Software Alternatives & Reviews

Electrum Reviews

Electrum is an easy to use Bitcoin client.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Electrum and what they use it for.
  • is it safe to withdraw directly onto coinbase?
    You don't need a hard wallet setup, just a "middle" wallet. To be even safer, Wasabi Wallet will mix it for free up to 0.01 btc. Https://wasabiwallet.io/ Otherwise, Electrum works well. Https://electrum.org/. - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • Cold | Hardware storage without use of Ledger, Trezor etc...
    ATTENTION: The only legitimate source from which Electrum can be obtained is https://electrum.org. By using the Electrum installation that comes with Tails (https://tails.boum.org is the only legitimate place to obtain Tails from), you're introducing one possibly weak link into your setup. Same goes for downloading the Electrum app on Android. While the Google Play Store might be relatively secure, as is Tails,... - Source: Reddit / 29 days ago
  • Coin base closing my account out of the blue
    Get a wallet and withdraw your funds. For your amount something like Green Wallet (https://blockstream.com/green/) or Electrum (electrum.org/) should suffice. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Verification Failing - Stephan vs Thomas
    Noob, using a Mac and GPGtools suite. Following instructions from electrum.org. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Verifying Download Staphan not Thomas
    New to this... Using a mac...followed instructions on electrum.org. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Wallet suggestions?
    Https://electrum.org - Solid choice, Open Source and Non-Custodial, one of the oldest and most trusted Bitcoin Wallets. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • I found my old keys but I don't have a wallet
    Install Electrum https://electrum.org/ and then import your private key https://bitcoinelectrum.com/importing-your-private-keys-into-electrum. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Question on securing coins
    Install the OS and then an Electrum wallet from electrum.org . Be carefully you have the latest version and verify that it wasn't manipulated while downloaded. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Has someone used bitcoin.electrum-web-wallet.com? (NOT legit Electrum address, potential scam! )
    So I went to this website on my sacrificial VM. I created a new wallet and got a 12 word seed. I created another and got a different seed. OK. I input the second seed into the real electrum wallet from https://electrum.org/ and selected 'BIP39' and the m/84'/0'/0' and I notice the receive address matches the one produced by the website. I haven't tested actually sending/receiving Bitcoin because websites should... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • when did trust wallet introduce fees?
    You want a great open source wallet? Go for Electrum. But only download it from https://electrum.org and at best verify the pgp-signatures to make sure you aren't installing any malicious software. It's explained on their website how the verification is done. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Electrum

Top 10 Best Bitcoin Wallets of 2021
Electrum is one of the oldest Bitcoin wallets you can find. The wallet, which used to be a desktop client alone, is now also available on mobile. Electrum is compatible with multiple operating systems such as Windows, Mac, and Linux. The wallet is an open source software wallet. Over the years, several developers have contributed to its source code. Website: www.electrum.org
20 BEST Bitcoin Wallets | Top Crypto Wallets in 2021
Electrum is the oldest Bitcoin wallets available in the market. It offers excellent privacy features and keeps your Bitcoins secure. It is the bitcoin wallet that good privacy features and keeps your Bitcoins secure.

Do you know an article comparing Electrum to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.