Software Alternatives & Reviews

Basecamp Reviews

A simple and elegant project management system.

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Basecamp and what they use it for.
  • Calendar Heroes: Megan Killion, Founder & CEO at MK Consulting
    I'm also really, really strict about my blocks of time, and I didn't use to be. I used to say, well, the time's blocked for this, but I want to do this, so I'm going to do that. And now, I really ask myself, why don't I want to do that other thing? Is it a cop out? Am I trying to avoid something I don't want to do? Am I procrastinating? Or is this really a higher priority than that? And if it is, we need to make a... - Source: dev.to / 21 days ago
  • Breaking Up Rails Monoliths and Contact-Driven API Development with Dmitry Pashkevich
    Dmitry: Sure. And I'll preface this by saying monolithic architecture is great. It makes sense to start with, in most cases, and you can get great mileage out of it. DHH from Basecamp has a fantastic article called The Majestic Monolith something-something where he makes this point. And at Calendly, we have only started seeing the limits of the monolithic architecture maybe a couple of years ago. We are talking... - Source: dev.to / about 1 month ago
  • EU states looking for MS Teams/O365 alternatives
    I believe it will come back. France is working on Bleu [1] which looks very similar to what Germany and Microsoft tried back then. In the mean time I think startups like Basecamp [2] that can provide a compliant alternative right now would get quite a lot of customers. One way of doing it is partnering with a European company to provide the same service out of reach to the US government. [1]:... - Source: Hacker News / about 2 months ago
  • What font is being used in the Refactoring UI book?
    There are tools like those listed in this subreddit's sidebar, but I recognised it myself, since Graphik is fairly popular nowadays, used by The Hill, Kodak, GrubHub (paragraphs), Digg, Basecamp, etc. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • Upcoming AmA with Jason Fried: "Founder & CEO at Basecamp (also makers of HEY.com). Non-serial entrepreneur, serial author"
    Jason Fried is the Founder & CEO @Basecamp, the project management and team communication tool trusted by millions. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • How to Change Link Underline Color with CSS
    Last night, when I look at Basecamp website, I notice an interesting CSS stuff. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • I have been tasked with setting up the basics for a project/company a few friends are working on. Looking for recommendations outside of what I'm familiar with.
    Check out Basecamp (https://basecamp.com/). They have a free Personal tier to play around (and for smaller teams). It has a "chat" feature but it's not nearly as robust as Slack/Teams.etc.. But maybe it does the job for what you're needing. The project management aspect is straightforward (which is nice for non-tech-savvy users). - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • IT startup that has received explosive growth over past 2 years, best project management software to handle 40-50 various sized projects at once?
    Some other PM softwares I've tried that just didn't hit the mark for being to complex to setup and trust, not harnessing necessary features at a good cost, lack of integrations, etc.: clubhouse.io, Trello, Basecamp, Wrike, Zoho Projects, AirTable. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • How can I help create an effective team for my senior project?
    Use a shared space online and make everyone aware that they should be checking it frequently. For example - https://basecamp.com/. - Source: Reddit / 5 months ago
  • Show HN: I built mmm.page → dead simple, drag and drop personal website creator
    Not sure if this is what you mean, but I thought Basecamp's homepage kinda resembles MMM's landing page: https://basecamp.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of Basecamp

The 8 Best Basecamp Alternatives for Your Projects
At a glance: The best Basecamp alternatives to use for project managementWhat to look for in a Basecamp alternative1. Offers competitive pricing2. Offers more features3. Appeals to a different marketThe best Basecamp alternatives for project managementBest free software: FreedcampBest for creative projects: AirtableBest for enterprise: MavenlinkBest for the value: PodioBest for convenience: monday.comBest for...
22 Best Wrike Alternatives For Project Management in 2020 (Free & Paid)
Based in Chicago, IL, USA, Basecamp is one of the most familiar project management tools for project managers and business professionals. Basecamp simplifies project management so that it’s easily understood by most people. Basecamp makes the list of Wrike alternatives because sometimes users need to check out a more simple way to manage projects.
The 6 Best Basecamp Alternatives
Basecamp has always been a top project management solution due to the fact that it charges a flat monthly fee regardless of how many users you have and is jam-packed with features. That being said, the unorthodox Basecamp pricing system has put it in a rather awkward position.
50 Best Project Management Tools for 2019
Basecamp is one of the most popular online pm tool today. It combines all the necessary features at one place helping project members to know what to do and make sure nothing slips through the cracks.
The Top 9 Wrike Alternatives For Project Management in 2019 (Free & Paid!)
However, both Basecamp and Wrike are really lacking as solid project management alternatives in one key area: design and usability. Basecamp is super simple to use–no doubt about it–but they’ve opted to keep a no-frills interface that doesn’t allow for much creativity or collaboration. Wrike’s design is similarly outdated, with far too many items crowding out a screen.
10+ Best Chat Apps for Team Collaboration (Free and Paid)
The campfire was merged with Basecamp sometime back but continues to offer some of the best features for team projects.
The 7 Best Basecamp Alternatives To Improve Your Projects
There’s no doubt that Basecamp changed project management, team collaboration and productivity for the better. But, things evolve and new technologies and perspectives emerge. What may have worked in the past to assign tasks and projects may no longer be relevant. It could be time to choose a new alternative to Basecamp. To start, see why ClickUp was rated one of the best project management software programs by...
ActiveCollab is not a Basecamp Alternative
"ActiveCollab looked like the perfect “next step” from Basecamp because it had a similar clean interface but provided all the extras we were looking for. We immediately cancelled our other subscriptions and eagerly copied our projects into ActiveCollab." Mark Gjaltema CEO @ Rebel Projects
The Top 9 Alternatives To Monday.com
One area where Basecamp is often seem to fall behind other tools is on the design front with the overall look and feel coming across as more dated. That said, Basecamp is an ideal alternative to Monday.com for teams who don’t mind paying for software but don’t feel they can justify the higher cost of Monday.com. In fact, Basecamp is just $99 per month regardless of your team size.
The Top 5 Free Basecamp Alternatives To Use in 2018
Basecamp is one of the project management tools that provides its customers with a concise but focused set of features. With its growing number of subscribers, Basecamp seems to be gaining credibility and popularity with consumers.
10 All Time Best Basecamp Alternatives for Project Management
Well, Teamwork went on to have a detailed overview of how it has all the features that are missing in Basecamp. Starting with project boards, time tracking, , recurring tasks, task assignment of multiple people to one task, advanced privacy options- Teamwork kind of built itself keeping Basecamp in mind I think! To add to that, they also list down reviews from ex-Basecamp users who now use TeamworkPM. Seems like...
Asana alternatives – which is the best project management app? (2018)
This is simple task management around projects, but it works. The concept is similar to that used by Basecamp, another giant when it comes to project management software.

Do you know an article comparing Basecamp to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.