Software Alternatives & Reviews

FileZilla Reviews

FileZilla is an FTP, or file transfer protocol, client. It lets individuals transfer single files or batches to a web server. For many years, FTP was the standard for website design. Read more about FileZilla.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about FileZilla and what they use it for.
  • Setting up FTP on ER605
    Ftp> open 23.xxx.xxx.xxx Connected to 23.xxx.xxx.xxx. 220-FileZilla Server 1.0.0 220 Please visit https://filezilla-project.org/ 202 UTF8 mode is always enabled. No need to send this command User (23.xxx.xxx.xxx:(none)): tester 331 Please, specify the password. Password: 230 Login successful. Ftp> ls 200 PORT command successful. 150 Starting data transfer. Aborting any active data connections... 425... - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • How to self-host Google fonts for your web application | Part 2/2: Download and provision
    Move your files to the droplet using Linux' scp or, alternatively, Filezilla. - Source: dev.to / 7 days ago
  • How in the world do I see files in this location?
    You will need something like e.g. FileZilla (https://filezilla-project.org ) or WinSCP (https://winscp.net ) and access your Qnap via those using your "admin" (or equivalent user) login credentials. - Source: Reddit / 18 days ago
  • Hosting Multiple ASP.NET Core Apps in Ubuntu Linux Server Using Apache
    Then, connect to the Linux Server using FileZilla to move the published files. Open the folder /var/www in the Linux server. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Read before posting! - FAQ Megathread XXL Edition
    ❔ How can I install games if I don't have access to the SD card? / Use Boop (Use version 1.4.0 if the game you're sending is 1GB or larger) or FTPD. Boop is PC only while FTP can be done via PC or your phone. Boop guide and FTP Phone guide for Android and Apple. FTP is easy to use on PC just use a FTP app like Filezilla. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Is there any open source software from which I can wirelessly share files between windows, linux and android without the need for internet.
    As for open-source implementation of ftp, you can check out FileZilla for Desktops (Windows, MacOS, Linux) and PrimitiveFTP for Android. If you need other platforms, just do a quick search for "standard ftp compliant client for ". - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Store and share passwords among Linux, Mac and Windows in a local network
    Alternatively if you don't like CLI, there are GUI options such as WinSCP on Windows and Transmit by Panic on Mac and Filezilla on both. - Source: dev.to / 2 months ago
  • n00bie with all this, I want to play some of the Atari classic with my grandchildren so I purchased Atari retro gaming sd card. When I load it doesn't do anything. I've tried it both on Pi 4 2gb and Pi 3b+ models. Nothing! What I'm I doing wrong. There where no instructions with the package.
    I like Filezilla if you're on Windows, you need the client. Go to add and you can add by IP address, and supply a username and password, then it's as easy as click and drag from one folder to another. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • ELS : Entertainment Library Synchronizer, Version 2.2.0
    Standard SFTP such as Filezilla may interactively connect to ELS when in listener mode. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • file transfer smartwatch
    Firstly, you'll need to install an FTP program on your PC - I use FileZilla https://filezilla-project.org/ which works on Windows/Mac/Linux. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of FileZilla

7 FileZilla Alternatives: What Type of FTP Client Are You Looking for?
FileZilla, one of the most mature FTP clients, is a free, open-source program for transferring files. It is easy to connect to your FTP site with FileZilla. FileZilla works with any operating system, has a simple interface and all of the basic features you would expect from a top FTP client including support for FTPS and SFTP transfers.
6 FileZilla Alternatives for Secure File Transfer
FileZilla comes up early in searches for FTP and SFTP clients, but viable free and proprietary Filezilla alternatives do exist — some of them with more intuitive interfaces, better features, or connections to more tools.
7 Best FileZilla Alternatives You Should Try
Although, FileZilla is one of the most famous FTP clients out there, it has recently come under a lot of fire from users due to the fact that it is hosted on SourceForge, which has a reputation for packaging bloatware along with the applications. That’s not cool at all, and a lot of people are now looking for alternative software to use FTP with their websites, or their remote servers. If you are one of those...

Do you know an article comparing FileZilla to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.