Software Alternatives & Reviews

Ruby on Rails Reviews

Ruby on Rails is an open source full-stack web application framework for the Ruby programming...

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Ruby on Rails and what they use it for.
  • How to set up Ruby on Rails with Tailwind CSS and Flowbite
    Ruby on Rails is an open-source full-stack web application framework that runs server-side written in Ruby and built by the creators of Basecamp based on a model-view-controller architecture. - Source: dev.to / 3 days ago
  • Week of Java: Part 4: A Multi-layer Core for Your Function
    This interface defines the basic CRUD capabilities that any entity should provide. This contract is based on frameworks like Loopback, Django RF, RoR and Spring. The Service.kt looks something like:. - Source: dev.to / 14 days ago
  • Show HN: A tool that shows the stable version number for frameworks/libraries
    - Rails: if you google Ruby on Rails, the special card on the right will tell you the latest version is 7.0.2.3, but according to https://rubyonrails.org, it's now 7.0.2.4 already One other thing I want to mention: Clicking search results on the homepage takes you to a dedicated page. There, you will see an email signup form. I put it there in order to see actual interest: if people sign up, that's the best... - Source: Hacker News / 22 days ago
  • What is Nokogiri?
    >> rails = Nokogiri::HTML5(URI('https://rubyonrails.org')) => #(Document:0x1f1bc { ... >> headline = rails.css('div.heading__headline') => [# >> puts headline.text Compress the complexity of modern web apps. Learn just what you need to get started, then keep leveling up as you go. Ruby on Rails scales from HELLO WORLD to IPO. You’re in good company. Over the past two decades,... - Source: dev.to / 22 days ago
  • What is the fastest way to learn ruby and ruby on rails?
    Https://rubyonrails.org/. It’s all there and free. Follow the guides, and create an app. - Source: Reddit / 24 days ago
  • How to Use a Javascript Reporting Tool with Ruby on Rails
    The following content assumes that you have Ruby on Rails installed on your machine. If you don't have it, you can obtain it from the Ruby on Rails website. It would be best if you also had ActiveReportsJS installed on your machine. If you don't have it, you can obtain it from the ActiveReportsJS website. - Source: dev.to / 28 days ago
  • Rework, what I learned
    This book is written by the founders of Basecamp and Hey, Jason Fried and David Heinemeier Hansson (aka DHH). DHH is also the creator of the Ruby on Rails. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • A Look at Rails Hotwire: Turbo Drive
    When the Turbolinks technology first came out in Rails 4, some people did not understand what it was really about. I happened to get it right away only because I personally implemented my own version of Turbo Drive for one of my client projects before Turbolinks was released (around 2012), so I really appreciated Turbolinks when it was released. With the latest updates in Rails 7, the Turbolinks technology has... - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Building a dynamic staging platform
    Like many Ruby on Rails apps, we use background jobs in Aha! To help provide a robust and responsive user interface. We use Resque backed by Redis for queuing up these jobs in the web app for subsequent processing by worker processes. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Noob friendly deployment
    For development, it'd be worth using an existing framework https://rubyonrails.org/. It does the heavy lifting for routing and db interactions. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Ruby on Rails

10 Ruby on Rails Alternatives For Web Development in 2022
Once a prolific web development technology, in 2021, both Ruby and Ruby on Rails are considered dying technologies. The data speaks for itself. In October 2021, Ruby lost 3 ranks in the Tiobe Index compared to October 2020 and became the 16th most searched programming language. The same decline in Ruby on Rails popularity is demonstrated by Google Trends. The language significantly lost rating starting with 66...
Get Over Ruby on Rails — 3 Alternative Web Frameworks Worth Checking Out
Disclaimer: I started working on this article before the big controversy about Basecamp happened. I don’t want to make any point about this in the article. Regardless of what DHH and others are saying on different topics, Ruby on Rails is still a great piece of software and will continue to be. But there are some great alternatives as well that I would like to highlight.
16 Best Ruby Frameworks For Web Development
Ruby on Rails is regarded as one of the best ruby frameworks. It was the primary language in developing big projects such as Twitter and helped the language boost the community. Often referred to as “Rails,” Ruby on Rails is a web development framework with an MVC control structure and currently running its 6.1 version. The 16-year-old language has dramatically influenced the web development structures and...
Best backend technologies to use in 2019
Ruby on Rails development is very fast, which makes it exceptionally good for startups. It’s created on the MVC (Model-View-Controller) attitude, which makes even the most complicated applications easy to extend with new features or business logic. Alike Django, there are some really astonishing examples of Ruby on Rails in action, which makes it a trustworthy framework.

Do you know an article comparing Ruby on Rails to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.