Software Alternatives & Reviews

DEV.to Reviews

Where software engineers connect, build their resumes, and grow.

Latest User Reviews

  1.  
    It is a nice mini-blog, it's for free and such but

    As a mini-blog, it is a nice alternative for Medium to publish and share information about programming.

    However, the community and the organization are biased toward social justice (and they are open to it). You can read its Code of Conduct, it is so vague and politically leads (I prefer a term of service because it defines fair rules for everybody). So it alienates developers that we don't care about politics in pro of people that want to talk about any other topic such as sexuality, how women are unprivileged, and such. It even mandates to use inclusive language. Good grief.

    My main complaint is the quality of the community. It is not StackOverflow (so we don't want to ask for an answer here), and most of the top topics are clickbait, such as "how to become a rockstar developer in ... days", "100 tips to become a better programmer" (and it doesn't even talk about programming).

    Technically this "mini blog" site allows us to use markdown, and it is okay. However, the whole experience is really basic. Even the template is ugly.

    🏁 Competitors: Medium
    👍 Pros:    Free
    👎 Cons:    Social justice|Basic features|Quality of content

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about DEV.to and what they use it for.
  • Velocity Based Animation with Compose
    This is a sample project to demonstrate the concepts outlined in my article about Velocity Based Animation with Compose. - Source: dev.to / 17 days ago
  • How to add jQuery DataTables to NuxtJS 2
    Hello everyone... This is first my article in dev.to Today I'm share to you about How to add jQuery DataTables to NuxtJS 2. And here I use the css framework from bootstrap with version 5.1.x. - Source: dev.to / 12 days ago
  • Cookies & Sessions in Rails
    When you type https://dev.to/ into your browser and hit enter, your browser begins to send a request to the Web server for the page. First, the browser looks on your hard drive for a cookie file that dev.to may have set. If it finds a cookie, it will send the encrypted cookie data along with the URL to dev.to's server. - Source: dev.to / 13 days ago
  • Project Documentation; Day 1
    I am currently working on a project and one way to keep myself accountable is to document my thought process and challenges. Why did I choose dev.to to publish them, I don't know yet. - Source: dev.to / 16 days ago
  • Use Django and the Dev.to API to Display Posts
    From django.shortcuts import render Import requests From .models import Article Def get_articles(request): all_articles = {} API_KEY = 'Your_API_KEY' url = 'https://dev.to/api/articles/me/published' headers = {'api-key': API_KEY} response = requests.get(url, headers=headers) data = response.json() for i, item in enumerate(data): article_data = Article( ... - Source: dev.to / 17 days ago
  • ¿Cómo usar la api de Dev.to para escribir un post?
    Export default async function writeToDevTo(post) { const article = { title: post.title, body_markdown: post.content, published: true, main_image: post.image, canonical_url: post.canonicalUrl description: post.description, tags: 'javascript, spanish, webdev' }; try { const res = await fetch('https://dev.to/api/articles', { ... - Source: dev.to / 18 days ago
  • SQL Proof of Concept for Collating Different Article Feed Selection Criteria for DEV.to
    I previously wrote about the Diving into Dev’s Relevancy Feed Builder. And what follows is a quick proof of concept regarding a possible feature for the DEV.to feed. - Source: dev.to / 28 days ago
  • Make your own Blog with SvelteKit and dev.to api
    export async function load({ fetch }) { let articles; try { articles = await fetch(`https://dev.to/api/articles?username=theether0`); articles = await articles.json(); } catch (e) { console.log(e); } return { props: { articles } }; } ... - Source: dev.to / 29 days ago
  • Three Reasons Why Blogging Makes You A Better Developer
    Start small - You don't have to create your own blog from the beginning. Find a website with a low barrier to entry for your first post. There are plenty of sites out there like dev.to, hashnode, and Medium that let you get started for free. Get comfortable with the process and your writing skills before you go out and cross-post your content everywhere. - Source: dev.to / 30 days ago
  • Python: Flask-RESTX and the Swagger UI automatic documentation.
    My new post -- I don't mean to do cross promotion. I do apologise if this is too rude. This post would be hard to follow on https://dev.to as I'm referencing line numbers in codes -- which https://dev.to does not currently support. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago

Do you know an article comparing DEV.to to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.