Software Alternatives & Reviews

ConEmu Reviews

ConEmu-Maximus5 is a full-featured local terminal for Windows devs, admins and users. Get better console window with tabs, splits, Quake style, copy+paste, DosBox and PuTTY integration, and much more.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about ConEmu and what they use it for.
  • My Development Setup
    Moving on to software, we have the Windows Terminal. I used ConEmu with Powershell until I found Windows Terminal easier to use. And after enabling Windows Subsystem for Linux on my PC, I use it with Ubuntu 20.04.4 LTS. I replaced bash with Z shell, and with the plugin oh-my-zsh, it's easy to make command-line magic. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Win server manager or Win admin center?
    The tools I use the most (for general administration) are RSAT, VSCode, RDCMan, and PowerShell (via ConEmu, but the new Windows Terminal is nice too). I also do a bunch of deployment related stuff in the SCCM console, the Microsoft Deployment Toolkit (MDT) console, and Lansweeper. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Best terminal emulator with good-enough compatibility to run `emacs -nw` adequately
    Yeah that or instead, ConEmu itself I guess. If ConEmu won't do it then it probably won't work natively on Windows to begin with so I'm that confident about it (plus it's very customizable) :D. - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Make your console look amazing and use Linux commands on Windows 11 and older
    As I mentioned earlier, I’ve used several consoles, but it’s ConEmu that has kept me coming back to it happily. It’s very flexible and configurable! ConEmu can be downloaded directly from the developer's website here. - Source: dev.to / 8 months ago
  • For those that work in IT Admin, what are the key Powershell Commands that every admin should know?
    I also love ConEmu so I always have a PS window handy. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Moving to macOS after 10 years of running solely Linux
    Thanks! I have worked for a client with Windows only, too. I achieved a more terminal based workflow by utilizing WSL, VSC remote code, and ConEmu. Basically, Windows was only a host for Outlook and VPN. My work was done solely in a WSL environment running Ubuntu (and all my dotfiles). - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • Install Tmux on Git for Windows
    In the new Git Bash instance, launch a new Tmux session normally by running tmux. You should see the usual Tmux status bar and you'll be able to use the normal Tmux functions and keyboard shortcuts. Likewise, if you run Git Bash (again, the MinTTY version) in ConEmu, Tmux works just fine in it, as well. - Source: dev.to / 10 months ago
  • Display Current Git Branch on iTerm2
    As a Windows user, I generally use Conemu Console for my console and it has a sweet future in which you can see the current git branch on the terminal. After using Mac I wanted to see the same future on iTerm2. I found the way and I want to share it with you 🙂. - Source: dev.to / 11 months ago
  • Tips for developers switching from Windows to Mac
    ConEmu was my go-to terminal on Windows and so I was pretty bummed out when I realised that it wasn't supported on Mac. After asking some folks on my team, they suggested iTerm2 and I must admit it's equally fantastic. - Source: dev.to / 11 months ago
  • Windows Terminal Preview 1.10 Release
    I'll still hold on to ConEmu as my Win terminal. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of ConEmu

7 Best Free Terminal Emulators For Windows 10/11 in 2022
It is free and open-source software that is built on the popular console emulator known as ConEmu. It is used to add enhancements from clink that provide bash style completion. Moreover, it also presents UNIX capabilities by extending them with PowerShell, MinnTTY, myysgit and Cygwin.
30 best PuTTY alternatives for SSH clients for 2020
Cmder is a straight-forward terminal emulator for Windows. The program runs on Windows and it is a combination of the ConEmu terminal emulation program with a Unix-like scripting language that works on Windows. The terminal emulator doesn’t have any encryption, so it would only be suitable for connections on private networks. The tool also lacks a file transfer system.

Do you know an article comparing ConEmu to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.