Software Alternatives & Reviews

NeutralinoJS Reviews

Neutralino is a lightweight application development framework.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    A very lightweight alternative to electronJS or NWJS

    I have previously created small desktop apps in electron and NW. These were functionally strong, but extremely large and had long load times. With neutralino JS I was able to create the same tools with less effort (both in creation and compilation). I was able to reduce the size of the tools from >300 MB to under 3 MB. Neutralino JS is clearly the better choice for me.

    🏁 Competitors: Electron, NW.js
    πŸ‘ Pros:    Very lightweight|Easy to use
    πŸ‘Ž Cons:    Documentation could be stronger|Limited functionality, at the moment

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about NeutralinoJS and what they use it for.
  • BuildZri-package (neutralinojs): No rule to make target 'install'. Stop.
    I'm trying to package NeutralinoJS with the following derivation:. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Tauri vs. Electron – Real world application
    And https://neutralino.js.org/ Their exciting part is > You can extend Neutralinojs with any programming language (via extensions IPC) and use Neutralinojs as a part of any source file (via child processes IPC). still: > Neutralinojs doesn't bundle Chromium and uses the existing web browser library in the operating system (Eg: gtk-webkit2 on Linux). Neutralinojs implements a WebSocket connection for native... - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • p8modem - General-purpose WebSocket "modem" for PICO-8
    This is very nice!, Now I'm wondering if there is enough here to communicate with https://neutralino.js.org/ which can do more heavy lifting. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • I built my own Front-end Library/Language, you should too..
    You can glean from it, and create your own version like I did, for example I created petal to use with neutralino js - alternative to electron and very light, a webview lib to build desktop apps with JS, because of the way I handle mounting and the like , I did not implement the diffing algorithm yet, but will for maximum performance, for now it works well, because you can create a VDOM in a promise in petal, as... - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • Creating completely offline web app
    Electron is 'heavy', but this is basically exactly what it was designed for. Electron has alternatives like Neutralinojs, and NWjs. Alternatively, there is Flutter - it's not exactly what you're asking for, but it is very web like, and would be a very strong candidate for this use case. Pick your poison really. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Tauri 1.0 – Electron Alternative Powered by Rust
    The other lightweight alternative to Electron is Neutralino.js: https://neutralino.js.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Is this normal?
    Electron bundles both Chromium and Node.js in with it which causes massively unnecessary bundle sizes and adds hundreds of dependencies. This is unnecessary when plenty of alternatives such as Neutralino seem to manage to get past this problem. Not to mention the difference in performance. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Neutralinojs - Alternativa para o Electron
    Site oficial Comparativos Neutralino vs Electron Setup and build the framework. - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • Which language to use along with Python ?
    You might wanna look into either Neutralinojs or tauri, both platform agnostic web-based gui frameworks. I use Tauri right now because I can integrate it with rust easily but I used neutralino in the past, it's slightly easier to get started with imo. Both are very light-weight fast options though, and both are really easily extensible with a static web server (if you wanna do it through python, fastapi would be... - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Tauri – Electron alternative written in Rust
    Sure, but Neutralino[1] already does this, it's just not Written in Rustβ„’ [1] https://neutralino.js.org/. - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago

Do you know an article comparing NeutralinoJS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.