Software Alternatives & Reviews
Register   |   Login

Firebase Reviews

Firebase is a cloud service designed to power real-time, collaborative applications for mobile and web.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Firebase and what they use it for.
  • How To Get User Specific Data By UID in Firebase [RTDB]
    I am assuming that you already know how to create a project in Firebase, add an appropriate Firebase Product SDKs, and initialization code to your project. - Source: dev.to / 3 days ago
  • Caching the Firebase Emulator on GitHub Actions
    When testing your Firebase application, you need to download the Firebase Emulator. Fortunately, firebase-tools does that automatically for you. - Source: dev.to / 3 days ago
  • Now the market is rising and I’m stuck in temporary suspension.
    To provide our customers with the feature of logging in with a phone number, we're using a third-party service: https://firebase.google.com. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Creating New Supabase Users In NextJS
    I am currently building a SaaS (Software as a Service) website along with some other Egghead folks who are creating different types of SaaS applications. I am building this app from "scratch" and am currently in the phase of setting up authentication. For this project I am focused on learning new technology and documenting my learnings therefore I decided to try out Supabase, which is an Open Source alternative to... - Source: dev.to / 6 days ago
  • 3 steps for handling GitHub Workflow Secrets
    Look below that the Keys are exactly the same present in the step above, taking Firebase as an example here since it gives a set of values for identify the required project and it is easy to run and test, but the same logic should apply with keys of any other platform. - Source: dev.to / 8 days ago
  • Do something while app is closed
    Hey all! I've been looking around for a way to create a "background process" online but haven't had much luck. My actual use case for this is that I'm listening for an update in a specific piece of data in my Firebase database, and when it detects the update, the app sends a notification to the phone displaying the data (since it's just a string of text). If that didn't make sense, then I'm basically just sending... - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • Intro to DispatchingStore and the new Hoppscotch State System
    Another notable behaviour due the way how the store works currently is how these 'detached' systems need to be explicitly informed by the UI to perform updates. For example, Hoppscotch does syncing which is powered by Firebase (via Firestore). To make it easy to mock and to catch bugs easily, the entire implementation of what we are doing with Firestore is implemented on a single file named fb.js. It can... - Source: dev.to / 19 days ago
  • Find - an app that lets you do Command+F, but in the real world. Fast, free, and 100% offline.
    Not a good idea at all. I try to avoid Google as much as possible (as a result I'm very behind on Firebase knowledge... But whatever). - Source: Reddit / 23 days ago
  • Turn any object into a smart device. In this project, I will show you how to turn any decorative thing into an IoT smart device. You can make different projects using the methods you will see in this project.
    Thanks, actually I thought of using Firebase (https://firebase.google.com/) but it could be a bit difficult for beginners. I think IFTTT is ideal for beginners and can be used for at least a few projects =). - Source: Reddit / 27 days ago
  • App for toy rental
    Good cloud database options are Firebase's Firestore , and Amazon Web Services, and while I haven't used them, when I inevitably do, it'll probably be Firebase, so that's the one I recommend. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Firebase

Firebase Alternatives – Top 10 Competitors
Firebase continues to innovate and dominate the backend as a service (BaaS) market. It’s grown so much that it has become a key component of Google’s mobile strategy. In the past, I’ve been an enthusiastic Firebase user, but my concerns about its complexity and cost have led me to explore other cloud alternatives. While it offers an increasingly sophisticated array of services for many kinds of development...
Top 5 Alternatives to Heroku
Automatic Notifications: Firebase Notifications is a free service built on its Cloud Messaging (FCM) and the FCM SDK, enabling targeted user notifications for mobile app developers. Without manual messaging Firebase keeps two systems synchronized through automatic update notifications.
Top 10 Alternatives To Firebase
With so much going in favor of Firebase, below are the top 15 alternatives of Firebase that can become your top choices.
Firebase Alternative: 3 Open-Source ways to follow
Additionally, neither Firebase allows easy integrations with other apps nor is it possible to install your own modules on your backend. As far as scaling is concerned, even a fully managed database provider like Firebase is not a complete solution to all your scaling related concerns, as it becomes extensive once you scale your app. That’s why it’s always a better idea to choose an open source framework over...
Best alternatives for Firebase
What are the best open-source or freemium alternatives for firebase? I am interested in using Firebase both as a backend infrastructure and as a software framework.

Do you know an article comparing Firebase to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.