Software Alternatives & Reviews

Coursera

Build skills with courses, certificates, and degrees online from world-class universities and companies

Education Online Courses Online Learning

Coursera Reviews and details

Coursera Landing Page
Coursera Landing Page

Coursera Features

  • Headquarters: Mountain View, CA

Videos

The Best Open Online Courses - Coursera, Udacity, edX Review

Review: My Experience with Coursera

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about Coursera and what they use it for.
  • Found out my Professor for Fall 2023 Python Course is one of the worst reviewed professors at the school
    In terms of structure, consider following a book like Python for Everybody or Automate the Boring Stuff With Python. One of the hard parts of learning a language like python on your own is knowing what you should learn and the order you should learn it in--resources like these books or online courses you can find on Coursera are great for helping with that. Source: 7 days ago
  • Online programming courses
    You can try searching something up on coursera.org or edx.org. Source: 13 days ago
  • Beginners who maybe lost and don't know where to start when learning tech
    Start off with this sub for general guidance and read around to see what type of programming you want to learn r/learnprogramming Use these websites for free, make a new email register for a course without a payment method and use the audit option to learn for free, both sites are legal and have courses from top universities. Edx.org and coursera.org. Source: 27 days ago
  • Cannot access coursera.org website right now
    I was trying to get into coursera.org. I also tried some other links and gave me the same error, but right now it is working. No idea what could have it been. Source: about 1 month ago
  • Advice on Math and Science?
    I've been using edx.org & coursera.org to prepare for college classes. Source: about 2 months ago
  • Is the online degree in Data Science by IIT-M worth it?
    Just get a regular degree and learn data science from freecodecamp.com for free or from coursera.org by spending a few bucks (around 10k-30k). I am not recommending YouTube because it's best only for learning popular programming languages, but if you want to learn something advance to enter job market then you need to do it from an actual coding platform. Source: about 2 months ago
  • Looking for resources to self learn about internet and networking
    Coursera.org have a bunch of courses from free stuff like these or you could even do a paid for Google IT support cert which goes deep into networking... Source: 2 months ago
  • I'm thinking about learning coding
    Scripting is very useful period. Go to edx.org or coursera.org and watch some python courses. I recommend python for everybody on coursera. Source: 2 months ago
  • what would YOU do in this situation?
    So start on a cash diet. The only money you have is the cash you have in your wallet. Hun you're pregnant your new full time on top of hormones and the insanity that is the world around us.....you are doing really good really you are. There are some good recommendations down below so won't add to it but what I will say is take a breath put it all on paper like back in the day list it out what you think you... Source: 3 months ago
  • Vivaldi has bizarre issue when loading one particular website
    I've encountered a weird issue with coursera.org when opened in Vivaldi. The browser moves everything in this website to the far right while presenting on the left only the forward and backwards buttons. Source: 4 months ago
  • Could anyone please suggest to me some good "Writing Courses"??
    Yes. Go to Coursera I did many courses with them. I was issued with certificates for them all. Highly recommended. Source: 4 months ago
  • Re-entering work force after a long break and looking for resources.
    I highly recommend checking out the courses on edx.org, coursera.org and other MOOC providers. They have a price tag for a lot of the courses but you can "audit" them for free. Basically skip the certificate, but see the content. Source: 4 months ago
  • Looking for financial advisor or education
    OP: add on - this coursera.org Fundamental Investing course will help you (US focus but the ideas will help you; don’t take the paid version. Take the free on (aka audit the course): link. Source: 5 months ago
  • Looking for survival instructor advice
    Has he considered applying to work at an outfitters or wilderness survival camp? A good way to learn the ropes, and decide what kind of terrain, level of experience etc he wants to be involved with. There are other things like coursera.org which does have some credits that would transfer over and show he was serious. Does he have any real life experience or skills that could/would make him stand out? Source: 5 months ago
  • How to download coursera.org videos.
    Have the need to download coursera.org videos offline? There is only coursera.org downloader for Windows version, want to also find a Mac coursera.org downloader to download videos from coursera.org on Mac computer? Wonder how to directly download coursera.org videos to any video or audio fomat like donwload coursera.org to MP4, download videos from coursera.org to AVI, or MP3? Looking forward to find a way to... Source: 5 months ago
  • Pano maging SMM?? Pahelp namaaaaaaaan huhu
    I'm assuming you already know what an SMM is but for refreshing the memory... here's what the definition is according to coursera.org. Source: 5 months ago
  • How to download coursera.org videos.
    As a streaming video service, you can watch all coursera.org movies, including original series, TV shows and films for free on all supported devices, like Roku, Android, Xbox, Apple TV, PS3, iPhone, etc. But when speaking of downloading coursera.org movies, it is not as easy as watching free online, and you will get help from a coursera.org Downloader. Source: 5 months ago
  • What online bootcamps do you recommend?
    There are platforms that offer courses in regards to game development in (coursera.org, gamedev.tv, udemy.com). Just make sure to check the contents of the course before investing time and money. Source: 5 months ago
  • Anyone else knocking out a few sections on Christmas Eve?
    Currently I am on coursera.org & sophia.org to knock out some credits. Source: 5 months ago
  • Career change help
    What are some good resources for teaching myself how to make ML programs? I'd eventually like to become self employed. (due to lack of a degree of any kind). Im aware of website like edx.org and coursera.org but If you're going to suggest them, I'd prefer a specific class. I find most of the ones I attempt on my own ones that the professor doesnt really care about and are just handled by assistants who are there... Source: 6 months ago
  • 28yo german studying bussiness admin with no IT skills exept playing games, reddit and youtube. a little bit above average iq but not too much, maybe even just average. do i have a chance and how can i start teaching it myself. ty.
    Since you lack mathematics and statistics required to be good/useful in data science, I would also learn those (at a university level). The following edx.org and coursera.org courses are good indications. Again, I would pay and study these officially. Exams, for what they are worth, are a good way to test yourself - no point in "thinking" that you have understood the material. Take exams from official institutions. Source: 6 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Coursera

Top 57 Thinkific Alternatives: Best 7 & Other 50 Platforms
Coursera is an educational platform that specializes in engineering and business. However, you can find various other types of courses there as well. If we are spilling the tea, it is worth mentioning that even some of the world-class universities offer courses through Coursera.
10 Moodle Alternatives
If you’re a team lead who wishes to use Coursera to manage your team’s L&D, you should consider the more costly Coursera for Business option. While this Moodle alternative is better suited for people seeking certification, Coursera can still be used to improve worker training programs.
10 Best Codecademy Alternatives in 2022
We think Coursera is the better platform because it offers courses and Specializations by educational institutions like Duke and Yale. These courses are often higher quality than Codecademy and tend to dive deeper into concepts. For more information on Coursera, you can check out what we have to say in today's article.
Sites Like Codecademy: 6 Best Codecademy Alternatives
To quickly find out if a course is included in Coursera Plus, look for “Included with Coursera Plus” under the enrollment button.
10 Textsheet Alternatives | Free Sites Like Textsheet 2020
Coursera is the free alternative to Textsheet and a wonderful one especially if you need research papers. Today, it offers more than 4000 online courses to more than 40 million active users. This is one of the best platforms for research as it gives you access to a huge database for resources along with learning material.
Need an Alternative to Udemy? Here are Some Top online Learning sites
Coursera is meant for those who want to study subjects from Universities that are the creme de la creme globally. Several Ivy League universities like MIT and Harvard are among the several institutions that offer courses on Coursera. These range across subjects from humanities and social sciences to life sciences and technology. Coursera has a part-free and part-paid model.
6 places to take free and affordable classes online, on everything from programming to photography
Newsletter Sign up for a daily selection of our best stories — based on your reading preferences. Loading Something is loading. Email address By clicking ‘Sign up’, you agree to receive marketing emails from Business Insider as well as other partner offers and accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. More: Features Insider Picks 2020 Education Coursera Chevron icon It indicates an expandable section or...
New Coursera Alternatives – Which Is Best for You? (2020 UPDATE)
Whatever your reason for looking for a Coursera alternative, you need to find the right option fast, so you can improve your skills or get a better job. In this article, I’ll compare both popular and new Coursera alternatives, so you can decide which online learning platform works best for you.
Best sites & Alternatives to Udemy (2020)
Coursera is another leading online learning platform as they come with 10 unique courses with which the associated university will officially issue you a certificate of completion. However, this website is only for the candidates who want to study subjects from universities including Harvard, Stanford, Duke, MIT, and more.
CreativeLive Alternatives
Coursera partners with instructors from renown colleges to offer a variety of classes, including the creative arts. Instead of simply watching video lectures, Coursera offers an interactive experience with auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments as well as community discussion forums. Once you complete a course, you’ll be eligible to receive a shareable electronic Course Certification for a small fee.
Coursera Alternatives
If you’ve looked into Coursera to help you learn, you’re probably well aware of its many educational opportunities. Coursera offers over a 3,000 online classes from more than 100 partners worldwide including John Hopkins University, University of London, Arizona State University, and Peking University. Over 37 million users have turned to Coursera for individual courses, specialized programs, and even online degrees.
9 Online Learning Platforms for Quality Professional Development
If you want to develop a variety of skills, Coursera will give you the breadth of options you want without sacrificing quality. With roots in the Computer Science department at Stanford, its early offerings focused on STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math). Now Coursera now offers over 2,700 courses in almost any field imaginable.
Udemy Alternatives: 10 Best Online Learning Sites Like Udemy
Coursera is considered as the best alternative for Udemy; although it has lesser number of courses comparatively, they are tough to be top university professors. You can join most courses for free to boost your learning and even if you want to receive certification for your skills, you can get it by paying a reasonable amount. You will be happy to know that Coursera even offers full-time masters and bachelor’s...
11 Best Sites Like Coursera For Online Learning
Coursera is one of the top most online learning platforms for students. Anyone can signup and enrol in different courses for free and earn a completion certificate upon the completion of their specific role. However, there are some subjects that may not be available on Coursera but that doesn’t mean you can’t learn those online. You can always learn anything you want on different Coursera alternatives that we have...
10 Top Sites For Online Education
Coursera has a wide diversity of subjects available to choose from; everything from data science to musical theory. As Coursera prides itself on being accessible to everyone, many of the courses are either free or very cheap to to take, with only the official certification at the end having a higher cost involved.

Do you know an article comparing Coursera to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Generic Coursera discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about Coursera. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.