Software Alternatives & Reviews

Ko-fi Reviews

Ko-fi offers a friendly way for content creators to get paid for their work.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Ko-fi and what they use it for.
  • KDE 25th anniversary: ask Aleix Pol, Lydia Pintscher, and Nate Graham anything!
    I would also like to suggest kofi as well. I first heard about it on Destination Linux podcast as an alternative to Patreon and when I pulled up the details, it actual does seem really cool. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • I wanna publish something for the first time and I need help
    I have no knowledge on the back-end of DMs Guild, unfortunately. However, I do know that a lot of users who publish their homebrews on social media like Reddit or Instagram will include a ko-fi.com link (ko-fi is good for one time, small donations), or a patreon link if they post consistently. I think anyone who posts their homebrews for free online ought to have a ko-fi at the least, because people undervalue... - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • We're the co-founders of Readup and we're on a mission to overthrow the advertising industry and make it fun to read online again! Ask us anything!
    Fair point. It's not that we think this content shouldn't be monetizable without ads. Ctrl+F is just not the behavior we want to incentivize on Readup. We want to incentivize articles that are meant to be read from start to finish. Technical documentation writers can IMO monetize better with donation systems like ko-fi. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • Dragonborn lycantrope
    Tips and high-res: https://ko-fi.com. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • My friend brought back an exclusive, japanese magazine interview with kevin shields from japan for me (read comment)
    If you setup a Ko-fi link (https://ko-fi.com/) I would absolutely donate some money for you to go through the entire magazine and translate it. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • FYI: Google can lock you out of your account for no reason
    If you want monetization on your content, do not rely on ad sense and instead setup donations (preferably with Liberapay or Ko-Fi since they don't have a markup cost for donators). AdSense is unreliable as it's up to Google's shitty policies. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • ReCalendar - open-source, highly customizable calendar for ReMarkable tablets
    If you do build the website, make sure to add a https://ko-fi.com/ link for people to show their gratitude :). - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • A question about patreon
    There's also Ko-Fi, which I've seen artists and writers use as well. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • How can I make A LITTLE money from writing?
    What about a site like https://ko-fi.com/ or Patreon? I've seen people use sites like these to make money off content from their tumblr/fan fictions/You Tube videos but you might be able to make it work for you. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • A new "native" commenting system for Ghost blogs
    I've never used it myself, but I know of folks who have Ghost blogs and use Buy Me a Coffee for one-off donations. There's also a service called Ko-Fi, which is similar, but it looks like Buy Me a Coffee's pricing may be more favorable if you're just getting started (see their comparison page here). Products (meme like) Hmm... I'm not 100% sure what you mean by this, but I'm assuming that you mean custom emotes,... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Ko-fi

12+ Brilliant Patreon Alternatives to Monetize Your Audience
At Ko-fi, you can share your work, and fans can support you for the price of a cup of coffee โ€” or more. You can set up donations and commissions on a one-time basis or monthly.
10 Best Patreon Alternatives
If you want three times more income, the Ko-Fi Gold subscription is available for only $6 monthly. The Gold package offers exclusive posts and rewards, commission tools, shorter Ko-Fi username, gallery extras, analytics insights, shorter Ko-Fi name, previews for new features, and a no-ads experience.

Do you know an article comparing Ko-fi to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.