Software Alternatives & Reviews

Materialize CSS Reviews

A modern responsive front-end framework based on Material Design

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Materialize CSS and what they use it for.
  • First Big Project / Learning How To Use JSON server
    As you may have noticed I am a huge fan of Avatar the Last Airbender (Nickelodeon, please don't come for me, I'm poor). This web application is inspired by Uncle Iroh's tea shop in Ba Sing Se. I admire Iroh's character a lot, so I really tried to pay my respects by not making a complete pile of garbage. My main focus was the JavaScript, and to save time I used Materialize. If Materialize was a person, I'd kiss... - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Building websites in just HTML/CSS/JS?
    Well, there are CSS frameworks like Bootstrap and Materialize. If you can be more specific about what you're looking for someone can probably recommend something. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Difference between materialize-css and material UI
    I went through the home page of materializecss and materialUI. The first one mentions A modern responsive front-end framework based on Material Design and the later one mentions React components that implement Google's Material Design. Both of them implements material design and both of them give me components to use. Where exactly is the difference between both of them? - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Days 1 - 20: #100DaysofCode
    After having looking through Material Design and Materialize, I set out for my next web application project. First, I looked at some new books and visited some libraries and immediately fell in love with the library atmosphere. - Source: dev.to / 6 months ago
  • Angular - 'Could not find HammerJS'
    It may be worth noting that if you have hammerjs installed and your components are still not rendering correctly to make sure you are using angular material components and not html elements with materialize-css classes.If you are using materialize-css instead of angular material, you will need to add it to your project separately. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • QuranIPFS: Streaming Quran over IPFS
    ✓ JQuery ✓ Responsive mobile friendly design ✓ Mobile drop-down menu ✓ Lazy loading ✓ Youtube like preloader progress bar ✓ Back to top icon ✓ Cookies (js-cookie) ✓ SEO meta tags (Google, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest...) ✓ Structured data and cards ✓ Using IPFS to stream and download mp3 ✓ M3U files ✓ Torrent download ✓ Responsive HTML5 media player ✓ Stylish rounded social sharing icons menu ✓ Media... - Source: dev.to / 6 months ago
  • Most Affordable Web Hosting
    If you have a few days, you are probably able to make a nice looking site with either materializecss or bootstrap, you'll then be able to upload the files to a host like krystal. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Is this the end of WFH in Mumbai ?
    If you are in frontend dev, create something simple like todo list. Make sure it looks good. Use material design : https://materializecss.com. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Guidance on first front-end UI for a self-developed backend
    Since you mentioned python, I'd suggest something simple like fastAPI as a backend framework, it lets you serve up template pages and I'm using htmx to interact with the backend, writing almost not a single line of JS. I've played with several css frameworks over my time and there you can get some really barebones, basic stuff like skeleton just to make it not look like it was displaying a page styled in 2001. I'm... - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Something like Material UI but for Vanilla JS?
    Also not entirely sure I understand the question, but maybe you're looking for something like materialize? https://materializecss.com/. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Materialize CSS

Top 10 Best CSS Frameworks for Front-End Developers in 2022
Created by Google in 2014, Materialize is a responsive UI framework for websites and Android apps. It provides many ready-to-use components, classes, and starter templates. It is compatible with Sass and has a responsive layout based on Bootstrap’s 12-column grid format. The best part? Its extensive color palettes. So, if you want to work with Material Design (Google’s design language) and create Google-like...
15 Best CSS Frameworks: Professional Bootstrap and Foundation Alternatives
It’s specifically designed to help you develop faster using a standard template and customizable components. As the name suggests, Materialize is based on the basic principles of Material Design.
10 of the Best Bootstrap Alternatives
Materialize is a Design-inspired front-end framework that offers everything you need to create beautiful websites and apps. It includes a responsive grid system, CSS components, and animation libraries. Materialize is also easy to use and customizable, making it the perfect choice for any project. Furthermore, a single basic responsive framework across all phases minimizes the amount of work required by the...
Top 5 Bootstrap Alternatives
There are quite a few JavaScript features and effects that ship with Materialize. Tooltips, Toasts (Android-like ephemeral notifications), Parallex, Pushpin, etc., are some of them. One really amazing effect I liked is FeatureDiscovery, which basically allows you to highlight an element on the page on some event (say, button press) to bring the user’s attention to that element. It’s hard to describe it in words...
CSS Frameworks to use in 2020
Comparative characteristics of Bootstrap, Foundation and Materialize. Source of the image In this environment, there are enough components and classes, but first of all it is aimed at maximizing the performance and speed of loading pages. Materialize uses a 12-column grid format, as the Bootstrap. Benefits
Bootstrap Alternatives 2019: Advanced CSS Frameworks for Developers
Materialize is a fascinating way to incorporate a touch of material designing to your projects. If you are a new developer, you can use this without the hassle of complicated codes. The platform does most of the heavy lifting to provide you with the custom components of a premium design. It also ensures that the animations across your website stays smooth, and helps in providing a unified user experience. The...
Top 10 CSS Frameworks For Web Designer 2018
Materialize is based on googles material design. It is very opinionated about UI or UX design elements and it is great for creating material design out of the box. It features the latest trend that is material design and provides flexibility and extensibility with modern looks.
20 Best Front-End Frameworks For Bootstrap Alternative
Built based on Google’s Material Design principles, Materialize has come as a modern responsive front-end framework. This framework is very suitable for those who want to implement Material Design look and feel into their website without any complexity. It features card design, ripple effect animation, Sass mixin, drag out mobile menu and many more.
15 Fabulous Alternatives to Bootstrap, Foundation and Skeleton
Like the Material UI, Materialize is also designed based on Google’s Material Design. This responsive framework works with great speed, and the concentration is specified on building awesome user-experience.

Do you know an article comparing Materialize CSS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.