Software Alternatives & Reviews

Neocities Reviews

Create your own free website. Unlimited creativity, zero ads.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Neocities and what they use it for.
  • What’s the best tool to make a web for a school project?
    There's a site called neocities.org. It's a reboot of good old Yahoo! Geocities. It lets you host static html and css files for free. People create basic websites with it, and there's also a community that creates retro sites like we used to do in the late 90's. There are some really interesting and weird websites hosted in there. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • What if we re-build a 2000's Internet?
    Neocities: Personal website creator, most people use it for 90's style websites. - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • for my fellow filthy casuals
    Also, if you don't mind dealing with raw html, neocities.org offers free simple web hosting for static sites like this. - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • Bring back personal blogging
    In the meantime, neocites is free, has tutorials, and has a mobile site that doesn’t look like hot garbage. Setting up your own site is a little time-consuming, but it’s rewarding to have your own special place to yell about your bullshit in whatever fonts you want. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • This person's website hurts my eyes
    Neocities (where the site is being hosted) is a goldmine for stuff like this, just search up sites tagged 'system'. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Show HN: Pressn't, a site where you can only have a single post
    And it lives on in design at least through NeoCities [1] [1] - https://neocities.org/. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • Building a website like it's 1999... in 2022 - localghost
    Build your own free website Https://neocities.org/ Theres a webring full of original content to be found Make the web weird again. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Ask HN: Those with money-making side projects,how did you come up with the idea?
    Https://neocities.org I was looking at my old personal web sites after working on a different startup and really felt sad about how gross social media was getting, and how money focused the web was becoming. I wanted to see creative and interesting personal websites again outside of the context of a museum. So I coded up a prototype and, turns out I wasn't the only one interested in that. HN readers did the first... - Source: Hacker News / about 2 months ago
  • The comeback of the Fediverse and the Old Web
    Neocities: they try to bring back the atmosphere or Our old Geocities (believe me, they achieved that goal). - Source: dev.to / 2 months ago
  • Any interest in my garbage newspaper?
    There's a small but decent community of zinesters and alt-web-creators huddled together on Neocities right now. It's not traditional social media by any stretch but you really can find a lot of folks who make cool stuff. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Neocities

If You Want to Leave Twitter Because of Elon Musk, These Are Your Options
Do you miss the old internet, from before Twitter? Enter Neocities, modeled after Geocities, the place where many people still online made their first homes for themselves. Neocities allows every user to create and host their own website, coded in HTML. There’s a kind of passive social aspect to the web host as well. Each site on Neocities is added to a browseable gallery of sites, which also shows you what’s...

Do you know an article comparing Neocities to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.