Software Alternatives & Reviews

Ko-fi Reviews

Ko-fi offers a friendly way for content creators to get paid for their work.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Ko-fi and what they use it for.
  • Ask HN: Better Option Than BuyMeACoffee?
    Maybe see if https://ko-fi.com/ works for you. - Source: Hacker News / 1 day ago
  • free speech rule
    Twitter is not the only place on the internet for artists! Not trying to be rude but honestly this is a pretty zoomer take, that the internet only consists of X big websites. There are so many spaces that you can find and reach people, you just have to search to find them. Depending on the subject I could recommend dozens of awesome websites or communities, but as I'm not an artist myself I can only recommend a... - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • [THEME] 19 Free themes, no catch, just take and enjoy my hard work for the last few years. Most video game themed (Nier, Monster Hunter, Bloodborne, Final Fantasy, etc)
    Perhaps consider moving to Ko-Fi. You can set a price or make it "Pay what you want", but the best thing is you can upload the preset export files. Or, if you really want, you can still upload an apk made in KAPK for the user to download and install. It's much simpler than dealing with Android Studio and the Play Store! - Source: Reddit / 23 days ago
  • How to receive donations without PayPal now?
    Crypto exists. There are a number of weird ones that people use. I think Ko-Fi is a popular one? - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Supernote Possible Additional Sources of Revenue
    Anyway, I'm also thinking what if you set-up something like a ko-fi account for people who have the money to give for your software developments? I'm sure a lot of people with higher incomes would be willing to fork out some money, especially since we don't have to pay any subscription whatsoever (which is such a big deal, thank you for not locking us in). - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Anyone else done with Etsy?
    Ko-fi is a creator-friendly alternative to Etsy. I saw it on this creator's page. But I haven't used it yet. I have a hard time finding how to shop on it unless I already know the creator I'm looking for. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • I want to start making custom templates for people...
    I think you can post your templates to something like ko-fi.com, where you can set it to a minimum price of 0$ upwards, and people pay depending on what they can :) , Ive seen it with other creators but it is completely up to you. You can also use youtube or tiktok to try and reach people & advertise your service. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • A Reputation Well Deserved
    Notice that ko-fi.com ("buy me a coffee" site) leaks tipper and tippee's real names and emails to each other seemingly without warning. Via PayPal. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Update on @AmericanKrogan - their Twitter account has been locked for hate speech
    Here is a list of some his other media accounts - although many of his accounts are on sites that are a safe-haven for this sort of extremism. Best bet is to target and report him on sites such as https://www.buymeacoffee.com/ and https://ko-fi.com/ that do have Terms that prohibit hate speech as these will reduce his monetary gain from publishing this sort of content. Others like Entropy are probably a lost cause. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Open Collective - What do you think of it?
    Ko-fi is even better than liberapay. They take 0% of your donations: https://ko-fi.com/. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Ko-fi

12+ Brilliant Patreon Alternatives to Monetize Your Audience
At Ko-fi, you can share your work, and fans can support you for the price of a cup of coffee — or more. You can set up donations and commissions on a one-time basis or monthly.
10 Best Patreon Alternatives
If you want three times more income, the Ko-Fi Gold subscription is available for only $6 monthly. The Gold package offers exclusive posts and rewards, commission tools, shorter Ko-Fi username, gallery extras, analytics insights, shorter Ko-Fi name, previews for new features, and a no-ads experience.

Do you know an article comparing Ko-fi to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.