Software Alternatives & Reviews

General Assembly Reviews

General Assembly offers training for in-demand skills such as development, data science, product management and data analysis.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about General Assembly and what they use it for.
  • Best industry to break into as an early 30s male with no university qualifications?
    For intro to UX & service design check out https://generalassemb.ly/. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Is it a good time to get in?
    Consensus seems to be that bootcamps such as General Assembly are mostly useful for providing two things: structure and a network. However, they're really expensive and they don't always lead to success. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Djinstagram #00: Django, Python and Opinionated Framework Jazz
    I recently undertook a small project for my bootcamp at General Assembly with a couple of other aspiring devs, Ben Burgos and Ramon Velarde. Our task was to develop a full-stack web app using Django, which of course necessitates the use of Python. - Source: dev.to / 5 months ago
  • Worth going back to school for CS degree?
    Don't bother going back for a CS degree. you'd be better off going to a dev bootcamp type of thing like General Assembly https://generalassemb.ly/ or Galvanize https://www.galvanize.com/. I graduated from UMD in 2011 and have been in the tech industry since, currently working at a consulting agency. there's not a whole lot of respect in the industry for CS degrees because you don't learn a lot of the real world... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Industry transition and curious about CS and software engineering.
    Part-time/full-time software engineering degree? A 12-week generalassemb.ly software engineering bootcamp? Cert 4 in IT? Cybersecurity course? (you could imagine me racking my brain). - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • I’m envious of people who have careers.
    Look into bootcamps that offer tuition payment later or only if you get a job like Bloom Institute. Here in DC it might be worth talking to General Assembly (https://generalassemb.ly/). - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Software Development here vs Moving to Germany for a Masters?
    I mean, it’s hard for me to say. It does line up to what you’d learn in university so you have that going for it if that’s what you want, but all CS degrees also skip out on the industry hands on. I mean, I once turned away an MIT graduate for someone who came out of a 3 month course at General Assembly because I needed the skill set of how to put an application into production rather than writing an algorithm to... - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • How could I transition into Software Engineering? How long would it take?
    What a friend did in your position: https://generalassemb.ly. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • what are some software programming/coding jobs that are actively looking for entry level people in NYC?
    General assembly nyc is a good resource for this: https://generalassemb.ly. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Tech workers offers $100,000 to stay in role
    If you start from nothing, GeneralAssembly is incredible. They'll get you from 0 to very good (if you are involved of course and do your homework), plus their strength is they have tons of industry link so most people walk out of it with a job or some sort of internship. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of General Assembly

9 Online Learning Platforms for Quality Professional Development
These relationships are valuable during the course, but the value extends long after you finish. You'll be networking while you're taking the courses, and General Assembly prides itself on its alumni network. In a day and age when connections lead to jobs, this isn't something to laugh at. Of course, it also means you'll pay a hefty fee: Courses are usually thousands of dollars each.
10 Top Sites For Online Education
Focusing on education in design, business and technology, New York City-based General Assembly has campuses in nearly a dozen different cities around the world. Although the majority of General Assembly classes are in-person, they also offer a compact selection of online-only or mixed courses.

Do you know an article comparing General Assembly to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.