Software Alternatives & Reviews

CodePen Reviews

A front end web development playground.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about CodePen and what they use it for.
  • [C] - Help please! Nested structures and dynamic memory allocation
    If your code is more than 10 lines long please upload your code to a site such as Codepen.io, CodeSandbox.io, Github, or any other online IDE to create a live example of the problem that you can link to. You may repost with a link to your code online if this was the reason for your post being removed. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Are there any websites to store and edit code files?
    I would recommend https://codesandbox.io/ or https://codepen.io/ if the project is smaller. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Is there a plugin for seeing a live preview of HTML/CSS/JS?
    I use markdown-preview.nvim for getting a live preview when editing Markdown files. But is there something similar for web development? I really enjoyed using codepen.io which has this. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Are the different colors in my html file telling me I'm doing something wrong?
    I'm trying to show my code in codepen.io but it doesnt seem to work. Looking into it. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • My love letter to CodePen
    When I think about tools that I use on an almost daily base, CodePen sparks my mind. - Source: dev.to / 21 days ago
  • How to save SVG code to image file?
    Hi. Just getting started with creating art with SVG. Once I have the SVG code, what's the easiest way to export to image file? I'm using https://codepen.io/. - Source: Reddit / 22 days ago
  • C++ Looping Help!!
    If your code is more than 10 lines long please upload your code to a site such as Codepen.io, CodeSandbox.io, Github, or any other online IDE to create a live example of the problem that you can link to. You may repost with a link to your code online if this was the reason for your post being removed. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago
  • newbie help...content only centered on auto and not when I specify a pixel amount
    I have everything below but the specific block I'm trying to adjust is the global .container block to set the margins. I even tried this on codepen.io and it only applies the margin to the left and leaves a huge margin on the right side. I am 1000% sure this is human error on my end but I'm just not seeing it. - Source: Reddit / 30 days ago
  • Self thought programmers of Reddit: are you full-time, side-job or hobby programming rn?
    I've spent a lot of time on codepen.io when I was starting out. Basically I went to dribbble, searched for stuff like "card design" or whatever specific element and I would try and code it. Also codepen has a lot of inspiration for what you can achieve with CSS only or javascript libraries. Most of the popular ones are way over the top stuff like 3d animations and stuff but I still find it fun to browse sometimes.... - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago
  • Any Idea How They Animate This? (detail in comment)
    Their library is also usable out of the box on codepen.io if you wanted to experiment with it. Here are their official pens if you want to take a look at the examples. Obviously its a long road to these amazing Genshin pages, but you have to start somewhere! Https://codepen.io/GreenSock. - Source: Reddit / about 1 month ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of CodePen

Top 25 websites for coding challenge and competition [Updated for 2021]
CodePen is a cool online IDE that allows you to write code in your browser and see the result just as you build it. CodePen challenges is a place for leveling up your skills by building things. Each week, new challenges appear for you to tackle, and the best “Pens” get picked.
6 Coding Playgrounds For Web Developers
Codepen is probably one of the most popular coding playgrounds out there. Chris Coyier of CSS Tricks is a co-founder/co-creator of Codepen, which probably explains why this web app looks grand. Aside from its sleek visuals, Codepen displays live previews of the changes you make in its editor, making it easier to see cause and effect.

Do you know an article comparing CodePen to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.