Software Alternatives & Reviews

Prettier Reviews

An opinionated code formatter

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Prettier and what they use it for.
  • Understanding the Modern Web Stack: Prettier
    Prettier in their own words is an opinionated code formatter for Javascript. What this means is that although it is configurable to some degree, the majority of the decisions it makes about how your code should be formatted are automatic and built into the tool itself. - Source: dev.to / 2 days ago
  • Refactoring and Git Rebase
    To practice, I worked on refactoring my dodo-SSG project in a new branch that I called refactoring. I started by fixing the code format from previous contributions using prettier. I then changed the code to get rid of global variables. To do that, I had to split up some code into separate smaller functions. At each of these steps, I created a new commit to make sure I could easily go back to the previous version... - Source: dev.to / 4 days ago
  • The history and reasons behind CORS, and how to use it
    Author here! I used to have strong feelings about formatting stuff like this, but I since realised there are better things to spend effort on. For formatting, I just let https://prettier.io/ do it's thing, and it added the />. Although I do configure it to use single quotes in JS, so I guess I still have some opinion there. In terms of HTML, how far does your "but it isn't necessary" opinion go? Lots of closing... - Source: Hacker News / 6 days ago
  • Library to format JSON with PHP
    I currently use json_encode($text, JSON_PRETTY_PRINT) which is really great, but I need a bit more flexibility, or something more sensible like https://prettier.io/. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • C# Linting and Formatting Tools in 2021
    The JavaScript ecosystem has amazing tools for formatting and statically analyzing your code: Prettier and ESLint. Both tools have nearly universal adoption and deliver significant value. - Source: dev.to / 16 days ago
  • Setup ESLINT and PRETTIER in React app
    Prettier is an opinionated code formatter which is compatible with most of the languages. It saves a lot of time. It quickly indents our code on save (depends on VSCode/editor settings). - Source: dev.to / 25 days ago
  • It's too peaceful here, let's start a flame war
    Depends a bit on your stack, but when working with js/ts, prettier is the go-to formatter (black for python), and husky is the go-to pre-commit hook tool. I'm fairly confident all major IDEs will have support for format on save. If your IDE doesn't, maybe google it and see if another IDE with support for it exists. Ususally, there will at least be a plugin/extension for it. In the case it doesn't exist - really,... - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Prettier, ESLint and Typescript
    The first tool I want to explore is Prettier. I would leave it to you to read more about what it is but, in short, it is a code formatter. What does it mean? It means that it will keep your codebase consistent (in terms of coding style). Do you use ;? If yes, it will ensure that all your files have it, for example. I like it for two reasons: we barely have to discuss code formatting and it is easy to onboard new... - Source: dev.to / 29 days ago
  • Collaborating via Github
    It took me some time to go through Hung's code and to clearly understand all the logic behind it. Since the beginning of my studies at Seneca, I have done a lot of code writing but very little code reading. Everyone has a different coding style so I understand why big projects tend to use clear guidelines when it comes to code formatting (for example using Prettier). - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • JSLint Error: Expected one space between ',' and 'playerOptions'
    It looks like you're using a very opinionated code style linter that doesn't just autofix your code for you. I would advise you to use prettier as it will automatically format your code in a consistent style, and eslint for linting other code quality issues as it is by far the most popular linter for JS today. However these are very subjective opinions and I'm sure some will disagree with me. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

Do you know an article comparing Prettier to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.