Software Alternatives & Reviews

ElasticSearch Reviews

Elasticsearch is an open source, distributed, RESTful search engine.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about ElasticSearch and what they use it for.
  • Creating a modern, SaaS website.. what am I missing?
    I can't figure out where I have to go to get more or less of a custom, premium website. I should mention that I look up to websites like elastic.co for example, would be very happy with something like that. I could really use some guidance! - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Ask HN: Who is hiring? (October 2022)
    Elastic | Multiple software engineering roles | REMOTE (EMEA) | Full-time | https://elastic.co Elastic offers solutions for security and observability that are built on a single, open technology stack that can be deployed anywhere. Elastic Security enables security teams to prevent, detect, and respond to attacks with a solution built atop the speed and reliable of the Elastic stack. The Security External... - Source: Hacker News / 6 months ago
  • Seeking clarification about which part of ElasticSearch to use for our website
    I have been trying to digest the elastic.co website to try to understand how we can use elastic search, but I've come to a point where I'm not sure which part of elastic, (if any) makes sense for us. In fact I am royally confused. I wonder if anyone here can help clarify? - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Why is it so bloody difficult to get pricing information ?
    The overall cost for the cluster is being determined, it'll just be three nodes, but the CPUs, RAM and storage are variable dependant on the license cost. Less license fee = more money for hardware. So we can't give elastic.co a set in stone spec, depending on their license fee we could have a few dozen permutations on the platform. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • After adding more winlogbeat streams, Kibana Discover is no longer loading documents
    Use the search on https://elastic.co to lookup "oversharded" and "circuit breaker" for more details. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Architecture for Logstash and how to deploy
    In all honesty, your best bet is to head over to http://elastic.co and have a look at some of the introductory docs and videos explaining the various Elastic products and what they do. They'll answer all your questions. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Best value SIEM for medium business? How to tell when you should switch to a new SIEM?
    You can let you engineers test out ELK directly through elastic.co for very cheap, starting at roughly 2 cents per hour to launch a small instance. It's extremely user friendly. I love the product. It's great and cheap hosted by its developer (Elastic), it's an awesome SIEM, and Logz.io neuters it. - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • Moving to elastic.co managed - what settings / control do we lose ?
    TBH I'm just after a shopping list of what we lose if/when we move to elastic.co. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Can you please point me at some good documentation on hardware suggestions?
    I'm trying to find documentation on a smaller scale infra. Right now I have a single node, but I'm wanting to get three up since that is the recommendation per the docs at elastic.co. The thought being - one dies then the cluster is still there between the two still up. I'd like to get into the replication and things like that. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Sync redshift and elasticsearch
    I'm working on a project where will push redshift data into elasticsearch. Not sure if it matters, but the elasticsearch cluster will be hosted on elastic.co. What are some good solutions to this? - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Ask HN: Who is hiring? (September 2021)
    Elastic | Full-Time | Remote, Global | https://elastic.co Elastic -- you know, for search. Elastic is the creator of the open-source search engine Elasticsearch. We're expanding our footprint to bring at-scale security, o11y and search solutions to our eager and passionate global community. To better understand our customers and those who love Elastic, the UX team is looking to hire our first, lead UX Researcher.... - Source: Hacker News / over 1 year ago
  • step by step guide tell you how to build a website like apkmirror
    There are many free apk download websites such as apkmirror, today I will tell you how to build a website like apkmirror, the programming language I used is node.js, the database I used is mongodb, search engine used is elasticsearch, the web framework I use is eggjs. - Source: dev.to / over 1 year ago
  • NetFlow recommendation
    If you have anyone experienced with Docker and or a linux sysadmin around to help, it won't be too bad. The elastiflow.com documentation website will get you about 2/3 of the way there. All the other bits were me trying to decipher elastic.co documentation. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • SIEM on AWS
    We run something like this on AWS but we pay elastic.co to host it for us (https://www.elastic.co/security) so we only concentrate on sending event info in and making the kibana dashboards we need. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Ask HN: Who is hiring? (June 2021)
    Elastic | Full-Time | Remote, Global | https://elastic.co | Elastic -- we're the company behind the Elastic Stack — that's Elasticsearch, Kibana, Beats, and Logstash. From stock quotes to Twitter streams, Apache logs to WordPress blogs, we help people explore and analyze their data differently using the power of search. We have a number of openings within Elastic Observability which provides our customers with a... - Source: Hacker News / almost 2 years ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of ElasticSearch

Top 10 Site Search Software Tools & Plugins for 2022
Elasticsearch is built for human users, which means that it’s equipped to handle mistakes that humans often make such as typos. This helps to improve search relevance and enhance the overall search experience. It offers real-time crawling, which automatically detects changes in content and ensures that search results are fresh and relevant.
4 Leading Enterprise Search Software to Look For in 2022
“ We’ve built some big data search and mobile desktop applications that help our customers experience fast natural language search. Some applications require this, where I need to find data, I don’t want to build some complex query, I just need to ask the system “help me search for this information, narrow my results” and I don't want to wait several seconds. We’ve built a set of technologies. One we call EDGE,...
Best Elasticsearch alternatives for search
However, when it comes to dealing with synonyms (i.e. ‘smart phone’ for ‘Samsung Galaxy’), slang (i.e. ‘kicks’ for ‘Nike Air Jordans’) and context (i.e. ‘car park’ is different to ‘dog park’) – you have to set up a bunch of manual rules/definitions with Elasticsearch and co.
5 Open-Source Search Engines For your Website
Elasticsearch provides key features like Advanced Full-Text Search Capabilities like Data indexing, Search capabilities including phrases, wildcards, auto suggestions, filters & facets, etc... Elasticsearch can also be used for other use-cases like
MeiliSearch: Zero-config alternative to Elasticsearch, made in Rust | Hacker News
Often ElasticSearch makes a mistake in typing because the programmer has made a mistake in data format, if you fixed that mistake your data would now not fit the format that ElasticSearch has chosen for it (actually don't know if this is still a problem because it has been years since I have ran without all my fields being mapped first) but actually don't see how it couldn't be a problem.
Any good alternatives to Algolia? Or even a package you can install and use locally?
They are looking for an alternative to Algolia, hosted search, because of price. Hosted ElasticSearch generally costs even more.
20+ MongoDB Alternatives You Should Know About
Elastic While not a perfect choice for every MongoDB workload, for workloads where document data is searched and analyzed ElasticSearch can be a great alternative.
Elasticsearch vs. Solr vs. Sphinx: Best Open Source Search Platform Comparison
Amazon Elasticsearch Service allows for quick and easy setup and operates and scales Elasticsearch in the cloud without the necessity to configure your own servers.
Algolia Review – A Hosted Search API Reviewed
If you’re not 100% satisfied with Algolia, there are always alternative methods to accomplish similar results, such as Solr (open-source & self-hosted) or ElasticSearch (open-source or hosted). Both of these are built on Apache Lucene, and their search syntax is very similar. Amazon Elasticsearch Service provides a fully managed Elasticsearch service which makes it easy to deploy, operate, and scale Elasticsearch...

Do you know an article comparing ElasticSearch to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.