Software Alternatives & Reviews

Ghost Reviews

Ghost is a fully open source, adaptable platform for building and running a modern online publication. We power blogs, magazines and journalists from Zappos to Sky News.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Ghost and what they use it for.
  • Using shopify for a subscription based site?
    I would recommend checking out Ghost. - Source: Reddit / 3 days ago
  • Question on Autoresponder Integrations
    Does anybody know if an email list created with Ghost (ghost.org) can integrate with Thrive Lead forms in WordPress? - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • is there a better editor than Silex? I'm trying to find a valid alternative to Webflow
    I haven't used Webflow or Silex (I use static site generators), but I remember Ghost seemed interesting. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • MongoDB 2022 Hackathon submission - Introducing Ghost Notifier
    This project is a selfhosted MVP for realtime notifications in Ghost CMS. It's my submission to the 2022 MongoDB hackathon on dev.to. - Source: dev.to / 16 days ago
  • How would I display my MaxMSP patches as part of a portfolio?
    I like https://ghost.org but there’s plenty of free options out there. - Source: Reddit / 18 days ago
  • Technical Writing: All You Need to Know and How to Land a Job
    The first step in creating your own blog is deciding on a content management system or CMS that will help you maintain your blog posts in one place without having to worry about technicalities like formatting HTML code or writing css or get busy with the back-end. You can start with any of the following: Wordpress, Wix, Ghost, Squarespace, Strapi or Sanity. - Source: dev.to / 21 days ago
  • What platform to use for blog?
    Also consider Ghost as a possible platform since you are asking about blogging. If a blog or newsletter is what you want, Ghost is great for that. You can get managed ghost hosting from ghost.org, but cheaper managed hosts exist like Gloat, GetMidnight, DigitalPress, and Firepress. - Source: Reddit / 30 days ago
  • Ask HN: What's Stopping You from Blogging?
    I know some people are comfortable writing blog posts as markdown files and publishing to e.g. GitHub Pages via Jekyll/Hugo/etc., but that's too much friction for me. What little motivation I have to write dissipates quickly when I think about having to go through this process to publish something. And I can't easily write posts from my phone when I'm on the go. For a brief period of time, I self-hosted Ghost[1],... - Source: Hacker News / about 1 month ago
  • Selfhosted newsletter maker?
    If you want a way to show your issues as blog posts and start having an audience like in Substack, Ghost can be also a good choice. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Hacktoberfest with Ghost: Help bring i18n to our app
    Ghost is an industry-leading, open-source publishing platform built on Node. Creators (Ali Abdaal, Scatchy, DESK), publishers (The Lever, The Atlantic, The Browser), and companies (Unsplash, DuckDuckGo, OpenAI, Mozilla) use our platform to publish, share, and grow a business around their content. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Ghost

16+ Best Web Design Software in 2022 (Ranked by a Trusted Expert)
The free version of Figma can be used forever, which is nice since other programs like Ghost and Abode Dreamworks only offer a free trial period. Additionally, what makes Figma stand out is that its premium plans are free for students and educators.
21 Headless CMS Platforms That You Should Check Out
We have listed 21 headless CMS platforms with their pros and cons. However, it can be said that Strapi, Ghost, Sanity, Graph CMS are among the best headless CMS platforms that you can consider using. These platforms have higher G2 ratings and are easy to use.
Best Node.js CMS platforms for 2022
Ghost focuses on simplifying the online publishing process for publishers, entrepreneurs, and developers. Simply put, Ghost makes blogging and publishing web content simple.
How to Choose the Best Blogging Platform in 2021 (Compared)
Ghost is a minimalist blogging platform with features entirely focused on writing blog posts. Started in 2013, Ghost is available as a hosted platform and as a software that you can install / host yourself. We’ll take a look at both options.
9 Reasons I Think Craft is the Best CMS on the Market Today
Craft CMS is simple, minimalistic, agile and has every capability a modern CMS framework needs. Over the past ten years we have worked with every CMS you could think of (Wordpress, Drupal, Rails+ActiveAdmin, Ghost, Weebly, DjangoCMS, Jekyll, Joomla, Tumblr, Squarespace, Expression Engine, Statamic, Blogger)… here are the reasons why we’ve landed firmly with Craft as our №1 choice.
8 Best Blogging Platforms Reviewed (Updated)
Do you get your own domain? No, you don’t get a domain with your plan, but you can hook up an external domain easily.Any prior skills required? The answer’s two-fold here. If you’re getting the downloadable version then setting up your site will take some time and skill around web servers and such. For Ghost Pro, the setup is quite simple. Using the platform on a daily basis is very easy to grasp too, although the...
16 Best: Blog Software Comparison (Free / Open-Source Tools)
Load times are considerably high with hosted Ghost. The site is mobile-friendly, and there are many options for customizing your blog with elegant themes. Ghost is primarily for those with considerable design experience, but the right users will find it rewarding.
How to Choose the Best Blogging Platform in 2018 (Compared)
Ghost is a minimalist blogging platform with features entirely focused on writing blog posts. Started in 2013, Ghost is available as a hosted platform and as a software that you can install / host yourself. We’ll take a look at both options.

Do you know an article comparing Ghost to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.