Software Alternatives & Reviews

Gitea Reviews

A painless self-hosted Git service

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Gitea and what they use it for.
  • Can anyone suggest a way of serving rendered (HTML) Markdown files on a server?
    You could use Gitea (https://gitea.io/en-us/). It may be overkill for the task, but it is extremely easy to setup and has a imho. Good Markdown renderer. - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • Elon Musk dissolves Twitter's board of directors
    Https://gitea.io/en-us/ (some drama right now). - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • GitHub Copilot, with “public code” blocked, emits my copyrighted code
    Gitea is very nice: https://gitea.io/en-us/. - Source: Hacker News / about 2 months ago
  • Easiest way to setup a file server (linux)
    Finally you get to how you will be hosting your software. You don't mention what kind of software you are hosting. It sounds like its code-based so you might look at something like gitea. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Suggestions to a home server on a raspberry pi
    Look into https://gitea.io/en-us/ for a lighter option or gitlab to have CI too. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Private Repository, custom links?
    There's really no need to write your own git frontend just for that. It seems like you already have a running webserver. Check out cgit or gitea, both are small and easy to setup, and should allow short repo URLs like git clone git.myDomain.com/navy/project. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Seeking free self hosted develops for git, planning & CI a bonus
    Someone suggested looking at https://gitea.io/en-us/ for git hosting and Drone CI: https://www.drone.io/ - no idea how this looks the pipeline ci yaml looks super easy to get started with. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Making the move into tech from healthcare?
    Eg. I read an article about postgres performance tuning related to btree indexes vs gin indexes, and I made good use of it during interviews with "STAR" type questions. They help a lot! Lab a lot on your own. Spin up containers, VMs, try set up your own local git repository with "Gitea", run it on a container on a server. You'll learn a lot. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • What is your simple issue tracking system .
    For this type of thing, I'm fond of self-hosting an instance of Gitea. It's github-like, but doesn't tie you to Github. I'm not sure if that violates your "not online-only" preference, but I suppose it violates your desire to store them in the repository. I've got two of these set up, one for personal use, and one for work. It's fairly lightweight, being based on Go. I have no problem running it on the... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • GitLab plans to delete dormant projects from free accounts: Hopes to save a quarter of hosting costs by binning repos that haven't been touched for a year
    Even Tim Pope (very popular vim plugin author) hosts his plugins on domains he controls rather than rely on github. Luckily there's projects like gitea if you want a GUI interface like the paid providers. I personally have an FTP server that I host my code in and pull down as needed. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Gitea

Gitea - Alternative to GitLab and GitHub
There are still plenty of things you might want centralized on a server somewhere, but it seems like a lot of the value add of GitHub, GitLab, and now Gitea is in making git repos easier to manage and interact with.

Do you know an article comparing Gitea to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.