Software Alternatives & Reviews

Kap Reviews

Kap is an open-source screen recorder built with web technology.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Kap and what they use it for.
  • Screen Recording With Kap Is Possibly Corrupted Even Through It Was Working Hours Ago.
    So I was just browsing all my old screen recording and I noticed that one wasn't opening and also only taken up 99.7 MB even through according to Kap (This is the software I'm talking about https://getkap.co//) it was 2.09 GB. I was in denial at first but after resetting and trying different programs I had to admit it somehow my file got corrupted. Emphasis on the somehow since I know it was working earlier this... - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • Essential macOS-only apps for 2023
    Kap does great screen capture including GIFs. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • App LIST!!!
    Kap (Free) That's cap (did I do it? Am I cool?)... Kap is a free open-source screen recorder built with web technology, click the menu bar icon to bring up the screen recorder. After selecting what portion of the screen you'd like to record, hit the record button to start recording. Click the menu bar icon again to stop the recording. There is also user-made plugins, really good app in my opinion. - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • Creating a product announcement video gif
    I have used Kap to do this before. It records the screen with mouse interactions and has the option to clip the recording to avoid the awkward mouse movements at the start and end. There are options to export the capture as a video or GIF. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Marketing for Developers
    Some people learn better visually and some libraries greatly benefit from being shown. Animated gifs or short mov files can be especially useful for simple interactions. I use Kap (free) to create these simpler screenshares. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Screen recording softwares for Mac os.
    Kap is a nice one. This screen recording app (free and open source) lives in your menu bar: https://getkap.co/. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • The Emulators built in recorder kind of sucks, why cant we save as Mp4?
    I never use it. Getkap and never look back. Supports mp4 but even better makes gifs that are ready for Github markdown, chat apps, etc. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Has anyone made the switch from developing in Windows to macOS? Any general or specific advice about the switch?
    The built-in screenshotting tool is awesome (Cmd+Shift+3 / Cmd+Shift+4) Kap is an awesome open-source screen video capturing tool https://getkap.co/. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Shottr v1.6 is Out
    I use https://getkap.co/ , it's also free. And free of fluff. They go happy together. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Things I can’t do on macOS which I can do on Ubuntu
    I'll start with things that I'm happy to have in mac that didn't have in Linux :) - Cannot run a bunch of programs that stay on the topbar, like LINE (https://line.me/en/), Kap (https://getkap.co/), etc. I am a fairly heavy user of Kap and I love the interface, so this is probably the biggest differentiator for me. - The visual quality of the programs in Mac is generally a lot higher, and humans do like aesthetic... - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • HowTo add Shimmering Animation Effect to UIView
    I've used Kap for this kind of use case before. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Alternative to Screen to Gif?
    CleanShot which is pretty great, but it's paid. There's also Kap which is free, I haven't tried it but it seems solid too (although with fewer features). Both let you record you screen and export to GIF. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Need a cheaper alternative to Snagit for Mac
    I suggest looking at Kap by Sindre Sorhus: Https://getkap.co. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Every pricing page should have GIFs
    If you're on MacOS: I used to use LICEcap but then I found myself wanting more (still basic) features, like the ability to trim recordings, export to video formats etc. Now I use Kap, it's the perfect balance of simplicity and features (for me): https://getkap.co/. - Source: Hacker News / over 1 year ago
  • I built macOS screenshot utility for UI developers
    Thanks! No, it's static images only. I usually recommend Cmd+Shift+5, also heard getkap.co isn't bad. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Export Neovim Buffers to VS Code
    Great question. Well, that GIF was a portion of a video export from Screenflow (a macOS screencast app), but I typically create one-off GIFs with Kap https://getkap.co/. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Show HN: It is a simple recording program with the ability to record the screen
    You might want to try ScreenToGif (https://www.screentogif.com/) for Windows and Kap (https://getkap.co/) for macOS. - Source: Hacker News / over 1 year ago
  • Screen recording
    Also, here's an free alternative, with lots of supporting extensions Kapucino: https://getkap.co/. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • What is your must to have application for your Mac?
    If you only use QT for screen recording, Kap.app is a really nice, open source alternative. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • my (front-end) developer "life-hacks"
    Kap is an app with a button in the menubar that allows you to make screen recordings. It's an open-source project with a plugin api with a bunch of cool plugins available. These include uploading functionality to different platforms, adding your face (from a webcam) to a recording, showing keypresses or hiding notifications while recording. As a front-end developer I use Kap mostly to record short clips of parts... - Source: dev.to / almost 2 years ago
  • How do I record internal Audio on m1 Mac
    Try https://getkap.co it's free and open-source. - Source: Reddit / almost 2 years ago

Do you know an article comparing Kap to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.