Software Alternatives & Reviews

Dropbox Reviews

Online Sync and File Sharing

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    good cloud service

    It's much more convenient than GoogleDrive. I frequently use it to share my projects on freelance platforms. This is reliable cloud storage with many features

    🏁 Competitors: Google Drive
    👍 Pros:    Reliable|Convenient|Easy to use
    👎 Cons:    Found none

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Dropbox and what they use it for.
  • 3.3 economy
    Huh. This may take a more in depth look to solve, guess and check is likely to miss a lot. If you upload your save file to a file hosting site like dropbox.com and post the link, I'll take a look and see what advice I can come up with. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Tell HN: 1Password shares passwords you don't want shared
    > What if https://bitwarden.com/ gets hacked They only store the encrypted vaults, which is useless without your master password. So even if it is hacked, the only thing the hackers get is an encrypted blob. > you can use that own its own without an online account. That is because KeePassX/KeePassXC is an offline app that reads a database (.kdbx file) you have on your computer. Bitwarden is for people who want to... - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • Winamp . Did you have it?
    I don’t know why you’re getting so many downvotes, it’s true. It looks like a near ripoff of the colors and fonts of https://dropbox.com. Winamp was so fun back in the day because it was edgy and shiny and didn’t look like windows media player or the other more mainstream vanilla players out there. I hope the player brings that feeling back, instead of just looking like Spotify or Apple Music with slightly... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Weird Traffic being generated to Destination IPs (Amazon CloudFront) - Affected Network badly
    Weirdly, the client doesn't have Zoom installed, they're Teams users. The Resolved Domain seems to always be different when sifting through the logs, guessing this changes depending on the service it connects with. Also, in some logs I see "dstowner: dropbox.com" just not sure what that refers too. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Cannot connect to dropbox.com
    Only on my PC I cannot connect to only the website dropbox.com, even on other browsers with incognito mode. However, I can connect perfectly fine on other devices such as mobile. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Hide a specific email from search results
    If he doesn't have access to the device/computer where you saved it, then he won't be able to find it. If you can't restrict access, you may want to hide it online somewhere (like dropbox.com, Google docs, or the like). - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • New to dropbox. Question about sharing.
    When I go to dropbox.com I get what I consider an actual app and it shows my account with the file I am sharing. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Software as a Service (SaaS) Risks and Challenges
    Software as a Service (SaaS) applications have transformed businesses over the last decade with enormous value. SaaS solutions have enabled and empowered businesses to continue operating during the pandemic with a remote workforce whose tools are cloud-based instead of office-based or desktop-based. These SaaS applications include anything from office software to communications tools. Some of the most popular... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Biolgical pop assembly not working
    If you upload the save file to a file hosting site like dropbox.com and post a link to it, I'll take a look and see if I can figure it out. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Can we please stop recommending ElementaryOS to beginners?
    Still, I am not fully convinced. If you want to install zoom it's already available by default in the software center of ubuntu via snap, and for dropbox you would need to download the .deb from dropbox.com and doubleclick it to install. Not perfect but I guess not much harder than to use an .exe on windows. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Dropbox

The Best Google Drive Alternatives for 2022: Ditching Big Brother
Dropbox is the OG cloud storage platform. As the cloud service that started it all, it offers one of the most polished and user-friendly experiences, as well as integration with both Office 365 and Google Workspace. However, it gives you only 2GB of free file storage, and a Dropbox subscription isn’t cheap, though the extra features might make it worth it.
Google Drive alternatives: Best picks
Dropbox is a great competitor to Google Drive. It’s easy to use, encrypts your data in transit and at rest, and offers two-factor authentication. It also has much stricter rules on who can share and edit your documents. However, only Dropbox Professional or Business customers can use extra features like link sharing, manual sharing permission changes, or remote file wiping. It’s also good to know that Dropbox runs...
pCloud vs Dropbox: Security vs Convenience in 2021
Dropbox also offers two paid personal plans (see our Dropbox pricing guide). Dropbox Plus comes with 2TB of storage for $11.99 per month, or $9.99 per month if paid annually. Dropbox Professional gives you 3TB of storage for $19.99 per month, or $16.38 per month if paid annually (we have guides on how to cancel Dropbox and how to delete your Dropbox account, in case you need to).
Looking for Dropbox Alternatives? These 5 Should Be on Your List
Yes.Google Drive is a perfect alternative for Dropbox. Even though some features are not as good as the ones that pCloud and Sync.com can offer, this service is still an outstanding solution for almost any user. In a pool of different selections, Google Drive is one of the “safest” choices you can make, and it’s an ideal replacement for Dropbox.
IDrive vs Dropbox vs pCloud
In terms of interface, we think Dropbox is the clear winner, with pCloud not too far behind. Dropbox provides users with reliable, well-designed, and bug-free apps across all platforms. We’ve never had any issues over multiple years of using Dropbox. It truly is a premium performer, something that is reflected in its premium price tag (discussed later on in this article).
Best backup software solutions of 2020: paid systems for backing up work
Dropbox is another cloud server that allows you to save important documents online, again being free to use with the same limitations as above. But as before, the ability to save a smaller number of essential files, such as for work, study, creative projects, and similar, can be invaluable.
13 Best Free Dropbox Alternatives for File Sharing
Dropbox has turned into a very effective company as well as that success has not been predicated on an unsatisfactory item. Dropbox, in fact, is an excellent item, particularly in its free of cost incarnation. If you share files by having an additional user, Dropbox will provide you pc alert when they add a little something to the folder that you share or when they change a little something in that folder. The...
11 Best iTunes Alternatives for iPhone, iPod and iPad
Dropbox is a well-known name in the cloud storage industry and being a storage platform and compatible with iOS, it also lets you transfer files to and from your iPhones and iPads. It also comes with a free 2 GB storage space in the cloud. Besides transferring your media files, you can also categorize your photos as well as preview them offline.
Top 11 Best Dropbox Alternatives in 2020: Which Is The Most Secure?
On top of that, Dropbox integrates with Microsoft Office Online, which lets you edit Word, Excel and PowerPoint documents from the Dropbox web interface. Plus, Dropbox has a useful note-taking app called Dropbox Paper that lets you make notes and more, which we explore in our Dropbox Paper review.
8 Best Dropbox Alternatives
If you’re looking for a great computer backup and cloud storage solution, you’ll fall head over heels in love with Backblaze. They are cheaper than Dropbox, offer unlimited storage, and have no traffic restrictions. On top of that, Backblaze offers you more beginner-friendly defaults than Dropbox. Their service is more secure, too, making Backblaze a great alternative to Dropbox.
Running Out of Room in Dropbox? Here are 11 Dropbox Alternatives That Offer WAY More Free Cloud Storage
One of the most popular cloud-based storage sites is Dropbox. The biggest problem with Dropbox is its limited storage space (2 GB on a free account, with opportunity to earn more by sharing the service with friends).
10 top file-sharing services: Dropbox, Box, Google Drive, OneDrive, and more
It’s nearly impossible to talk about Box without mentioning Dropbox (and vice versa), as the two are frequently pitted against each other. Box has always been geared toward businesses and enterprises, while Dropbox used to be largely focused on consumers and SMBs. But both services now include enterprise collaboration features and cloud content management via integrations with Google Workspace, Microsoft...

Do you know an article comparing Dropbox to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.