Software Alternatives & Reviews

Shotcut Reviews

Shotcut is a free, open source, cross-platform, non-linear video editor.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Shotcut and what they use it for.
  • PLS HELP
    You should just be able to use Handbake https://handbrake.fr/ to convert to something DaVinci Resolve likes. Failing that something like Shotcut https://shotcut.org/ might be able to do some basic editing. Oh - or convert with VLC? - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago
  • what program do you use to record celeste?
    OBS for me too, controller overlay from MoonsPod, trimmed down with Shotcut to preserve footage quality. Would always end up with 30 fps clips when using Windows' built-in trimming tools, even when recording at 60. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • How do I splice and edit clips?
    Shotcut is great, and it's free and opensource. - Source: Reddit / 18 days ago
  • Pikamee voice samples
    Shotcut is a good/free video editor that can export your "project" as an audio file. DaVinci Resolve is similar (and likely more powerful) however that program doesn't seem to work with Untwitch's videos for whatever reason. - Source: Reddit / 23 days ago
  • Video resizing tool? i accidentally forgot to resize my obs video.
    This tool is free and have much more then you need: https://shotcut.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • what's the best free video editor out there for a beginner?
    The easies video editors I know are Clipify and Shotcut, both are beginner friendly and good to start learning with. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Best software for simply adding sound to video, and exporting without watermark?
    ShotCutis full version free video editor. You can add music, add sounds or text and much more. Personally I found it much easier then DaVinci Resolve (which is free but the free version misses some features - ShotCut doesn't). - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Best way to edit 1440x5120 mp4 video files?
    Try Shotcut. It's the only program I can think of that might do what you're asking. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Name a program that doesn't get enough love!
    Not sure if Shotcut is getting enough love or not but it has completely replaced Adobe Premiere Pro for me. I use it for work. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Attacking someone from behind right near a puddle of water
    Download shotcut, follow this 10 min tutorial on how to edit, cut the repetitions, remove the audio, speed up to normal speed, and you're done. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Simple video editor that maintains metadata and does color correction
    Try with ShotCut it is free fully featured video editor. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Q: Scripted 'walk-through' of a large image?
    Yes Natron is the way to go, but for a very-beginner I would recommend Shotcut (https://shotcut.org/) first as what OP wants can be done in 30minute without knowing Shotcut, and then learn Natron beside for better and more complex effect/project. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 11.0 refuses to render any video at a fps higher than 30.
    There are more video editors out there than I think you realise. Kdenlive is free, has most of the same features as Vegas and isn't overly complex. Shotcut is also free and slightly simpler. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • What is something free on the internet everyone should take advantage of ?
    Shotcut -A slick open source program for advanced video editing. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Open source video editor for OSS documentary
    Can anyone recommend open source video editor which can be used for simple news style cuts? I tried blender and UI is very difficult to use. Export in some pro format like DNxHR is needed. I am looking at https://shotcut.org now anything else is usable? What people use instead of After effects, I am struggling with Blender. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Help with finding Editing Software with Commercial Use Licenses
    For a video editing I'd go with Davinci Resolve and a commercial license, like the other poster had mentioned, or maybe look into other editors like Clipify or Shotcut, not sure about the commercial use part though, but these are also good programs and would probably serve as Davinci replacement. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Is it possible to create a GUI video editing application that is powered by ffmpeg.
    You might check out Shotcut, which is a full-featured non-linear video editor. It uses open source software projects (including ffmpeg): https://shotcut.org/. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Why does someone make a movie like Watcher (2022)
    It kinda goes in phases of what's popular / what the flavor of the month is. It might also be that anyone with a phone / video camera can shoot a film and put it together in their bedroom, these days. It's so easy to put something together with a free tool like Shotcut now, that the market was bound to get flooded with tons of movies. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Vegas Pro vs. Vegas Movie Studio Question
    Shotcut is also free and open source. Windows, Linux and Mac. It's generally pitched about the same level of user ability as Movie Studio. If you glance at their website, you'll be instantly familiar with how it works. It's got a very active forum of genuinely helpful people - always a plus. Pleasant to use and pretty flexible. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • November "What Editorial Software should I start using" thread. Meant for people figuring out the "base" tools to use.
    ShotCut - Linux/Windows/Mac. Lesser features than Kdenlive (e.g not a lot of color-grading effects in comparison). Has a proxy workflow, though it's not as good as Kdenlive either. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Simple (free) video editor without watermark?
    Shotcut is the one I use for quick edits https://shotcut.org/. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Shotcut

9 Best Adobe Premiere Pro Alternatives in 2022 (FREE & Online)
While Shotcut might not have the bells and whistles of some of the other Premiere Pro alternatives, it’s still a great performing video editor with compositing features as well as effects, transitions, and filters for more in-depth editing work.
Windows Best Video Editing Software
Shotcut is a cross-platform, open-source video editor with a large library of tutorial videos. It also works with FFmpeg, 4K, ProRes, and DNxHD, among other formats. However, because Shotcut was created for Linux, some users may find the interface a little strange. Regardless, it’s still a fantastic editor.
Best Free and Open Source Alternatives to Corel VideoStudio Pro
Shotcut is another powerful cross-platform video editor. Like Kdenlive it’s based on the awesome FFmpeg libraries and therefore supports hundreds of audio and video formats.
CapCut for PC - 8 Alternatives to CapCut for PC and Online
What’s more, Shotcut can change the speed of the video and audio clips, reverse, trim, rotate video, create picture-in-picture and split-screen videos, record voiceovers, and more. In general, Shotcut is a great alternative to CapCut for PC.
8 Adobe Premiere/Kdenlive/OpenShot Alternatives in 2019 - Pros, Cons and Price
When it comes to find an alternative to Adobe Premiere, many people would think of Shotcut first. Shotcut is an open source and free video editor, which is available on Windows, Mac and Linux platforms. It supports hundreds of video and audio formats, music, text and effects.
Best Free Video Editing Software for Linux
Shotcut and Kdenlive are disgracefully unstable and can’t be used in any professional sense. I do wish I could get Resolve working on my system, but for now I’ll be trying out Lightworks. I’ve lost too much time trying to work with Kdenlive and Shotcut. If you work with video on your daily driver these applications really aren’t stable enough to even consider using.
The Complete List of Video Marketing Tools (Updated for 2022)
ShotCut is an open-source, free, cross-platform video editing software solution with decent, full-packed features. You can edit high-resolution video on this tool hassle-free. Another great feature of this video editing software is that you don’t need to import your video into the editor, allowing you to save a lot of time.

Do you know an article comparing Shotcut to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.