source: over 1 year ago
  • Is there a ARM MacOS native TexEditor?
    I am the author of the TeX Suite extension for Panic's Nova editor. It offers syntax highlighting, document outline, in-editor building and live preview (via Skim) for both LaTeX and ConTeXt. Source: over 1 year ago
  • What's the best PDF reader for Mac?
    But easily the best free PDF reader is the open-source Skim reader. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Recommend some PDF readers, you will find them helpful if you take CS course with Mr. Herman
    For macOS users, Skim will be great. It seems doesn't obey DRM at all and can remember passwords using macOS Keychain. Source: over 1 year ago
  • [P] Sioyek - PDF viewer designed for reading research papers and technical books
    Jumping back and forth between the references and the main content could be annoying though. Since I discovered Skim several years ago, I have been unable to use another software for reading research papers because of a single (killer) feature: Hovering the mouse pointer over a link will show its destination (check this screenshot to see what I mean). I hope you could implement a similar feature for Sioyek. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Suggestions for a good PDF reader for Mac for use with Obsidian
    I’ve been using Skim, and I’m pretty happy with it. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Lessons learned from 15 years of SumatraPDF, an open source Windows app
    I cannot compare it to SumatraPDF, but I really enjoy Skim: https://skim-app.sourceforge.io/. - Source: Hacker News / almost 2 years ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Skim

13 of the Best Free PDF Readers
Skim is another lightweight PDF viewer that comes with many basic functions. Users can highlight text, take pictures and add notes with ease. Skim was primarily developed for academics but has since expanded its functionality. Still, this tool remains great for academics, as it can connect with third-party apps such as Bid Desk.

Do you know an article comparing Skim to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Generic Skim discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Skim. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.