Software Alternatives & Reviews

Ruby on Rails

Ruby on Rails is an open source full-stack web application framework for the Ruby programming...

We recommend LibHunt Ruby for discovery and comparisons of trending Ruby projects. Also, to find more open-source ruby alternatives, you can check out libhunt.com/r/rails

Developer Tools Web Framework Frameworks (Full Stack) Ruby Web Framework Ruby MVC Framework

Ruby on Rails Reviews and details

Ruby on Rails Landing Page
Ruby on Rails Landing Page

Videos

Ruby On Rails Biggest Waste Of Time In 2020 | Ruby on Rails Dead

Ruby on Rails Tutorial | Build a Book Review App - Part 1

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Ruby on Rails and what they use it for.
  • 9 Must-Know Web Development Languages in 2023
    Ruby on Rails is a popular web application framework built on top of Ruby, making it easier and faster to build web applications. Source: 5 days ago
  • 4 Essential Security Tools To Level Up Your Rails Security
    At FastRuby.io we love Ruby on Rails because it is so powerful: You can quickly create an application that is feature complete, stable, and secure. - Source: dev.to / 26 days ago
  • Why is setting up a new project with multiple technologies so difficult?
    Take a look at the Ruby on Rails website. The very first thing on their landing page is "Compress the complexity of modern web apps.", it also has "Optimized for happiness." up there so you bet it's designed to be easy, simple and fun. Source: 13 days ago
  • Why is setting up a new project with multiple technologies so difficult?
    Try https://rubyonrails.org/ for a breath of fresh air. Source: 13 days ago
  • How to Take Advantage of the GitHub Student Developer Pack
    A good way to learn to code is by reading and writing a lot of code. And GoRails helps you on the reading front, as you're essentially watching somebody build software. You'll notice certain interesting decisions and patterns, which can become options for you when building your own software. GoRails has a lot of videos covering various aspects of Rails, and you get 12 months free plus an invite to their private... - Source: dev.to / 24 days ago
  • Accounting API possible/efficient?
    Put simply, yes. What are you waiting for? Go explore! Source: 25 days ago
  • Can't get Rails 7 turbo_stream_from to update view from broadcast
    I just followed the guide on rubyonrails.org. You've got me thinking though... I'm not loading frontend assets the way Rails 7 would expect me to. Source: 26 days ago
  • Should I learn python, javascript or java first?
    Start here https://guides.rubyonrails.org/getting_started.html and report back. I want to know how you did! There's a 30 minute video on the main site here https://rubyonrails.org that might work better if you're a audio/visual learner. Source: about 1 month ago
  • My SaaS makes $50K MRR and is built on vanilla Ruby on Rails and jQuery
    Can't speak for them, but it feels like every mature language/runtime out there has a framework or two that are popular. Ruby has Rails: https://rubyonrails.org/ Python has Django: https://www.djangoproject.com/ Node has Express: https://expressjs.com/ PHP has Laravel: https://laravel.com/ Java has Spring (nowadays Spring Boot in particular): https://spring.io/ .NET has ASP.NET:... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • Experienced dev looking for a good start
    A good first step is checking out https://rubyonrails.org/, watching the video, etc. It gives a great whirlwind tour of a lot of the highlights. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Ask HN: Advice for (probable) final career language change
    I would suggest that the Rails scene is at least worth checking out. I’ve seen a number of people move from .NET or Node to Ruby and Rails and thoroughly enjoy it, with little desire to go back. For reference, the last 12 years I’ve worked for a company that was traditionally .NET. In the past few years, we’ve been choosing Rails instead. Once you know its conventions, you can really fly. It’s very mature and... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • Is Ruby on Rails still in demand?I see very few companies using it.Is it used in big tech companies like Google,Amazon,Facebook,Microsoft?
    Scroll down a little on their site, and you'll see some (huge) companies that use it: https://rubyonrails.org/. Source: about 1 month ago
  • What professions use Ruby?
    All of the examples I gave use Rails. It's a web app framework that uses Ruby for the backend and Turbo for the default frontend, but it integrates very nicely with a number of other frontend frameworks- Twitch uses React. Source: about 2 months ago
  • Adding a dash of AJAX to Rails 7: Am I doing it right?
    This is the old school way of doing it. I think the video on the homepage of https://rubyonrails.org/ has a nice example using hotwire. Source: about 2 months ago
  • Hey guys, just getting into programming and wanted to know if anyone has any tips or resources for learning Ruby as a beginner. Thanks in advance!
    After that, I recommend starting with Ruby on Rails, the framework you'll use most likely as a professional Ruby developer. For this, I recommend starting with The Agile Web Development with Rails book and also Michael Hartl's Rails Tutorial book. These two should give you a good introduction to Rails. Finally, for a deeper understanding, I recommend reading the latest edition of The Rails Way by Obie Fernandez. Source: 2 months ago
  • Metaprogramming in Ruby: Intermediate Level
    It is very seldom the case that metaprogramming is the only answer to a given problem. The notable exception to this would be if you wanted to write a domain-specific language (DSL) or framework, such as Rails. In that case, yes, you’ll probably be living and breathing metaprogramming. - Source: dev.to / 2 months ago
  • Looking for backend solutions (mobile web app)
    Your requirements are a perfect use case for using Ruby on Rails. A relations database sounds appropriate as well and RoR supports Postgres out of the box. It also takes care a lot of your concerns like security, stability and productivity. Source: 3 months ago
  • I think I messed up my CS degree. I am about to graduate and don't feel like I know anything. What do I do?
    If you want to do web apps, I'd recommend Django (a python framework) https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/4.1/, but you can do Rails, or Phoenix, or Spring Boot, or whatever. It doesn't terribly matter *which* one you do, as they share characteristics, and, chances are, your company will be using a different one :). Just pick one and go. You can do it. You know a lot more than you think. Source: 3 months ago
  • 7 Best Ruby Gems for Ruby on Rails Web Development
    Ruby on Rails is a powerful web development framework that has been widely used for building robust and scalable web applications. With the help of Ruby gems, developers can easily enhance the functionality and capabilities of their Rails applications. In this blog post, we'll discuss the 7 best Ruby gems for Ruby on Rails web development. Source: 3 months ago
  • Intro to Nest.js 🪺
    It supports REST and GraphQL APIs out of the box, or you might use it to build a Full Stack application using the model view controller pattern, aka MVC), similar to frameworks like Laravel or ruby on rails, and it contains a ton of built-in modules to work with databases, handle security, implement streaming and anything else you can imagine doing in a Server side application. - Source: dev.to / 5 months ago
  • What is Ruby on Rails?
    Ruby on Rails is a powerful and flexible framework that makes it easy for developers to build web applications. With its ease of use, rapid development, scalability, and large community, it's no wonder that Ruby on Rails is so popular among web developers. If you're looking to start building web applications, Ruby on Rails is definitely worth checking out! - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Ruby on Rails

Top 10 Phoenix Framework Alternatives
While modern frameworks try to minimize the tradeoffs to a limited extent, none of them has come closer to the implementation of the Phoenix Framework, which offers Ruby on Rails levels of productivity while being one of the fastest frameworks available in the market.
10 Ruby on Rails Alternatives For Web Development in 2022
Once a prolific web development technology, in 2021, both Ruby and Ruby on Rails are considered dying technologies. The data speaks for itself. In October 2021, Ruby lost 3 ranks in the Tiobe Index compared to October 2020 and became the 16th most searched programming language. The same decline in Ruby on Rails popularity is demonstrated by Google Trends. The language significantly lost rating starting with 66...
Get Over Ruby on Rails — 3 Alternative Web Frameworks Worth Checking Out
Disclaimer: I started working on this article before the big controversy about Basecamp happened. I don’t want to make any point about this in the article. Regardless of what DHH and others are saying on different topics, Ruby on Rails is still a great piece of software and will continue to be. But there are some great alternatives as well that I would like to highlight.
16 Best Ruby Frameworks For Web Development
Ruby on Rails is regarded as one of the best ruby frameworks. It was the primary language in developing big projects such as Twitter and helped the language boost the community. Often referred to as “Rails,” Ruby on Rails is a web development framework with an MVC control structure and currently running its 6.1 version. The 16-year-old language has dramatically influenced the web development structures and...
Best backend technologies to use in 2019
Ruby on Rails development is very fast, which makes it exceptionally good for startups. It’s created on the MVC (Model-View-Controller) attitude, which makes even the most complicated applications easy to extend with new features or business logic. Alike Django, there are some really astonishing examples of Ruby on Rails in action, which makes it a trustworthy framework.

Do you know an article comparing Ruby on Rails to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Generic Ruby on Rails discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Ruby on Rails. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.