Software Alternatives & Reviews
Register   |   Login

mGBA Reviews

mGBA is an open source emulator of the Game Boy Advance. The goals are speed and accuracy.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about mGBA and what they use it for.
  • VisualboyAdvance Problem
    VBA-M or mGBA are the stand alone EMUs you want to use these days. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Haven't heard of this game since yesterday by accident, and decided to give it a shot. I think I'm kinda obsessed with the game. Can't wait to finish it.
    When you finish, you should play the sequel. If you want to play it, then you should download this GBA emulator, Google "Mother 3 GBA ROM" (get the romantic one), and then play the ROM using the emulator. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • Nintendo has to be the most frustrating company when it comes to playing Older titles
    I'd recommend the emulator mGBA. You're on your own for finding the ROMs to use with it though. - Source: Reddit / 30 days ago
  • is mGba safe to download
    It's safe if you download it from the official website : https://mgba.io/ This advice also works for others emulators or anything you download online. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Playing for the first time in a decade and have a few questions
    As for data transfer, the current best GBA emulator is mGBA, which provides very smooth multiplayer. Just open the application, choose "New multiplayer window" (before loading any games), and you would have two windows that are linked. You can now load GS1 in one, and GS2 in the other, and transfer data easily. It's much better than writing down the super-long gold password, while the lower passwords don't... - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • How do I play it if I don't have a GBA?
    If you want to play Mother 3, then you should download this GBA emulator, Google "Mother 3 GBA ROM" (get the romantic one), and then play the ROM using the emulator. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • How to press X and Y buttons using keyboard on VBA?
    You should consider swapping mGBA as this is far more feature rich, actively developed and does not contain a security flaw. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Best Way to Emulate BN & SF Franchise?
    Play the games on the emulator or flashcart! If you want to emulate on a computer, I strongly recommend mGBA, which is currently the best GBA emulator. It's compatible with Windows, macOS, and Ubuntu. If you plan to play on a smartphone, well, I don't have much experience there, but I have heard that there are good emulators for Android, at least (not sure about iOS). For DTDS, I recommend the DeSmuMe emulator.... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • This is just a quick reminder that Earthbound is the greatest game ever invented by man
    If you want to play Mother 3, then you should stay off this subreddit (to avoid spoilers), download this GBA emulator, Google "Mother 3 GBA ROM" (get the romantic one), and then play the ROM using your emulator. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Having difficulty playing Pokemon Fire Red Roms
    Use mGBA https://mgba.io/, make sure you know what files and their types are and how they work. Then make sure you have the right rom with the right filetype. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago

Do you know an article comparing mGBA to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.