Software Alternatives & Reviews

LMMS Reviews

Make music with a free, cross-platform tool

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about LMMS and what they use it for.
  • A quick rant of music software on linux and it being absolutely proprietary.
    Also I'm going to advocate for LMMS (https://lmms.io/) I don't know if it has any of the capability you're looking for but it's FOSS, and IMO is a fantastic project made by people who value their software. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • Where do you guys buy music & sound effects ?
    I use LMMS (free) with a MIDI controller I got for about $250, but that's largely because I wanted an excuse to learn piano, and it can work with a keyboard and mouse. You just pick an instrument and put notes on the piano roll until you find something that sounds nice. And then you can explore and expand from there. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • How did Grimes learn to make music/how did she get started?
    A free open source alternative to GarageBand (which works on Windows, Mac or Linux) is Let's make music - https://lmms.io. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • all i have is a laptop and a phone how can i learn to make music
    LMMS is easier to get into if you are just getting started. https://lmms.io/. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Is there a distro you guys would recommend for someone that is trying to make music, edit videos and make and play video games?
    Also I believe you can use some software through wine if needed (i played with ableton live back in the days). I heard good things about https://lmms.io/ if you need something like Fruity Loops. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Ask HN: Linux based music creation workflow for 10 year old
    Https://lmms.io/ is free and open source, and similar to FL Studio (though not as full-featured). LMMS might have a bit of a learning curve, though, but having used FL Studio in the past I had no problem plonking out some simple tunes (after downloading some free SoundFonts I found on Google). - Source: Hacker News / 2 months ago
  • How or what program can I use to make sounds in my game
    Https://lmms.io/ (cannot record sounds, so combine with https://www.audacityteam.org/ ). - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Best free app for making beats on pc?
    Someone sent me lmms.io check that out! - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • xQc doesnt need music theory
    Or you can start by trying something free like https://lmms.io/. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • What Free DAW suits me?
    Https://lmms.io/ Actually a free DAW and opensource. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of LMMS

Top 10 LMMS Alternatives and Similar Software
The software LMMS is for those who are musically inclined. It helps you create music. We share with you brief details of LMMS alternatives. You can try them out for a new experience of creating music. Coming back to LMMS, the best thing about it is that it’s completely free. Hosted on GitHub, it’s an open-source digital audio workstation (DAW) that works on several operating systems.
Best LMMS Alternatives 2017
Alternatives to LMMS 2017: LMMS is a free cross-platform alternative to profit making programs like Minor FL Studio icon FLStudio, which permit you to harvest music with your computer. This comprises the creation of tunes and beats, the synthesis and involvement of sounds, and positioning of samples. You can consume fun with your MIDI-keyboard and much extra, all in a user-friendly and new interface.

Do you know an article comparing LMMS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.