Software Alternatives & Reviews

Nextcloud

With Nextcloud enterprises host their own secure cloud solution for storage, collaboration & communication from any device, anywhere.

Cloud Storage File Sharing Encrypted Cloud Storage

Nextcloud Reviews and details

Nextcloud Landing Page
Nextcloud Landing Page

Videos

Here are 5 Reasons I ❤️ Nextcloud | TLG

Pros and Cons of NextCloud

Nextcloud is AWESOME... but?

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Nextcloud and what they use it for.
  • ?Best LLM service for a tiny home server
    My plan is to make a home-server by putting a Google Coral M.2 Accelerator in an m92p tiny thinkstation (after I've given it a Xeon E3-1265L V2 and 32gb of DDR3 RAM ofc, annnd once I connect the M.2(E) to the mini-PCIe socket and get past the BIOS whitelisting :facepalm: might take me a year to get around to, but heck when I do, I'll be the queen of 2015!). The only other things I want to serve are a 3-user... Source: about 3 hours ago
  • How much storage can I get on gmail?
    Nextcloud ( Alternative to Google Drive/Dropbox ) = https://nextcloud.com/ ( € 5/user/year ). Source: 3 days ago
  • What would you do with 10-20 HP EliteDesks?
    Could dedicate 2 of them to home server stuff or smart home automations. Pihole, docker, plex, nextcloud etc. Source: 6 days ago
  • I created UltimateHomeServer - A K3s based all-in-one home server solution
    A couple additiona maybe?: - Piwigo great for photo management. Could be used as an alternative to Google Photos - Nexcloud for file sharing. Replacement for Google Drive. Source: 9 days ago
  • ⟳ 3 apps added, 54 updated at f-droid.org
    Nextcloud Dev (version 20230527): Synchronization client. Source: 8 days ago
  • What is a good alternative to google maps timeline?
    As you are planning for degoogle, I would suggest Nextcloud + Les Pas for similar map timeline function. There is a short footage on Les Pas's link demonstrates it. Plus, Nextcloud will bring you contact, calendar sync and advanced group collaboration too. Source: 11 days ago
  • Looking for a Feature-Rich, Self-Hosted Note-Taking and Productivity App - Need Recommendations!
    While considering alternatives, I thought about DokuWiki, which looks like an unlikely solution, and Nextcloud, which I've already used in the past. Both seem a good option in their own right, though I favor Nextcloud because it's a more direct approach. However, I'm inclined towards a solution that's leaner and less bloated. Nevertheless, if any of those is the one that is most likely to solve my dilemma, I'm... Source: 16 days ago
  • Best Storage Solutions 2023
    We use Amazon S3 storage and https://nextcloud.com/ for the interface. It’s a good setup especially for the price, scales to fit your needs and is very customizable but does require some expertise to set up and manage. Source: 24 days ago
  • Image delivery for weddings
    I can suggest 3 options. * Photoview - It is like a gallery with recursive folder structure (folders inside folders) support. You can create shareable links for the folders, with password protection. The UI is great. And your clients will be able to download the complete folder, also individual images at either full resolution or reduced. The issue is you cannot use the UI to add or delete photos, but it can be a... Source: 29 days ago
  • ⟳ 0 apps added, 53 updated at f-droid.org
    Nextcloud Dev (version 20230505): Synchronization client. Source: 29 days ago
  • PHP-FPM 8.1 on OpenBSD 7.3
    The core package is offered as pre-compiled binary through Ports packages system. In addition, important softwares such as extensions, Composer and PECL libraries are available. So are frameworks such as NextCloud and Zabbix. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Web based file sharing
    I think something like Nextcloud might suit your use case. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Help make mass surveillance of entire populations uneconomical
    Thanks to this article I learned about Nextcloud[0], which at first glance looks like a really nice self-hostable alternative to the Google Suite. [0]https://nextcloud.com. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • ⟳ 4 apps added, 56 updated at f-droid.org
    Nextcloud Dev (version 20230427): Synchronization client. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Photos: nextcloud? Immich?
    I have tried A LOT of solutions and I finally stopped after using Nextcloud and Photoview. I synchronise files from my computer to Nextcloud using rclone and view them on Photoview whenever I need. You can sync to you nextcloud using their official app on phone. I use Photoview because I have not found a single self-hosted solution that keeps the folder structure and lets me view them as both, in folder structures... Source: about 1 month ago
  • Today is nine years since the last major release of Apache OpenOffice
    There is OnlyOffice which can be installed alongside NextCloud, if you have the patience to get them set up together, and it's kinda like a self-hosted Google Docs. Fair warning though, OnlyOffice can be a bit of a pain in the ass to get going, but once it's set up it works okay.. usually. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Seeking Advice and Collaboration for an Open-Source Worker Cooperative Platform Project
    Nextcloud is the best opensource IT suite for standard office needs, like document and file sharing, email, group calander, etc. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Recommendations for a simple, on-premise document control system?
    I would definitely go for Nextcloud, also has document versioning baked in so you can always go back in time to see a previous document revision, and above all you can customize employee access in a hierarchical way, group them, and so on. I think it has all you need and more for such scenario. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Best software tools you would recommend to help run a startup?
    Nextcloud costs as little as $5/mo to self-host (Digital Ocean offers a 1-click install in its app marketplace), and the free plugins cover pretty much all the basics, with some OTP plugins making it comparable to subscription tiers of services like Trello. Source: about 2 months ago
  • ⟳ 1 apps added, 28 updated at f-droid.org
    Nextcloud Dev (version 20230417): Synchronization client. Source: about 2 months ago
  • 1 TB server help
    You may want to consider getting another SBC or mini pc, installing Linux and Nextcloud / file browser on that. Source: about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Nextcloud

20+ Picasa Alternatives And Best Similar Apps Like Picasa 2022
Nextcloud is far more than a photo hosting application and the best Picasa alternative, but its photo management stands out thanks to phone apps you can use for opt-in synchronization. Instead of sending your pictures to Google Photos or Apple cloud storage, you can send them to your Nextcloud install.
6 cPanel Alternatives
Nextcloud was forked from ownCloud in 2016. They share mostly the same native features and workflow. However, Nextcloud is more popular for a few notable reasons.
5 open source webmail clients for browser-based email
The mail plugin doesn't provide a mail server. It's just a webmail client, but it connects to a variety of mail systems. If you run Nextcloud on a server you have sudo or root access to, it's possible to setup Postfix or a similar mail server, and use the Nextcloud mail app as the front end. Best of all, Nextcloud devs have refrained from reinventing the wheel, and use libraries from the popular Horde mail client.
Top 10 Team Chat Software for a Self-Hosted environment specifically designed for Large Enterprises
The self-hosted collaboration tool built for protecting the user data through multiple layers of security offers a wide range of products like Nextcloud Files, Nextcloud Talk, Nextcloud Groupware, Nextcloud at home, and industry solutions. Nextcloud says, ‘control is key to data’. To ensure this, it implements the authentication mechanisms of SAML, Kerberos, and LDAP. It’s an open-source application with the code...
16 Tresorit Alternatives
Nextcloud is a Free and Open Source Application that offers similar functionality to Dropbox. It is a file hosting platform that allows you to upload any files and share them with others. It gives them the option of sharing files and folders with friends or co-workers with the help of advanced privacy settings.

Do you know an article comparing Nextcloud to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Generic Nextcloud discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Nextcloud. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.