Software Alternatives & Reviews

Ghost Reviews

Ghost is a fully open source, adaptable platform for building and running a modern online publication. We power blogs, magazines and journalists from Zappos to Sky News.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Ghost and what they use it for.
  • How I Created My Blog Using JAMStack
    Content Management System (CMS) Dynamic contents for JAMStack sites (in our case, these are our blog posts) can be controlled via a CMS, typically known as _ headless CMS. _ Once a change is made in CMS (a post is published/added/edited/deleted), a new build of our site will be triggered and deployed as static assets. Similar to static site generators, there are many options for CMS available out there, but we... - Source: dev.to / 4 days ago
  • So what about substack then?
    I looked at SubStack, but eventually settled on Ghost, which feels like a mix of Medium (super-simple post creation and editing), and has built-in subscription and newsletter options. Newsletters and posts can also be monetized, although I haven't done so. It also provides many more design options and templates than SubStack. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • How to start a newsletter?
    Besides the Email service providers, you can also check out Ghost . With Ghost, you can have not just only a newsletter but also you can publish content. & its super SEO friendly. Here how I created my Newsletter with Ghost. - Source: Reddit / 17 days ago
  • I'm going to start a very simple blog--just text and pics--and I think WordPress looks like the best place. Thoughts?
    Based on what you say you want, I encourage you to check out ghost also, before you decide. https://ghost.org. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Landing page to download paid content?
    Not exactly sure if this will work but I recently came across https://ghost.org/ and they might help? It's paid though... 👎. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • What does is cost to run a bootstrapped SaaS? A breakdown of our costs.
    Figma for designing the product and marketing visuals. Ghost to publish our blog Super to make landing pages from Notion Buffer to schedule tweets F5Bot to get emails when someone mentions Tally online. - Source: Reddit / 25 days ago
  • Tips for a newbie!
    Goto youtube for helping setting up your blog. If you're looking for something simple and to get started quickly I think ghost.org is great. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Gatsby starter with Simply Ghost Theme
    I just wanted to share with you my port of the wonderful Simply Ghost theme to be used with Gatsby, with Ghost as headless CMS. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • Attention Bloggers! Ask Your Questions In This Thread - Biweekly #85
    I'm not sure I understand the question. The only way to control the URL is by using your own domain name. Ghost and WordPress both have sleep UIs. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Show HN: Privacy-first, minimal, fast blogging/newsletter platform
    Well you'll love Ghost! https://ghost.org. - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Ghost

How to Choose the Best Blogging Platform in 2021 (Compared)
Ghost is a minimalist blogging platform with features entirely focused on writing blog posts. Started in 2013, Ghost is available as a hosted platform and as a software that you can install / host yourself. We’ll take a look at both options.
9 Reasons I Think Craft is the Best CMS on the Market Today
Craft CMS is simple, minimalistic, agile and has every capability a modern CMS framework needs. Over the past ten years we have worked with every CMS you could think of (Wordpress, Drupal, Rails+ActiveAdmin, Ghost, Weebly, DjangoCMS, Jekyll, Joomla, Tumblr, Squarespace, Expression Engine, Statamic, Blogger)… here are the reasons why we’ve landed firmly with Craft as our №1 choice.
8 Best Blogging Platforms Reviewed (Updated)
Do you get your own domain? No, you don’t get a domain with your plan, but you can hook up an external domain easily.Any prior skills required? The answer’s two-fold here. If you’re getting the downloadable version then setting up your site will take some time and skill around web servers and such. For Ghost Pro, the setup is quite simple. Using the platform on a daily basis is very easy to grasp too, although the...
16 Best: Blog Software Comparison (Free / Open-Source Tools)
Load times are considerably high with hosted Ghost. The site is mobile-friendly, and there are many options for customizing your blog with elegant themes. Ghost is primarily for those with considerable design experience, but the right users will find it rewarding.
How to Choose the Best Blogging Platform in 2018 (Compared)
Ghost is a minimalist blogging platform with features entirely focused on writing blog posts. Started in 2013, Ghost is available as a hosted platform and as a software that you can install / host yourself. We’ll take a look at both options.

Do you know an article comparing Ghost to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.