Software Alternatives & Reviews

Cryptomator Reviews

When it comes to saving your files on a cloud server, it is important to ensure the security of those files. Keeping your delicate files out of the wrong hands can save you a lot of time and hassle. Read more about Cryptomator.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Cryptomator and what they use it for.
  • Hertzner or other cloud encryption question
    Sure thing! Have a look at cryptomator. The files are encrypted on your computer before they are uploaded to the server. You still need some synchronization backend. You could use Hetzner StorageBox oder StorageShare. Both can be mounted as local storage some way or the other. The latter is a hosted nextcloud instance which also supports end-to-end encryption in the Nextcloud app. Maybe that would be even easier. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Amazon Photos just ate 240,364 of my photos
    I use Cryptomator ( https://cryptomator.org/ ) for sensitive stuff. It offers transparent encryption across Linux, windows, MacOS, iOS and Android. - Source: Hacker News / 12 days ago
  • Synology DSM 7.2 Beta NOW LIVE
    I went the other way. I moved everything to the cloud and installed Cryptomator on everybody’s phones. It also registers as a file provider, and seamlessly encrypts everything you put in it. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Simple encryption of portable storage device of cross platform use. IOS/MacOS/Linux
    Not sure on what device but https://cryptomator.org/ has pretty good cross platform support. - Source: Reddit / 22 days ago
  • Prepping for Flooding
    Use something like Cryptomator (GUI) or Rclone (CLI) to upload your documents encrypted so even Google can't snoop. Completely safe and off site. - Source: Reddit / 26 days ago
  • Linux software list. Discussion and advice welcome!
    Cryptomator - data encryption for all file types and folders. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • looking for a secure and reliable storage option
    If you just want zero-knowledge encryption, then the good news is if you use Cryptomator then you can make ANY provider zero-knowledge. So if there's one particular company you just really like, but that's the only thing missing, then just use Cryptomator with it – it's super easy to use. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • What's everyone's favorite cloud/sync friendly encryption nowadays?
    I mostly use https://cryptomator.org, since the tool is offered for different operating systems. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Where should I back up aegis?
    A detailed explanation can be found on the website: https://cryptomator.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Encrypted drive with automatic sync for Linux?
    I've only used the desktop client for Cryptomator on Windows but they have a Linux one too. Creates an encrypted folder which you then put in your non-encrypted untrustworthy cloud sync folder (Dropbox, Google Drive, or whatever). - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • wallet file storage
    I would say yes but I'd recommend encrypting the data with like https://cryptomator.org/. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Encryption questions
    Uy/ernie1601 posted this, looks pretty good. https://cryptomator.org/ ? - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Encryption questions
    Did you look at cryptomator https://cryptomator.org/ ? It does have an mac and ios client. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • Best Simple Security Practices for Protecting Self and Tendies - Final Repost for Visibility!
    - First, I would utilize a FOSS program like Cryptomator. What this does is create an encrypted space where you can throw in anything and everything and then lock it. This space can also be stored in a Google Drive account (or any online storage really), while actually remaining encrypted. Create and store the random-gen password in your Bitwarden account. And guess what?! This is also available for all major... - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • What are some of the essential non-traditional macOS apps that you use for productivity and/or development?
    Since there's an encryption software mentioned, I'm using Cryptomator (https://cryptomator.org/) to encrypt all my cloud data. The cryptomator vaults are mapped as own Volumes and therefore data can be easily accessed. Also sharing between different devices (Mac <-> iPhone, ...) is quite easy. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Syncthing + Web Server (Nextcloud/OwnCloud/other): File encryption for data-at-rest!
    Maybe something like https://cryptomator.org/ ? - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Question regarding encrypting file before uploading them to the cloud
    You might want to have a look at https://www.boxcryptor.com/en/ . I use it on Windows, Mac and iOS devices. It is much easier to handle than encrypting ZIPs and is transparent when used. You can also have a look at the open source, cost free https://cryptomator.org/ . - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Do you know what’s in the cloud?
    The cloud is just someone else's computer. But I'm not gonna lie: in-case of a house destroying event, it's nice to have an off-prem solution for getting your data back when the worst comes to worst. For me I use Cryptomator[0] so Big Tech can't make arbitrary value judgements on my data or perform data mining, or scan people's faces to feed a facial recognition database, or otherwise abuse my photos or data. [0]... - Source: Hacker News / 3 months ago
  • How do you all encrypt files to store in the cloud / or locally?
    Have a look at Cryptomator for encrypting files for cloud storage. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • DO NOT store copies of MP3s into your OneDrive.
    Cryptomator is even bettter for cloud storage purposes, but can't go wrong with Veracrypt either. Both are free and fantastic. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • My recent experience recovering my Monero GUI Wallet
    Agreed. Even with E2E cloud you could always encrypt it with PGP and store the encrypted copy in Bitwarden as you suggested. I haven’t personally used this but it looks like an interesting open source project (Cryptomator) but there are also plenty of ways to easily encrypt a file on Windows/Linux with just a few keystrokes or clicks.. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Cryptomator

6 TrueCrypt Alternatives for Reliable Data Encryption
Cryptomator is a great free encryption software tool for users looking to encrypt individual files rather than a large volume of data as seen with TrueCrypt or other alternatives mentioned here. This makes sense if you update only a few files regularly and the rest of your files remain relatively unchanged. Cryptomator is supported on Windows, Mac, and Linux operating systems and acts as a client-side encryption...
15 Best Rclone Alternatives 2022
With Cryptomator, what you get is a simple digital protection tool. Rclone syncs your files to cloud storage, while Cryptomator syncs and locks your files to cloud storage. Cryptomator gives you access to your files on any device and only you hold the keys to access them.
5 Best TrueCrypt Alternatives - Open source encryption apps
Cryptomator for the desktop works on a pay what you want model. It can be had for free, but users are encouraged to donate towards its development. The mobile apps (which support fingerprint unlock) cost $8.99 at time of writing.
16 Tresorit Alternatives
Cryptomator will be giving you the full permission in which you can choose to encrypt the whole of your data on your series of workstations or top of any cloud devices or any storage media. It will be working all through the creation of the virtual device right through which the encrypted content can be readily displayed.

Do you know an article comparing Cryptomator to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.