Software Alternatives & Reviews

ProtonMail Reviews

Secure email with absolutely no compromises. Get your free encrypted email account today.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    A great product made by a great team

    Protonmail is the best secure email solution period, other products in the suite such as ProtonVPN and hopefully soon Drive and Calendar will finally make it the perfect Gsuite alternative.

    🏁 Competitors: G Suite, Microsoft Office 365
    👍 Pros:    Encryption|Easy to use|Excellent features|Easy integration
    👎 Cons:    None

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about ProtonMail and what they use it for.
  • An updated Proton is coming – here’s what’s changing
    Will proton.me address always be linked with protonmail.com address even if some accounts are dead? I am kinda angry I didn't get my email address as simple as first and last name. - Source: Reddit / about 20 hours ago
  • PM down?
    I'm also in the USA. Protonmail continues to be inaccessible for me too from the computer (no VPN). I'm getting connection timed out errors for any services in the protonmail.com domain. I have tried other computer and browser combinations and get the same error. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • Changed phone number after two step authentication and can’t get into my dang account
    If you value your email, QUIT GMAIL and look at other alternatives like mail.com , protonmail.com or even good old yahoo mail. For 2FA use Authy.com which can be setup on multiple devices unlike Google Authenticator. GMAIL SUCKS. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • One benefit of switching to ProtonMail that's completely unrelated to privacy is the fact I finally have an email address that's just [myname]@emailprovider
    If the user claimed the proton.me domain, it can't be taken by someone else. So protonmail.com and protonmail.ch can not be claimed one the account gets deactivated. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Sticking with my new email services provider (ProtonMail) despite the free legacy gsuite continuation announcement
    I was going to post a walkthrough guide to my move to ProtonMail, still might, but here the point is I won't undo that. I'm happy that I could have continued with Google Workspace and a sensible decision has occurred. However, it's too late for me and I won't move my email & calendar back for now. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Different domains and multiple mails?
    Hello! In ProtonMail, you currently have the option of creating additional addresses using four different domains. They are protonmail.com, pm.me, protonmail.ch, and proton.me. On the ProtonMail Professional plan, you get 10 additional addresses (aliases) for your original account, plus an additional 5 per each user you purchase. - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • WHY I QUIT GMAIL
    Truly desperate step by Gmail by banning protonmail.com I quit Gmail ages ago. I am on yahoo mail now and couple of mail.com and Yahoo.com as alternatives. Quitting Gmail wasn't an option but a reality that they never respond to restore your account and if you travel to many counties like I do, consider your email as garbage as they will ban it unless they sign you will same id, same machine, same location every... - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • Someone cancelled our exam and our professor gave us all a 0
    Lol, this is why we need public key encrypted email. protonmail.com you guys. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • I'm not sure if I can switch to ProtonMail as my primary email because of this issue
    Sorry, this support response is incorrect. The vast, vast majority of mail to Gmail from ProtonMail's domains (protonmail.com, protonmail.ch, pm.me, and proton.me) get delivered to inbox, and we are working with Gmail's delivery team to improve this all the time. - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago
  • Support Page - Tricking customers to use Zendesk support with warning message removed completely and option to contact directly using Proton Mail gone! This is low and cheap!
    If you'd like to avoid contacting us through Zendesk, you can still contact us at [email protected] or [email protected] which are both shown on our websites: in the support article shared above as well as in the bottom sections of our websites, where all the other contacts are located. On https://protonmail.com, please scroll down and click on "Show email" (next to "General"). On https://protonvpn.com... - Source: Reddit / 13 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of ProtonMail

CTemplar Email Shutting Down – Try These Alternatives
As we noted in the ProtonMail review, every email provider must comply with government laws and regulations in the country in which it operates. ProtonMail sells itself as a private email service, but ProtonMail also logs users for various government entities.
The BEST Email Hosting Providers for Small Business in 2021
ProtonMail is an easy-to-use, secure email service with built-in end-to-end encryption and state-of-the-art security features. ProtonMail put an emphasis on internet security and its goal is to build an internet that respects privacy and is secure against cyberattacks. They are a company committed to developing and distributing tools that are essential to the protection of our online data. They are constantly...
ProtonMail Compares Apple to Mafia, Says App Was Forced Into In-App Purchases in 2018
Apple apparently told ProtonMail "out of the blue" that it was required to add an in-app purchase option to stay in the ‌App Store‌. Similar to the situations with HEY and Wordpress earlier this year, ProtonMail had a mention of paid plans in the app, which prompted Apple to ask for the same subscription options to be offered via in-app purchase.
15 Best Email Hosting for Small Business (2019)
ProtonMail is the world’s largest secure email service. It is an open source software funded by the community. It does not show ads or tracking your data. Revenue from paid accounts is used to develop ProtonMail and support free users, including democracy activists and dissidents.

Do you know an article comparing ProtonMail to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.