Software Alternatives & Reviews

FileZilla Reviews

FileZilla is an FTP, or file transfer protocol, client. It lets individuals transfer single files or batches to a web server. For many years, FTP was the standard for website design. Read more about FileZilla.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about FileZilla and what they use it for.
  • What Causes Syntax Error In WordPress? How To Fix It In Easy Ways
    If your hosting provider doesn’t offer a dedicated FTP application then you can use an FTP client like FileZilla. However, you should always connect using the more secure SFTP instead of FTP. This will ensure that the transferred files are encrypted. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • What’s the preferred method of getting ROMs/other files onto the deck?
    Once SSH is enabled, on Windows you can use WinSCP or Filezilla to browse and transfer files over the network. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Roll Your Own Static Site Host on VPS with Caddy Server
    Then you can use an FTP client like Filezilla that supports SFTP. Just be sure to use the sftp:// protocol in the URL (sftp://50.100.7.293 or sftp://your.domain.com). - Source: dev.to / 3 months ago
  • I am setting up a a webserver in my raspberry using apache 2 and i was wondering how to add photos that i have on my laptop to the webserver. the pi is setup through ssh
    To upload the files you can use SFTP. You can use a client like FileZilla or WinSCP. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Granular URL Filtering?
    Yes but for the firewall to see the content (the stuff to the right of the / ) you'll need decryption. Without decryption the only thing the firewall can see is the domain (filezilla-project.org) for both download urls. To see full path decrypt on that domain. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Why does is my Anbernic showing every game twice on the menu, even though there’s only one rom file?
    A manual way to clean up is if you install filezilla: https://filezilla-project.org/ you can browse the SD card after the copy and delete the dot files and the DS_Store files. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • MiSTer FTP over WiFi?
    I use my MiSTer with a CanaKit WiFi dongle and FileZilla. I looked up the IP address on my MiSTer, and then I set up the MiSTer login connection on FileZilla. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Dragged some videos into google drive or dropbox. How do I make it so oculus quest auto downloads them in idle times so I can just pick up and start watching? What are the closest solutions?
    Personally, I transfer files a little differently though...I sideloaded a file explorer app (Solid Explorer) that supports FTP and installed the same app on my phone. Then I set up a FTP server on my phone, connect to it on my Quest and I can transfer directly to whatever Quest folder location I want. This is all done over WiFi so no need to upload/sync anything. It makes transferring large files dead simple for... - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • How to change the FTP default protocol to windows explore?
    Use and keep updated a real ftp client eg : https://filezilla-project.org/. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • how do I get retro games on PS3 without USB and PC also how do I jailbreak without USB in PC
    I don't know what your financial situation is, but my best suggestion is to search facebook marketplace or craigslist for people selling their old laptops. You won't be able to get anything extravagant, but as long as it's capable of ethernet it should serve your purposes. Once you have that, you'll be able to connect your ps3 and computer to ethernet and use an FTP program like filezilla... - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of FileZilla

10 Best FTP Clients for WordPress Users (Mac and Windows)
One of the most popular names in the FTP game is Filezilla. Not only is FileZilla free and easy to download, but it doesn’t take long to understand the inner workings of the entire system. Although FileZilla has a bit of an outdated interface, all users are able to link to their site files and place them next to what’s being stored on a computer.
7 Best FileZilla Alternatives to Use in 2022
FileZilla is free software and an FTP application which consists of FileZilla Client and FileZilla Server. While using an FTP client, the user can upload, delete, rename, move, copy, and download files via a remote server.
6 FileZilla Alternatives for Safe File Transfers
This free, open-source, and popular FTP client for Windowsuses FTP, FTPS, SFTP, SCP, S3, and WebDAV file transfer protocols to copy files between local and remote computers (beyond the options FileZilla offers). Featuring file encryption, a command-line interface, connection tunneling, an integrated text editor that enables you to edit local and remote text files, and scripting and task automation, WinSCP is an...
7 FileZilla Alternatives: What Type of FTP Client Are You Looking for?
FileZilla, one of the most mature FTP clients, is a free, open-source program for transferring files. It is easy to connect to your FTP site with FileZilla. FileZilla works with any operating system, has a simple interface and all of the basic features you would expect from a top FTP client including support for FTPS and SFTP transfers.
6 FileZilla Alternatives for Secure File Transfer
FileZilla comes up early in searches for FTP and SFTP clients, but viable free and proprietary Filezilla alternatives do exist — some of them with more intuitive interfaces, better features, or connections to more tools.
7 Best FileZilla Alternatives You Should Try
Although, FileZilla is one of the most famous FTP clients out there, it has recently come under a lot of fire from users due to the fact that it is hosted on SourceForge, which has a reputation for packaging bloatware along with the applications. That’s not cool at all, and a lot of people are now looking for alternative software to use FTP with their websites, or their remote servers. If you are one of those...

Do you know an article comparing FileZilla to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.