Software Alternatives & Reviews

LMMS Reviews

Make music with a free, cross-platform tool

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about LMMS and what they use it for.
  • CB wants me to produce an entire track for some quickly written lyrics they have for free because “it’s easy”!
    Ardour, Reaper (60 days of trial and really cheap license for an amazing software), LMMS and Cakewalk are all free if you don't own an Apple device or don't like GarageBand. But for real, GarageBand is incredibly awesome, I remember first trying out on one of the first ipod touch models and this year testing the newest version on ipad, it's insane what the developers kept adding, I still can't believe it's... - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • How do I make chiptune music?
    Check out the free DAW LMMS. It comes with three synthesizers which emulate Gameboy, NES and Commodore64. Check this video as an example, to see it in action. If you need help in using the DAW, just come over to the nice community at r/lmms. - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • No spend hobby I can do now? (lockdown)
    You can also learn to make music in your computer or at least make some noises for a few days, try with a free software like https://www.bandlab.com/products/cakewalk or https://lmms.io/ and if your computer is really low end you can use some oldschool trackers like milkytracker to make chiptunes. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Question regarding free D.A.W.s
    Reaper is a really good but you can try LMMS (https://lmms.io/) and Ardour (https://ardour.org/). - Source: Reddit / 10 days ago
  • No budget for a soundtrack...?
    Here's a musical synthesizer that can read in a MIDI file: https://lmms.io/. - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • Anyone know a music making program, supporting midi? Preferably open source of coarse
    DAWs (Digital Audio Workstations) like Ardour or LMMS are like the "Office suite" of music making. They are big programs that can record, arrange, and edit audio and MIDI tracks, add effects, mix and export etc. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Music Design
    LMMS is another, and is my music production suite of choice. Free and open source (GPL2). Comes with a beat line editor for simple drums, a nice collection of samples (that you could expand on with your own or find other free or paid ones online). A nice collection of instruments/synths, as well as the option to use external VSTs through Carla or Vestige. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • can anyone explain me the actual idea behind appcenter?
    If you're really a professional, take a look at: https://lmms.io/ . Simpler options surely do not apply for pro work. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Tips on Eurobeat
    This week I started making eurobeat, for the DAW, I use LMMS which is both free and really easy to use. As for the synth, I first used Synth1, it was good, but definitely not for beginners. Now I've switched to Vital and although as complex if not more as synth1, I think it's an upgrade over it. Synth1 does have a +25k presets folder, though, I think it's on their website, I gave you a different link because I... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • What do you use for music making?
    When you don't want to spend any money, then give LMMS a try. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of LMMS

Top 10 LMMS Alternatives and Similar Software
The software LMMS is for those who are musically inclined. It helps you create music. We share with you brief details of LMMS alternatives. You can try them out for a new experience of creating music. Coming back to LMMS, the best thing about it is that it’s completely free. Hosted on GitHub, it’s an open-source digital audio workstation (DAW) that works on several operating systems.
Best LMMS Alternatives 2017
Alternatives to LMMS 2017: LMMS is a free cross-platform alternative to profit making programs like Minor FL Studio icon FLStudio, which permit you to harvest music with your computer. This comprises the creation of tunes and beats, the synthesis and involvement of sounds, and positioning of samples. You can consume fun with your MIDI-keyboard and much extra, all in a user-friendly and new interface.

Do you know an article comparing LMMS to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.