Software Alternatives & Reviews

Flickr Reviews

image and video hosting website

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Deleted my account for "advertising"

    Former blogger for Second Life virtual world. ~ Had my account revoked after I was told my blogging was "advertising", even though 100's of other users do the exact same thing. Years of work down the tubes. Will never use it again. ~ Note: They are doing this to push for "PRO" memberships, because the company is hurting for money.

    🏁 Competitors: Instagram, Facebook
    πŸ‘ Pros:    Free to start, until you gain too much popularity.|Good for casual use.
    πŸ‘Ž Cons:    Spam|Abundance of advertising|Photostream hijacking by ads|Horrible customer service.

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Flickr and what they use it for.
  • When should I post nature photos?
    Flickr is a great site. I've been sharing photos there since 2004. It's a great community. You should check it out! - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Looking to get into photography as a hobby. Would I be crazy if I bought this camera?
    This is what I do before I purchase ANY gear - go to flickr.com, find a group of amazing wildlife photos and take a look at their exif data. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Found in a thrift store in The Netherlands. Quite mesmerising. Very heavy frame. Looking for the era and painter (no signature).
    It's an attempt to knock Alexander Koester famous duck paintings. But it doesn't have the vibrancy, the play of light and shade and movement that Koester's works have. He's famous for his duck paintings, along with others but it was him I thought of when I saw this. The link is to a Koester painting series on flickr.com I'm just demonstrating at how poor a knock off like this compared to a master like... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Facebook groups sidebar blocked
    I am going to start adding back my custom filters. I have one that removes facebook stories bar from the top, one that removes some annoyances from youtube.com, and another that removes a pop up from flickr.com. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Not being a perv, genuinely just asking out of morbid curiosity: Does Key West still have wet tshirt contests or did cell phone cameras kill those dead?
    Go to flickr.com create an acct so you are seen as over 18.. And search fantasy fest. There are MANY 1000s of photos of nudity, genitals and even straight up sex acts. To be clear, the street activity is costumes and nudity. The X rated stuff seems to be limited to indoor venues. All of the photos the people are proud to have their pics taken. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Any good websites for reference photography that has camera settings?
    Now answering your title: https://flickr.com is the only one I know that displays exif data on photos, if the uploader has allowed that. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • β€œLe9” Strives to Make Linux Usable on Systems with Small Amounts of RAM
    People like to forget that having 37 windows open with netscape was possible, but it would regularly crash and take all 37 windows with it. Also, all 37 tabs were likely displaying pages that looked like HN or lite.cnn.com Software isn't really that bloated, it's the content. In the 90s if you had a video on a website it was things like 320x240 at 15fps. If you had a jpeg it was probably 640x480, and there might... - Source: Hacker News / 11 months ago
  • Camera for wedding photos
    Flickr.com is free. just one example. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • No need for virtual DOM and controlled components
    Back in time around 2005, "Web 2.0" was a buzz about interactive websites like FlickR and YouTube not only for their social interactions, but also for using AJAX to update parts of a website without reloading the whole page. - Source: dev.to / about 1 year ago
  • Stills & Images
    Try to search it on google and see which sites let u use them. But be careful, for most sites u should link to them. Or u could try flickr.com, and ask permission for uploaders (I did that with some pics). - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Flickr

10 Best Google Picasa Alternatives You Should Use
For those of you looking specifically for a storage solution Flickr and Amazon Prime Photo are your best bet. Flickr is one of the best photo management and sharing applications in the world, and it is fairly simple to use. Once you are signed up you can explore Flickr to understand how incredible a service it really is. It provides its users with the ability to save 1000 photos for free after which the service is...
The Top Social Networking Sites People Are Using
Yahoo has also worked hard at regularly updating its mobile apps with lots of great features and functions so that it's easy and enjoyable to use from a mobile device. Users can upload 1,000 GB worth of photos for free to Flickr and use the powerful app to organize and edit them however they like.

Do you know an article comparing Flickr to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.