Software Alternatives & Reviews

Piwigo.org Reviews

Manage your photo collection with Piwigo. Piwigo is open source photo gallery software for the web. Designed for organisations, teams and individuals.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Piwigo.org and what they use it for.
  • Web image gallery for a giant library?
    Piwigo has a few demo galleries to test it out before installing. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • self hosted 360 image library
    I use a docker image of https://piwigo.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • alternatives to photoprism ?
    I’ve used Piwigo for years. It has lots of organization options and user support. It also has a very capable mobile app. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Photo management app for existing folder
    I looked around for ages for something with the ability to import images from an existing file structure and the best thing I could find was Piwigo. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Google Photos alternative with (good) facial recognition?
    PyWigo doesn't seem to have facial recognition. Doesn't look great, IMO. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Baby photos
    In that case, cloud services like Nextcloud(8gb), Filen(10gb), and Image only services like ente.io, crypt.ee , Photoprism , Piwigo are a no-brainer. (all of them are listed at privacytools.io). - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • What do I need to know before publishing a website portfolio?
    I use the open source photo management software called Piwigo. I use to use Flickr because that is where the majority of my photos are right now and I didn't want anything fancy. But with Flickr closing down soon (unless you but a premium package) I started looking for something that was similar in appearance. Piwigo has been around for more than a decade only I just learned about it now. You can configure... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • A list of alternatives to Google products. Privacy tips, tricks, and links
    I've been looking myself. What I have in my notes as the best option so far is tied between: - PhotoPrism - https://photoprism.app/ - Piwigo - https://piwigo.org/ PhotoPrism seems a lot more polished and has some face/location tagging that sounds useful (I make frequent use of the search feature in Google Photos and will likely miss that feature the most). While both have their own upload system internally,... - Source: Hacker News / 9 months ago
  • Files – Single-file photo gallery and file manager
    Two more noteworthy alternatives that focus on photo gallery: * https://github.com/bpatrik/PiGallery2/ * https://piwigo.org/ I’m using the first one as personal album and it works very well, including things like infinite scroll and link-based album sharing. The latter is more sophisticated and has a native accompanying app but I found pigallery easier to work with. - Source: Hacker News / 10 months ago
  • Photo ordering software for a photographer
    Piwigo with extensions may have at least some of these features. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Piwigo.org

20+ Picasa Alternatives And Best Similar Apps Like Picasa 2022
It has over 17 years of history, which is more than can be said of the comparatively recent cloud solutions that most mobile phones default to now. Piwigo has a mobile app, too, so you can sync straight from your phone.
10+ Best Free and Open Source PHP Image Gallery Scripts
Piwigo is photo gallery software for the web, built by an active community of users and developers. It is written in PHP and requires a MySQL database. Extensions make Piwigo easily customizable. Piwigo offers a wide set of features for any photo gallery. Icing on the cake, Piwigo is free and opensource.
6 Best Web Photo Gallery Solutions
To provide an insight into the quality of software that is available, we have compiled a list of 6 of the most useful open source web photo gallery software. Hopefully, there will be something of interest here for anyone who wants to host and share their photos. We give our strongest recommendation to Piwigo, Coppermine and Zenphoto but each of the solutions has something to offer.
Best Self-Hosted Photo and Video Galleries
Piwigo can automatically add a watermark on all photos, describe photos with tags, create a photo calendar using extracted Exif metadata, and resize photos for improved compatibility with various screen resolutions. Piwigo can be easily extended with plugins, and there are various themes provided both by the project community and the developers.

Do you know an article comparing Piwigo.org to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.