Software Alternatives & Reviews

ASP.NET

ASP.NET is a free web framework for building great Web sites and Web applications using HTML, CSS and JavaScript.

Web Framework Developer Tools PHP MVC Framework

ASP.NET Reviews and details

ASP.NET Landing Page
ASP.NET Landing Page

Videos

Build Rating and Review System in ASP.NET MVC and Entity Framework

ASP.NET MVC - Review 0

IMDeanyP Movie Review Site - ASP.NET / C# / SQL Server / MVC / Entity Framework

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on various public social media platforms and blogs. They can help you see what people think about ASP.NET and what they use it for.
  • Is ASP.NET Core the next step in my career being an ASP.NET MVC developer? Or are there other technologies I should look at?
    Sorry for the possibly dumb questions. But then does .NET 5 have a "Model View Controller" workflow? I'm seeing ASP.NET still exists. But it's just "ASP.NET", no "MVC" or "Core" attached to the end. And they seem to recommend Blazor instead of C# which is something I only know the name of. Source: 4 months ago
  • Mixing GCloud and F#
    Cloud functions run aspnet core under the hood, but since it is a controlled environment it was designed in a way that the only concern you should worry about is running your function so all of the usual boilerplate related to adding services, middleware or enabling features is hidden away from you which for most simple scenarios this is what you will need and in the case of F# where dependency injection is more... - Source: dev.to / 6 months ago
  • Professional transition from Java to C#?
    I'm doing "backend data processing microservices" and the main framework component is ASP. Source: 6 months ago
  • Mudblazor for Blazor
    .NET has had various templating frameworks since its inception in the early 2000's. From the likes of Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF), Windows Forms(WF), ASP.NET Core MVC, Razor Pages to Blazor and now .NET MAUI. Microsoft offers a way to choose an ASP.NET Core web UI for developers to find the right user interface(UI) to use for their solution. The focus however is on Blazor and in particular for webAssembly. - Source: dev.to / 9 months ago
  • New .net developer. Need advice on how to start.
    ASP.Net is just a framework on top of .Net that allows the building of web apps and services easier. Source: 11 months ago
  • Ask HN: Alternatives to Server-Side JavaScript/Node.js?
    Personally, I enjoy working with the SAFE stack [1]. Altough, it may not be quite what you are looking for. Other than taht, ASP.net may very well be a good choice, definitely more traditional. [2] Or the tried and tested LAMP/LEMP stacks may very well be good choices for you. I must admit though, that my knowledge in this area is rather limited, so give a lot of scrutiny to my suggestions. [1]... - Source: Hacker News / 12 months ago
  • Monitoring your .NET application with open-source tools | Tutorial
    C# (pronounced C-Sharp) is a simple, modern, object-oriented, and type-safe programming language. ASP.NET is one of the top frameworks for building modern applications using C#, F#, or Visual Basic. - Source: dev.to / about 1 year ago
  • Simplify Using Hooks by Using Custom Hooks in React
    After working with AngularJS for a little while, a colleague recommended React, and then after trying (and failing with) Redux, I embraced hooks and naturally function components in React. While my back end APIs are still all written in .NET Core, and now that .NET Core has become .NET 6, I don't even run my front-end SPAs in ASP.NET any more. They are now static web pages created as React projects with npm hosted... - Source: dev.to / over 1 year ago
  • Any advice to a new python programmer?
    I recommend that once you feel you've gotten a good grasp on how Python works, you should switch to C#. Then you can start using ASP.NET, an incredibly popular framework used to create web APIs and the like. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Suggestions for learning C# effectively as a JavaScript developer?
    I'd just go with the ASP.NET documentation. Download and install Visual Studio. Source: over 1 year ago
  • Good resources for learning C# for someone who's familiar with JavaScript?
    As far as I know, that will be ASP.NET stuff for web development... Microsoft has some resources such as https://dotnet.microsoft.com/en-us/apps/aspnet , click "get started" and there's a tutorial on how to build a simple "hello world" web app with ASP.NET. And I think most if not all windows computers come with IIS which you can use to set up your own local web server to build your website with. Might just have... Source: over 1 year ago
  • Best way to get into Asp.net, C#, Tsql programming?
    Do you have any previous coding experience, no matter how basic? If you do, then you could go through the tutorials in the official website as they're a good way to get introduced to the stack. Source: over 1 year ago
  • We need to have a talk about making life easier for newcomers to the .NET ecosystem
    Can we also talk about how it is Asp.Net Core? And even then not consistently (e.g. The announcement blog calls it core but the official page does not). Source: over 1 year ago
  • Electron vs. The Native Windows Frameworks
    Messaging clients such as Discord, Telegram, and Slack fall into this category. On C#, networking is done using the System.Net namespace, or more usually, with the ASP.NET framework. In C++, more low-level socket functions are used, hence why complex networking is traditionally done in C#. - Source: dev.to / over 1 year ago
  • Languages to Learn and How for Full Stack .Net Dev
    The official Microsoft learning resources are free and pretty good. Source: almost 2 years ago
  • Frameworks of the Future?
    Today, most of that mess is just how you threaten children to behave, because everybody else now has their equivalent to Rails. C#/VB.NET's ASP.NET, Elixir's Phoenix, Go's Beego, PHP's Laravel, Haskell's IHP, Java's Jakarta EE, JavaScript's Express, and literally dozens of others now have effective parity with Rails. - Source: dev.to / almost 2 years ago
  • How to Approach Custom Web App Development?
    ASP.NET is a network application framework that is greatly supported by Microsoft. It entered the market in the 2000s but today’s community already consists of 60.000 developers. ASP.NET web software development is characterized by all the necessary functionality: fast performance due to the compiled code, vertical scalability, support for all authentication protocols, numerous libraries. This framework turned out... - Source: dev.to / almost 2 years ago
  • I even bought a custom domain for an assessment in the hiring process, what do you think?
    Https://dotnet.microsoft.com/apps/aspnet Maybe I didn't specify, my bad. Edited. Source: about 2 years ago

External sources with reviews and comparisons of ASP.NET

Top 10 Phoenix Framework Alternatives
Moving over to the .NET platform, Asp.Net is an open-source web framework developed by Microsoft that allows developers to build dynamic web pages, apps, and services using HTML, JavaScript, and CSS.
10 Ruby on Rails Alternatives For Web Development in 2022
Last but not least, a back-end web framework created by Microsoft for the development of dynamic web pages - ASP.NET. Built on top of C# it is one the fastest frameworks available on the market. ASP.NET is capable of handling 7.01 million requests per second while Django handles only 79,266 requests. The framework is mainly used for building web applications, APIs, microservices, and real-time apps. It is...

Do you know an article comparing ASP.NET to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.

Generic ASP.NET discussion

Log in or Post with

This is an informative page about ASP.NET. You can review and discuss the product here. The primary details have not been verified within the last quarter, and they might be outdated. If you think we are missing something, please use the means on this page to comment or suggest changes. All reviews and comments are highly encouranged and appreciated as they help everyone in the community to make an informed choice. Please always be kind and objective when evaluating a product and sharing your opinion.