Software Alternatives & Reviews

Duolingo Reviews

Duolingo is a free language learning app for iOS, Windows and Android devices. The app makes learning a new language fun by breaking learning into small lessons where you can earn points and move up through the levels. Read more about Duolingo.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Duolingo and what they use it for.
  • Shockingly in the UK only 52% of students pass their Maths G.C.S.E.
    Kahn Academy is really good for STEM, but I don't think they do any languages. DuoLingo is a good app for that, though, and it has a good free plan. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • IS there ANYWAY to run REAL native Android OS on a fire hd 2021 10''
    Barely. You cant restrict time on a specific app. You are limited to Amazon Apps (things like DUOLINGO are a fake app shortcut which reroutes you to Amazon Silk's web browser and duolingo.com). Further there is no way to actually set time to "learn before" UNLESS you use Amazon's pre-designated education apps. - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • I’m 14 and scared to live in America.
    Go to duolingo.com. It's free and helps you to learn a new language. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • Can’t remove language
    You can use your phone if you want, open any browser, (DO NOT USE THE APP) go to duolingo.com then click on the 3 dots' icon in the top right (for chrome) and select desktop site. Click on your profile picture > settings > learning languages > reset or remove languages, then remove it :). - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Thoughts on ILoveLanguages videos?
    Duolingo has a course in Gaelic, and apparently it's pretty good for learning the basics. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Has anyone ever had success launching a website on Kickstarter that is a service, not a product? Explanation inside.
    So I've been working for a while now on a website that most closely resembles something like https://indeed.com, https://zillow.com, https://duolingo.com, or even https://kickstarter.com itself. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Crofty 😡
    Duolingo.com is the key to that sweet sweet neutral, impartial, unbiased and fair commentary. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Please help my mom be motivated. [Discussion]
    See your GP about her comments re what is the point in living. She needs to get motivated herself. She could try studying the multitude of subjects on these free university course websites, edx.com and coursera.com - even Harvard have some courses on there. She could try learning a language on duolingo.com, she could join a gym, some kind of social lunch meet up group on meetup.com, she could do an exercise or... - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Learning Spanish with Duolingo. Fellow dyslexics have any tips, tricks, advice?
    I have been using Duolingo for a week now and I have to say they have gameified the learning experience very well. I used to play an arcade game on my phone for 10mins whenever I was bored but now I just learn another language! I get the same thrill of beating a level in a game. I don’t feel overwhelmed by it (yet) and they do a good job of incorporating a variety of ways to reinforce what I've learned. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • My French teacher gave us graded homework about something we haven’t learned yet. I think it’s about subject pronouns and the verb être. I need help I hate her so much. How am I supposed to do this and understand? Can anyone explain it?
    I'm licensed to teach French, but I'm definitely not native! To me grammar is just like math - very structured/logical (...somewhat - at least these exercises are.) Just be careful not to hate your teacher, what ends up happening is that you develop disdain for the teacher and, by consequence, the subject material. Both of these will demoralize you and you'll end up doing poorly - which you'll blame on the... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Duolingo

2 Great Apps Review: LingoDeer Vs Duolingo
As I already said in my Lingvist Vs Duolingo Review, I really don't like the fact that Duolingo is trying to do too much to give all the options in the world to its users. Sure, it's nice to have both, a smartphone app and the web app. But, I think that is the main reason Duolingo doesn't try harder to fix bugs based on users' complaints. I have sent many reports about the bug on the app and the desktop version in...
Top 5 Flashcard Apps for 2020
Anyway, TinyCards mobile app by Duolingo brings spaced retention at the tip of your fingers through flashcards. The best part of TinyCards is its design: it looks quite elegant and has a colorful interface which stands out . Good design is a great motivation to learn new stuff!
6 Best Flashcard Apps to improve Visual Memory
A powerful flashcard app that uses spaced repetition to make your studies more efficient and effective. Duolingo's new app Tinycards will help you learn a lot more than just languages. The app creates flashcard based lessons on a number of topics to help you memorize everything from Spanish vocabulary to world geography. Tinycards like most apps lets you create your own flashcards and add a text or an image to the...
500 Days of Duolingo: What You Can (and Can't) Learn From a Language App
Memrise offers similar lessons to Duolingo, introducing new words and phrases with flashcards, listening exercises, and more. However, the app has a few unique features: on new words, you can write a note (called a “mem”) with anything that helps you remember the new word or phrase. These will appear later when you come across the word again. It also offers a feature called Learn With Locals, which pairs words...
11 Best Sites Like Coursera For Online Learning
The best way to learn a completely new language is to play games with it. That’s not a joke instead that the whole model of operations for the new language teaching service known as Duolingo. If you want to learn languages that include but not limited to English, German, Italian, Turkish, French, Spanish, etc then Duolingo is the perfect service for you because it gamifies the learning experience. You will be...

Do you know an article comparing Duolingo to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.