Software Alternatives & Reviews

MPC-HC Reviews

MPC-HC, the free, open source media player for Windows. DownloadsNote. Supported Operating Systems: Windows® XP SP3 .

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about MPC-HC and what they use it for.
  • Any clean UI/UX video player for windows that's also light weight
    Never anything else than https://mpc-hc.org/. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • Media Player Classic
    Are you getting it from here? https://mpc-hc.org/ I never saw that screen before.. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Is it possible that it's my laptop that somehow can't handle the video "graphics"?
    Alternatively, try media player classic - https://mpc-hc.org/ - a bit outdated, but should work for those files and is more lightweight. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • What’s a movie that ACTUALLY couldn’t get made nowadays?
    Yohoho and a bottle of rum. Also Media Player Classic automatically searches for subtitles. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Lenovo laptops silently stripped of H.264 encoder in BIOS updates
    I used to prefer GOM over VLC due to its much better UX (keyboard interface/hotkeys, playback process, included CoDecs, OSD, options). I used it (also Media Player Classic with K-Light Codec Pack, so lightweight!) for over a decade, but eventually switched to VLC since it has substantially improved over the past couple years. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Hello! Never used my Pc for home theater stuff before and I am having a lot of fun with this. I own an ultrawide and I am wondering If I bought a usb external Blu-ray drive would I use something like VLC to crop out the black bars and put in it proper 21:9?
    Https://mpc-hc.org/ look at the top of the page. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Anyone else having stuttering problems with X265 RARBG movies only?
    Looks like someone else has taken it up. That's pretty cool, though the official website (https://mpc-hc.org) still says development was ended in 2017. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Question regarding new WD Red Plus (WD40EFZX)
    Sorry if it was a bit vague. I'm using MPC-HC, from this website : https://mpc-hc.org/. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Strange Problem with Audio
    Are KMPlayer and VLC only softwares that won't make sound? If so try fully(removing settings files) reinstalling them. (MPC is also popular player so might be worth trying). - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • I’m sure we’ve all heard of both Gandalf the Grey and Gandalf the White, but have you ever been introduced to Gandalf the Blue or Gandalf the Yellow? (AKA The State of AMD Hardware Encoding in Windows for Ryzen 4000 APUs and Radeon RX 5000 and RX 6000 GPUs)
    Awesome! I was going off of the page https://mpc-hc.org/ which says it hasn't been under active development since like 2017. Wonder why they never reached out to the person running that site to take over. Oh well. Thanks for the link. I've been using VLC Player because MPC-BE seems to have borked Windows Media file handling somewhere along the way. VLC Player at least plays like 75% of them correctly but I've just... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of MPC-HC

20 BEST Video Player | Media Players for Windows 10 PC (2021)
MPC-HC (Media Player Classic- Home Cinema) is a light-weight, open-source media player. This tool supports all common video file formats that are available for playback. It does not contain any spyware, toolbar, or advertisement.
15 Best Media Players For Mac and Windows (2021 Edition)
MPC-HC (Media Player Classic Home Cinema) is a light-weight, open source media player that supports almost all common audio and video file formats. It also acts as a TV tuner, but you need to have a TV card installed. You will be able to adjust the appearance of video as it’s playing.
12 best free MPC-HC Alternatives in 2020
MPC-HC has been the music and video player preferred by users for many years and it is common applications to be the most used. Today, MPC-HC is sometimes incompatible with various audio and video formats that are often used. Fortunately, now you will know the best free alternatives to play multimedia content and here are 12 of them.

Do you know an article comparing MPC-HC to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.