Software Alternatives & Reviews

Capistrano Reviews

A remote server automation and deployment tool written in Ruby

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Capistrano and what they use it for.
  • Type of programming language.
    I think Capistrano is a good example. Their homepage snippet shows you what a DSL is. - Source: Reddit / 9 days ago
  • Peace - Zero Stress Automation framework + website
    I think it's something like https://capistranorb.com/. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • How do I learn production/deployment process?
    That should give you lots of stuff to research but I'll leave you with a final point: Every project is going to be different. Use the right tool for the right job; for a small application you definitely don't need Kubernetes, you might be fine without any pipeline at all. For example, Ruby on Rails projects can use a tool called capistrano to script deploys and you can run that from your local machine any time you... - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Jenkins CI or CI/CD
    I personally consider Jenkins a Task Runner that has a massive collection of CI plugins. Anyone can do deployments/delivery from a task runner, but any deployments I had to do in Jenkins ended up needing custom code written to do the actual work. This isn't unique to Jenkins; before the days of kubernetes, we had tools like capistrano or Config Management tools like Chef and Puppet that were capable of doing... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • How were applications deployed before the advent of containers?
    Two deployment techs I use for non-containerized apps work in roughly the same way. Capistrano And Deployer. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • What can I use as a deployment tool in Node?
    I have a Ruby background where I used to have Capistrano https://capistranorb.com/ for this reason. I was setting up the IP Address, path, SSH credentials, github repository and by executing a command I was able to deploy to a remote server. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Run Your Rails App On Kubernetes: A Step-by-Step Tutorial
    The deployment process generally includes making the new version available, directing traffic from the old to the new version, and stopping the old versions. Capistrano has been doing this since 2006. However, what makes Kubernetes deployments better is the minimum number of pods required, and its rollout strategy minimizes or eliminates downtime. For example, a rolling update strategy can ensure new pods... - Source: dev.to / about 1 year ago
  • How do you deploy your Laravel app?
    Has worked well for us on various projects for the past 18 months - prior to that we were using Capistrano. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • What’s the difference between frontend and backend?
    Finally, the application must be transferred to the server. Except for Microsoft web technologies, the rest use Linux servers, so the backend developer needs to have the knowledge to setup and optimize this operating system. So, with the help of a deployment tool (like Capistrano ), only the changes are transferred. - Source: dev.to / about 2 years ago

Do you know an article comparing Capistrano to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.