Software Alternatives & Reviews

CodePen Reviews

A front end web development playground.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about CodePen and what they use it for.
  • Any ideas on implementing such an animation: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/313774299048440881/
    You can probably find implementations, js and all on codepen.io 👍🏼 search card swipe or something. - Source: Reddit / 4 days ago
  • New to Javascript
    Any good IDE like VSCode will do this, especially if running an extension like live-server, but you will get the same syntax highlighting on Codepen as well. Love you sign up for a free account, you can practice coding in a little environment that will reveal these errors on the console. - Source: Reddit / 11 days ago
  • The Complete Guide to a Career in Web Development: Basic Concepts and Getting Started
    The absolute easiest way for someone with no experience at all to start building their own website or web app is to use a tool called Codepen. - Source: dev.to / 12 days ago
  • Can someone explain to my why this code works please and thank you
    An interactive example of the code in something like JSFiddle, Codepen, repl.it, etc. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • Help me, New to JS
    Bro no one is going to read this, put your code in a codepen. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • How do I iterate over nested json data?
    Like everyone else said, check out the documentation. Specifically v-for loops, and class binding will be what you need to accomplish something like this. Also, the nuances for how you write the code depend on if you're just using Vue via script tag or have a project set up through NPM or Yarn. If you want to make a Codepen to show us the code you've already written we could help more directly. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Front End Web Development Podcasts
    I found Shop Talk Show very recently and have been really enjoying it. Dave Rupert is a fun guy to listen to and his site is super awesome! If you don't know the name Chris Coyier, I am sure you have seen a thing he Co-founded called CodePen, and used to run a small site called CSS-Tricks. So lets just say they are really smart guys, that have on really smart. - Source: dev.to / 22 days ago
  • Function Currying: Javascript Questions
    If you've managed to come this far, congratulations! Currying is an extremely important topic from an interview point of view as well as real world use-cases. I'd again recommend coding out the examples over codepen or your local IDE. Hope you enjoyed the article! Thanks for the read! - Source: dev.to / 24 days ago
  • I need serious help..
    You need to learn how to solve problems with CSS and HTML. How to create different things with it. I would just browse codepen.io and find some CSS-only demos and read the code how it was implemented and try to understand it. Try something simple at the beginning. - Source: Reddit / 24 days ago
  • Need Help With CSS Twitch Chat Code!
    For the future, it helps a lot when you're asking for advice to try to reduce the case down to the minimum amount of code to reproduce it (you also might discover the answer just in the course of doing that) and rather than pasting things in comments directly use something like CodePen or JSFiddle or the like where we can see the different parts interacting live and adjust things to help you diagnose what's going on. - Source: Reddit / 28 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of CodePen

8 Best Replit Alternatives & Competitors in 2022 (Free & Paid) - Software Discover
Codepen is a social development environment for front-end designers and developers. Build and deploy a website, show off your work, build test cases to learn.
Best Online Code Editors For Web Developers
Probably the most popular online code editor. CodePen is fast, easy to use, and allows a web developer to write and share HTML/CSS/JS code online.
Top 25 websites for coding challenge and competition [Updated for 2021]
CodePen is a cool online IDE that allows you to write code in your browser and see the result just as you build it. CodePen challenges is a place for leveling up your skills by building things. Each week, new challenges appear for you to tackle, and the best “Pens” get picked.
6 Coding Playgrounds For Web Developers
Codepen is probably one of the most popular coding playgrounds out there. Chris Coyier of CSS Tricks is a co-founder/co-creator of Codepen, which probably explains why this web app looks grand. Aside from its sleek visuals, Codepen displays live previews of the changes you make in its editor, making it easier to see cause and effect.

Do you know an article comparing CodePen to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.