Software Alternatives & Reviews

bitwarden Reviews

Bitwarden is a free and open source password management solution for individuals, teams, and business organizations.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    A great password management tool

    I moved from 1Password to Bitwarden about half a year ago. I never looked back, and I've never missed anything. The UI might be a touch clunkier than 1Password, but it's still good and perfectly usable on the whole. What is more, it is open-source and people can inspect its code.

    🏁 Competitors: 1Password, Dashlane
    👍 Pros:    Open-source|Free

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about bitwarden and what they use it for.
  • My wife's stalker filed a marriage license without her knowledge in another state
    Since LastPass changed their pricing scheme, I've moved mine too BitWarden: https://bitwarden.com/. - Source: Reddit / 1 day ago
  • What is one invention that you are 100% sure was only invented to annoy you?
    Password managers are made for (among others) this reason…. - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Level up your digital security hygiene! Cybersec Charcha #5
    Most password managers also come with other features like Autofill and Generate Random Passwords. In some instances, the autofill feature can also help identify phishing websites, especially if this is a website for which you have stored a password in your manager already. The Generate Random Passwords feature helps you generate complex passwords without having to actually come up with one. The best passwords are... - Source: Reddit / 2 days ago
  • Thank you discord, for using 200gb of wifi in the last month <3
    Though for passwords, I recommend you check out Bitwarden. - Source: Reddit / 5 days ago
  • What’s your workflow for creating backups?
    Ill run TailOS, go to bitwarden.com download my vault. Once I have my vault, I go offline and mount both containers and and transfer the new QR codes/Secret Keys, and update valut over to my main. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • What are your favorite privacy tools
    BitWarden, to store all my passwords on Mac and iPhone. I used LastPass in the past but BitWarden is open-source; Https://bitwarden.com/. - Source: dev.to / 17 days ago
  • Dear EA, Epic, Ubisoft, Rockstar... Stop signing me out of your damn launcher!
    I recommend using BitWarden. Also supports apps on your phone. Basic personal and 2 person org accounts are free. You can also self host it for free via a docker container. - Source: Reddit / 19 days ago
  • What are some crypto related apps that are a must have on your phone?
    Link for the lazy: https://bitwarden.com/. - Source: Reddit / 20 days ago
  • Got a login warning on iPhone and haven’t gotten much information out of Apple
    Use a password manager to automatically generate strong, unique passwords for each account. Examples of good options are 1Password and Bitwarden. If you only use Apple devices, iCloud Keychain is also fine for this purpose. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago
  • Should I be worried
    Change your passwords, I used to use the same password on multiple sites a lot. I got Bitwarden and now I have unique passwords for every account I own. - Source: Reddit / 21 days ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of bitwarden

Top 5 Bitwarden Password Manager Alternatives
Do you have more passwords than you can keep track? Most of us have a hard time remembering all of our passwords. The good news is there are applications that do that for you. One of them is Bitwarden. This open-source application is one of the best free password managers. There is a paid subscription plan as well. Today, we will talk about how to use Bitwarden, what are some alternatives, and how good is the...
7 Best LastPass Alternatives
Bitwarden is a free open-source password manager. It offers apps for all platforms including Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, and iOS. It also comes with browser extensions for all modern browsers. Moreover, if you are tech-savvy or a web developer, you can even access Bitwarden from a command-line interface. The best part about Bitwarden is that, if you want, you can set it up on your own custom server for free.
The Best Password Managers
The only downside is that BitWarden doesn’t feature a full offline mode, but as LifeHacker reader binaryvisions points out: “an entire sync of your vault occurs when you log in,” so you can technically use BitWarden even if you’re offline as long as you’ve synced your most recent password data.

Do you know an article comparing bitwarden to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.