Software Alternatives & Reviews

Bitly Reviews

Get the most out of your social and online marketing efforts. Own, understand and activate your best audience through the power of the link with Bitly Enterprise.

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Bitly Review - Amazing Experience.

    Bitly is a URL shortening service and a link management platform. The company Bitly, Inc., was established in 2008. It is privately held and based in New York City. Bitly shortens 600 million links per month, for social networking, SMS, and email. Bitly makes money by charging for access to aggregate data created because of many people using the shortened URLs.

    The Bitly URL shortening service became popular on Twitter after it became the default URL shortening service on the website on May 6, 2009. It was subsequently replaced by Twitter's own t.co service.

    The company uses HTTP 301 redirects for its links. The shortcuts are intended to be permanent and cannot be changed once they are created. URLs that are shortened with the bitly service use the bit.ly domain or any other generic domain that the service offers.

    🏁 Competitors: Rebrandly, TinyURL, Polr

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Bitly and what they use it for.
  • System Design: The complete course
    Let's design a URL shortener, similar to services like Bitly, TinyURL. - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • Creating a URL Shortener service in Python Django
    URL shorteners have become a popular service on the web. Companies like bitly are making great fortunes from them. But sometimes when you want a custom URL you get to pay for the service. So in this tutorial I am going to show you how to build a URL shortener service in Django. - Source: dev.to / about 2 months ago
  • Build a URL Shortener with NodeJS
    Hey there! In this tutorial, we'll create a URL shortener that works similarly to bit.ly or tinyurl. Our URL shortener will simply take in a URL which is arbitrarily long and shortens it to look so small so it can be shared easily. - Source: dev.to / 5 months ago
  • How to make a GitHub Profile views counter using Bitly links
    Go to https://bitly.com/, if you don't have a Bitly account, create one. And if you have one, just log in. - Source: dev.to / 8 months ago
  • .com is taken. What should I choose?
    There is a famous .ly (Libya) domain that was taken away. That could be why bit.ly now redirects to bitly.com. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • I Built My Own TinyURL. Here’s How I Did It
    Designing a URL shortener such as TinyURL and Bitly is one of the most common system design interview questions in software engineering. - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • Seven URL Shortener
    Here, We wil be buliding a URL shortener, a service that takes any URL and generates a short URL, similar to tinyurl or bit.ly. - Source: dev.to / 10 months ago
  • Let's create a URL expander with Node.JS
    There are many tools like bitly, shorturl etc. Through which we can convert our long and messy URL into a short and better looking URL. For example https://www.youtube.com/c/AngleBrace can become shorturl.at/asIW4. - Source: dev.to / 10 months ago
  • bit.ly is blocked in my region. if i replace bit.ly with bitly.com, it works. but doing this every times is irritating. is there any extension or way to solve this?
    // ==UserScript== // @name bit.ly to bitly.com // @namespace bitly-to-bitly-redirect // @version 1.0.0 // @description Redirects bit.ly to bitly.com // @author CripplingPoison // @match https://bit.ly/* // @match https://www.bit.ly/* // @noframes // @grant none // @run-at document-start // ==/UserScript== Window.location.replace('https://bitly.com' +... - Source: Reddit / 11 months ago
  • URL shortener with Elixir Phoenix 1.6 and LiveView
    I wanted to make a simple URL shortnener app like Bitly using Phoenix.LiveView. - Source: dev.to / 11 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Bitly

112 Best Chrome Extensions You Should Try (2021 List)
Bitly is one of the best URL shorteners to customize and shrink long links into shorter attractive looking links. If you do social media marketing, links are an internal part of your campaigns. You should make sure that you are using URL shorteners to increase click-through rates. How to use Bitly Chrome extension? Once you install it, connect the extension to the Bitly account. Afterward, go to any webpage and...
The 8 Best Alternatives to Google URL Shortener
Bitly is a full-service, business-grade URL shortener. If your needs are modest, you can use it anonymously to shorten long URLs and be on your way. But Bitly really stands out for its business offering. Part of the appeal is that Bitly is so simple and easy to use. It has a comprehensive dashboard where you can track over 20 real-time data points, including the location of your visitors, organic shares, and more....
The 5 Best Alternatives to Google URL Shortener
Bitly is a full service, business-grade URL shortener, although if your needs are modest, you can also use it anonymously to shorten long URLs and be on your way. But it stands out for its business offering. Part of the appeal is that Bit.ly is simple and easy to use. It has a comprehensive dashboard where you can track statistics about your links, such as click-through rates, geographic data of people visiting...

Do you know an article comparing Bitly to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.