Software Alternatives & Reviews

Gitea Reviews

A painless self-hosted Git service

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Gitea and what they use it for.
  • Any tips/resources for getting up to speed quickly? Coming from C#
    Find a beginner friendly repo and jump in feet first! Mine is. Seriously, if you don't want to work on a public repo then download gitea and run your own git server that works very much like github and store your code there. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Global auth nginx accross subdomains
    You can use gitea as the oauth provider and vouch as the authentication proxy. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • simple git hosting service?
    You could look into https://gitea.io/en-us/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Question regarding self-hosting GitLab instance
    Based on your needs and level of expertise I'd highly recommend taking a look at Gitea. It covers all your requirements and is way more leightweight than GitLab, both in ressources and administration as well. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Full suite comparison: BitBucket vs Gitlab vs Github?
    If you're looking for something self-hosted for a startup, no joke gitea will get you unbelievably far, before you need to start thinking about the larger offerings. I gotta say that gitea+drone can rival GitHub Actions, or GitLab runners it a TON of cases. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • GitHub's Copilot; Can the original author please stand up?
    There are other GitHub clones written in Go (Gitea) and V (Gitly). - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • Does anybody here host their own git server + GitLab for R server versioning control? Do you use something different?
    I do use git, and I do have remote repositories on my VPS. But I don't use any fancy git server, it's just a plain ssh remote. For my own purposes this is enough. If I wanted to extend these repositories to other collaborators, I'd probably install Gitea. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • First-time developer, first game complete - Things I would do differently
    Please note that these Website use git which is the source control software. Having your code on a remote machine like Github is great in case your hard drive dies, but it's not strictly necessary. Git allows you to keep a stable version of your game while you thinker around, which is the core reason to use it. A "remote" in git can also simply be your local secondary hard drive. If you work with a team, those... - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • What's the best free and open source git hosting?
    Years ago I also used https://gitea.io/en-us/ and it was fine. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Hosting own git server - ssh & https
    I am in the process of setting up and hosting my own git server, specifically I will be using gitea. (If there's something significantly worse about it compared to other options let me know :). - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Gitea

Gitea - Alternative to GitLab and GitHub
There are still plenty of things you might want centralized on a server somewhere, but it seems like a lot of the value add of GitHub, GitLab, and now Gitea is in making git repos easier to manage and interact with.

Do you know an article comparing Gitea to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.