Software Alternatives & Reviews

bitwarden Reviews

Bitwarden is a free and open source password management solution for individuals, teams, and business organizations.

Latest User Reviews

  1. Stan Bright avatar
     
    A great password management tool

    I moved from 1Password to Bitwarden about half a year ago. I never looked back, and I've never missed anything. The UI might be a touch clunkier than 1Password, but it's still good and perfectly usable on the whole. What is more, it is open-source and people can inspect its code.

    🏁 Competitors: 1Password, Dashlane
    👍 Pros:    Open-source|Free

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about bitwarden and what they use it for.
  • Just switched from Chrome to Firefox because of the upcoming enforcement of Manifest V3.
    r/Bitwarden - Great free, open source, and cross compatible password manager: Https://bitwarden.com/. - Source: Reddit / 6 days ago
  • Default browser.
    Use Bitwarden. Cross-platform and works on everything. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • You're (probably) on a list
    Use a password manager. LastPass and 1Password are most popular, I’m fond of BitWarden: https://bitwarden.com/. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • Android fans, what are the primary reasons why you will never ever switch to an Iphone?
    Firefox: I generally prefer open-source software, and Firefox is my browser of choice. Firefox on Android is great because it allows you to use extensions like Bitwarden, uBlock Origin, and Dark Reader. I also use Firefox to send tabs between my devices. - Source: Reddit / 7 days ago
  • My PayPal Account Was Compromised
    Https://bitwarden.com I personally use this one and it's dirt cheap at $10/yr (Online). - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • New Homeowner's Guide 101
    I also organize my passwords in a password manager - BitWarden. It’s free, open source, and helps me stay much more organized while keeping my passwords secure. - Source: Reddit / 8 days ago
  • LastPass confirms hackers had access to internal systems for several days
    Bitwarden is another popular FOSS alternative with a freemium model. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • meirl
    Also, use a password manager like https://bitwarden.com with a new and strong password as master password. - Source: Reddit / 12 days ago
  • Do u recommend me to save my password on my chrome browser?
    That is a really bad thing to do. You will get a lot better security and compatibility with all your devices with an actual password manager like Bitwarden. - Source: Reddit / 14 days ago
  • Final ratio before I shutdown my server
    Bitwarden: Password manager. (Self hosting it). - Source: Reddit / 16 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of bitwarden

9 Best KeePass Alternatives
For those who prefer to use open-source software, Bitwarden is the way to go. The free version is also distributed under the GPL, but some features require that you obtain a paid license. Unlike KeePass, Bitwarden places an emphasis on ease of use and covers the same range of features as other leading password managers.
The Best Password Managers To Keep Your Data Safe In 2022
BitWarden is a best-of-all worlds password manager that combines a fully-functional, cross-platform free tier, as well as paid personal, family and business tiers on BitWarden's service. BitWarden has desktop clients for Windows, macOS and Linux, mobile apps for Android and iOS, and browser extensions for most popular browsers and their derivatives.
Top 5 Bitwarden Password Manager Alternatives
Do you have more passwords than you can keep track? Most of us have a hard time remembering all of our passwords. The good news is there are applications that do that for you. One of them is Bitwarden. This open-source application is one of the best free password managers. There is a paid subscription plan as well. Today, we will talk about how to use Bitwarden, what are some alternatives, and how good is the...
7 Best LastPass Alternatives
Bitwarden is a free open-source password manager. It offers apps for all platforms including Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, and iOS. It also comes with browser extensions for all modern browsers. Moreover, if you are tech-savvy or a web developer, you can even access Bitwarden from a command-line interface. The best part about Bitwarden is that, if you want, you can set it up on your own custom server for free.
The Best Password Managers
The only downside is that BitWarden doesn’t feature a full offline mode, but as LifeHacker reader binaryvisions points out: “an entire sync of your vault occurs when you log in,” so you can technically use BitWarden even if you’re offline as long as you’ve synced your most recent password data.

Do you know an article comparing bitwarden to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.