Software Alternatives & Reviews

Amazing Marvin Reviews

Customizable personal productivity tool

Latest User Reviews

  1. User avatar
     
    Extremely powerful todo list manager

    I used Remember the Milk for years, but they were slow to fix bugs and new features hardly ever appeared. Marvin is, as the name says, Amazing. Very powerful 'smart' lists of tasks, searching, customisation. It does take a while to get to grips with the huge range of features.

    🏁 Competitors: Remember The Milk

Post a review

Social recommendations and mentions

We have tracked the following product recommendations or mentions on Reddit and HackerNews. They can help you see what people think about Amazing Marvin and what they use it for.
  • My workspace. Not pictured: walking treadmill that I slide out from under my bed while monitors and keyboard are in standing mode.
    Amazing Marvin: https://amazingmarvin.com/. I love it. Super steep learning curve, but once you get it, it's so smooth. - Source: Reddit / 15 days ago
  • How do you track goals and projects?
    I'm a big fan of Amazing Marvin]. Goals, projects, tasks, habits and a lot more. Extremely powerful smart lists. It's an excellent app, but it does have a learning curve. - Source: Reddit / 30 days ago
  • [request] To-do app w click-drag of cards in 2x2 or 3x3 matrix?
    Https://amazingmarvin.com/ has a matrix feature. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • GTD Software
    I'm surprised nobody has mentioned Amazing Marvin yet. It's rather amazingly flexible and can instantly switch between a wide variety of different workflows. It also has a robust deferral mechanism, context grouping, and a built-in calendar. Don't get me wrong, I've got plenty of complaints, too, but as far as GTD is concerned, I think it's feature complete. - Source: Reddit / about 2 months ago
  • I built an app for your repeatable checklists
    AmazingMarvin will do this (projects and project templates). Also has weekly review strategy built in, so a resusable checklist every week. And, as they say in all the best ads, much more. - Source: Reddit / 2 months ago
  • Proton Notes - Digital 'Second Brain' that is private and integrates with Calendar and Drive
    For task management, I want them to acquire Amazing Marvin instead. I have tried a LOT of task management apps and nothing comes close to Marvin (I've tried Trello, TickTick, Todoist) in terms of customization and features. What's more, Amazing Marvin is the only task manager app that supports offline mode, meaning you can handle syncing yourself with your own server. Not to mention it has desktop apps for Linux,... - Source: Reddit / 4 months ago
  • Ask HN: How you maintain your daily log?
    Links: 0. Unfortunately, I cannot find the link anymore. I think it was one of those "what I learned during my 50 years as a senior software engineer". The author possibly mentioned using Kate-editor. It was an excellent article. 1. [Espanso (free)](https://espanso.org/) 2. [Amazing Marvin (paid)](https://amazingmarvin.com) 3. [Obsidian (free/subscription for sync)](https://obsidian.md/) 4. [Logseq... - Source: Hacker News / 5 months ago
  • Looking for something like Amazing Martin that doesn't require an internet connection
    Do you mean Amazing Marvin (https://amazingmarvin.com/)? - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Ask HN: Will I Ever Recover?
    The software is called Amazing Marvin (https://amazingmarvin.com/). Marvin has a modular system of features that they call Strategies, one of which is Affirmations, which is a set of user-defined messages that it pulls a random message from once a day to show above your tasks. I mostly use it for inspirational quotes. I'm pretty happy with Marvin overall. It natively supports time estimates and different types of... - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • Show HN: Personal productivity workspace for busy people
    Not necessarily apple to apple, but I use Amazing Marvin [1], which allows similar type of configuration, and more. (It's kind of application where 10 different configuration would come out from 10 different people...) The pricing is high-end, but there's one time option (which I opted couple years ago and paid itself, pretty much!) and optionally usable offline for most features. [1]: https://amazingmarvin.com/. - Source: Hacker News / 8 months ago
  • question: any PM's with ADHD?
    As a somewhat adjacent point - if you're looking for a platform for personal task management, check out Amazing Marvin - designed to help those sort of people with ADHD. - Source: Reddit / 8 months ago
  • Is There a Time Blocking App That Splits Days Into a Grid and Has Good Task/Project Management?
    On the other end of things, Amazing Marvin seems like it would do a fantastic job of tracking tasks and projects, but I don't think there's any way to set the daily agenda to a grid. - Source: Reddit / 9 months ago
  • All in one App/Software for Dayplanning and Project Management?
    If single user check https://amazingmarvin.com/. - Source: Reddit / 10 months ago
  • Is there a way to implement this in Notion through fancy coding? I’d like to learn!
    Amazing Marvin (also at r/AmazingMarvin) is a productivity app that has a ton of really cool options for organizing and visualizing tasks and projects. It's really versatile and customizable and it's definitely helped me get my life together! It's focused mostly on productivity and to-do lists rather than note taking or storing information long term, but in my opinion it's really good at what it does! - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Productivity App which lets me order my tasks depending on other tasks and gives me an ideal order to do things (similar to MS Project but as an App)
    Agree Omnifocus is probably the best at this. Lately I’ve been trying out Amazing Marvin which is actually better than most other to do apps at handling dependencies and very customizable if you want to try different strategies. - Source: Reddit / about 1 year ago
  • Looking for an app
    I love Amazing Marvin. It does 2-way sync with Google Calendar and has an agenda view that allows you to schedule your tasks into your work day via drag & drop. It's been a game changer for me. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Recommended productivity app?
    You're welcome :) I forgot the link Amazing Marvin. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Digital or Physical?
    Hi, maybe this would help. https://amazingmarvin.com/ Amazing Marvin is a To Do Manager but is better than most To Do Managers. It has an excellent way of displaying Tasks since Tasks are displayed as a card and is linked to a project; so Easy to find and add tasks. It has a 30 Day Free Trial and so free to try. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Apps to manage daily work and life of UX Designer
    Here's a link to their website. Just an awesome piece of software. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • I need a tool to create tasks with sub-tasks, track time, and setup recurring tasks. Clickup seems closest available solution. Wanted to know if there's anything better?
    And then came Amazing Marvin (https://amazingmarvin.com). Here, everything I have always desired is possible! I can create simple tasks, but also large projects with any number of sub-projects and tasks. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago
  • Cortex #122: State of the Apps 2022
    A to-do app that has defer dates: Amazing Marvin. I’ve just been playing around with it, but it’s extremely customizable, you can make it do almost everything other apps can do. - Source: Reddit / over 1 year ago

Do you know an article comparing Amazing Marvin to other products?
Suggest a link to a post with product alternatives.