Software Alternatives & Reviews

Lumen Framework Reviews

The stunningly fast micro-framework by Laravel.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Lumen Framework and what they use it for.
  • File-based routing (maybe) ... JSX?
    I think this was PHP version 5 or 4 at the time, but it's bad design back then has served to the downfall of PHP in active development (despite the fact that it powers most of the web). However, PHP 8 has brought a lot of new exciting features, so much so that Laravel doesn't even recommend use its lightweight version of Lumen anymore, it's unnecessary. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Modern PHP features explained – PHP 8.0 and 8.1
    Lumen is being deprecated due to PHP and Laravel performance improvements that make it largely irrelevant. https://lumen.laravel.com/docs/9.x > Note: In the years since releasing Lumen, PHP has made a variety of wonderful performance improvements. For this reason, along with the availability of Laravel Octane, we no longer recommend that you begin new projects with Lumen. Instead, we recommend always beginning new... - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • If I want to develop a CRUD API application with React.js client side why would I pick Laravel?
    Nah, even Lumen Documentation recommends starting new projects with Laravel. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • can I use thecodeholic/tc-php-mvc-core framework for production?
    If you want to use a framework but avoid the "kitchen sink" you could use micro frameworks like Lumen, Slim or Symfony (with the symfony/skeleton starter) and then add packages as required. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Which php-framework should I consider for rest-api?
    If you are just doing a rest api and not serving pages, you could also look into lumen which is a slimmed down version: https://lumen.laravel.com/docs/9.x. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Should choose laravel or lumen to write api for an mobile app?
    Please read the red box in installation section. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Should choose laravel or lumen to write api for an mobile app?
    Basically, References to Lumen are removed from Laravel Documentation and it says so on the official site. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Yes, PHP is Worth Learning/Using in $CURRENT_YEAR
    If you're concerned about frameworks perhaps being "overkill" for what you want to do with PHP, you'll be happy to hear that Symfony is a microframework out of the box (all components outside of the core framework are 100% optional), and Laravel also has a microframework variant called Lumen. - Source: dev.to / about 1 year ago
  • What is the best practice for sending and receiving data between HTML and PHP?
    I would let a framework handle this for you. It can render your HTML views and handle the security for you. It’s been a while since I’ve coded PHP, but I used to love https://laravel.com and https://lumen.laravel.com. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • REST API for 50,000 concurrent connections
    Have a look at Laravel Lumen A micro version of Laravel from Laravel. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Lumen Framework

Top 9 PHP Frameworks For Web Development In 2021
Lumen is a micro-framework for developing PHP-powered web applications. It is written in PHP and created by the Laravel team itself. Lumen has 7.1k+ stars on GitHub and 45+ contributors.
15 Alternative Dating Apps To Tinder
Pros: Most (if not all) dating apps provide age boundaries, but Lumen is the first dedicated service for people over the age of 50, with a verification system that keeps bots and scammers at bay.

Do you know an article comparing Lumen Framework to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.