Software Alternatives & Reviews

Metacritic Reviews

Metacritic aggregates music, game, tv, and movie reviews from the leading critics. Only Metacritic.com uses METASCORES, which let you know at a glance how each item was reviewed.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Metacritic and what they use it for.
  • What console should I get?
    Go to metacritic.com look at the PS5 and Xbox lists of "best games" do a count of the top 20 for each system and see what system has more games you want to play. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Is there a place that tracks/reports on all new MP game releases?
    Metacritic may be what you're looking for. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Reviews are currently plummeting.
    I think we should always question corporations and whether something is a fluff piece, but I find metacritic.com's critical review scores to be extremely realistic and helpful. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • is strive going to be the last guilty gear?
    Also go to metacritic.com look up metal gear survive, and read the reviews, this is what I meant, if daisuke wanted to retire, got fired, lost his passion, whatever, that's the direction guilty gear could head in. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Missing Keywords "metacritic-must-see" or "certified-fresh"
    Therefore, every movie returned by this filter (currently 169) is missing the must-see keyword. I believe every single one can be verified on metacritic.com. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Borderlands 3 is now free on the Epic Games store until 5/26! Get it now!
    I actually find Steam's overall 'Negative/Positive' to be pretty accurate, but it requires a large sample size. There's of course going to be the trolls and metacritic.com users who lost their way, but on games over a year old, I've found the overall average to be pretty reliable. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • [Elden Ring] Metacritic User-Ratings are up.
    Make your voices heard and share your opinion on the game on metacritic.com. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Discussing a book with it's author. Best way to state I received a copy?
    So, instead, what you do is head over to a site like metacritic.com which aggregates reviews from both critics and players from around the internet so you can get a more honest idea of whether the game is good or bad. Here's an example of that in action. CoD: Black Ops 4 has an average review score of 83 out of 100 from 72 critic reviews, and a 4.0 out of 10 from 1734 user ratings. Of course, that's not perfect... - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Remember
    Metacritic.com is better because they don't do this. RT over inflates scores dramatically. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • I'm sorry to see how the movie is getting a lower and lower score on Rotten Tomatoes...
    On the other hand, the Metascore at metacritic.com has been going up, now at 77. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • The Stadia Metacritic Monitor is now live
    It shows the current number of ratings and reviews for Stadia games on the website metacritic.com with data updated regularly. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • How to enjoy PS2 games
    I tried sorting out the best PS2 games of all time on metacritic.com, never found anything I liked other than GTA SA, but you know the thing is I've played GTA SA on PC so much I don't care about it on PS2. It's cool it can run on PS2, but... yeah. - Source: Reddit / almost 2 years ago
  • New store page is out, and that PEGI rating is HUGE
    Metacritic.com you got those kids giving another point of view for any and all games pretty much. - Source: Reddit / almost 2 years ago
  • Is it worth playing Battlefield 4 or Battlefield V at this point?
    Battlefield V was hated by many players. metacritic.com shows how the players rated it lower than other BF games. It might be the newest, but that doesn't mean the gameplay is better than older BF games. - Source: Reddit / about 2 years ago
  • How do I judge the quality of a Python module before installing, especially if it originates from another programming language?
    So I have a couple of questions. How do you personally judge the quality of a Python module, especially compared to similiar ones in other programming languages? Also, are there website that rank the quality of a Python module, similar to rottentomatoes.com for movies or metacritic.com for games? I would be quite thankful for a bit of an heads up before installing a new Python module. - Source: Reddit / about 2 years ago
  • Anyone else watch things on repeat because you can’t find anything like it? Also Stimming..
    If you want something new, try reelgood.com or metacritic.com to find good stuff. - Source: Reddit / about 2 years ago

Do you know an article comparing Metacritic to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.